We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Varka Estiatorio

Varka Estiatorio
Reserve with OpenTable
Varka Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in Ramsey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Main Street
Transit: N.J. Transit to Main Street, Ramsey.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went on a Thursday-a bit noisy at 6:30 with a lively bar crowd. It was four of us celebrating a birthday. The wait staff was superb. Very knowledgable and attentive. The fish selection is outstanding, and you can view fish right there on display ! Spinach pie was delectable. Our only complaint is that it was pricey. Lagostinos are $50 / lb. but , again - everything is fresh and delicious. It is nice for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    55
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Bergen County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went last Saturday evening for dinner. I had heard good things about Varka and it did not disappoint. Wonderful fish and appetizers. We shared the Varka Lobster as main course and the Greek Spreads as appetizer. Service was very good. The price tag may seem a little high for some but I think it was well worth it considering the portions, quality of preparation, service and ambience/decor. We will definitely go back. Varka is a treat!

Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Clean, contemporary atmosphere.
Great, fresh seafood.
Oysters great. Drinks generous.
Whole, grilled fish fantastic ...
But very pricy ... A whole striped bass was about $75.00 ...
But delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank DNCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Over priced - over crowded - overly noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

What is there left to say except this was most obscenely expensive restaurant I've been to recently. I wanted to order lobster pot pie with lobster over 40- dollars per pound and was told that the lobster pot was 2-21/2 lbs each...this would make the pie nearly $100....are you kidding.
I did order a special of shrimp and filet kebobs and they were only fair. Prices on most fish were quoted by the pound with 35 to 40 dollars per pound the norm. Steaks and chops were in the 35 to 45 dollar range.....our bill for 4 people without booze was around $400. Now for the rest...the noise level is so bad that we could barely hear one another across a small table for four. Oh yeah...the bread was terrific. A big disappointment after our friends gave us a big build up. And yet they were still crowding in as late as 9:00 so maybe I'm wrong.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Varka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I eat here very often. It is one my favorite spots in Ramsey, NJ. The food is always very fresh and good, the service is wonderful. The only complaint is that it is noisy on Thursday nights, when the bar gets very crowded. I am looking forward to summer to eat outside.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varka Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Varka Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing