We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Restaurant in Ramsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bon Giovanni - CLOSED

Bon Giovanni
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant in Ramsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Forget any negative reviews--This is an amazing petite restaurant. It reminds me of the 5 star Cafe Panache across the street (both BYO), but SO much more friendly. Sam, the owner, has a great talent of making you feel like family. It is like I am in the "Old Country" once again. The Eggplant Parm is the best we have had (not one the menu) -- Light and fresh. Ask for anything if you do not see what you like. They will cook it the way you like it. Just ask. The chef is terrific--The service is personable. Yes, it does fill up quickly, so make sure to call for reservations, particularly if you want a bigger table. I think it was funny that someone wrote "Loud." Come to Italy if you want to see loud. You always can here the Italian songs in the background. Lunch is the best value in Bergen County. Make sure to order the desserts for lunch--outstanding, but at half the price! We keep going back--and I am sure you will too. Love it, love it, love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JanH853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOUD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

To be fair we went on a busy Saturday night but wow, you could not hear yourself think and had to scream to be heard. Now, this might be tolerable if the food was awesome BUT the food is average at best. Also, expect to wait even if you have a reservation.
It's probably ok during the week for a one step above pizzeria setting but don't expect much more. The service was quite good by the way. Too bad, I wanted to like it but it didn't deliver.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank funebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Overbooked. Waited extra 45 mins to get seated. The food is average. The marinara sauce was not that good. The owner was not present and may be that made a difference. But i will never know. Not going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
220 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Another great dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Wrote a review a while back.
We had another great dinner.
Veal Parm done right. We also tried the special pumpkin ravioli.

The specials are worth considering and seems like cook is getting more creative.

Service, as always, warm and friendly.

Give this place a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RRM1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Great food and good service. The prices were very reasonable. Important: this is a BYOB restaurant and everyone carries in their own bottle of wine. We did not know this ahead of time and if we had wine, this would have been the perfect dinner. We will know better next time!

Helpful?
3 Thank rarhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Giovanni also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing