We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place!”

Greek City Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 85 Restaurants in Ramsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Ok went for lunch on a Monday. Extremely fast service, excellent environment, AMAZING food and very reasonable prices. Got to my "favorite restaurants" list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lannes_Perlmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food, personal attention, great atmosphere-fabulous value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have eaten here many times. Teddy & Jimmy greet you like a relative every time. The food is always wonderful. We have tried every fish dish, lamb chops, gyro, souvlaki, Greek chips, mussels, moussaka, etc. ALL EXCELLENT!
It is BYOB-which is easier on the wallet. The decor is intriguing and the booths are very comfortable.
Prices are very reasonable. Service is attentive with a smile.
We will continue to eat here frequently.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidSta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

After hearing about Greek City from a friend we decided to try it on Mother's Day evening. When we got there about 7:30 the place was still full and the noise level was loud. We were seated promptly and the waiter came right over. Menu choices were good and we ordered the saganaki for an appetizer which was ok but a little too greasy for our taste. We have been going to It's Greek to me where they serve the saganacki baked. This seemed to be deep fried. We both ordered the Lamb souvlaki platter which was delicious and plentiful. The lamb was the most tender I've had in along time. Overall this restaurant was good and would recommend. We will be returning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank first-tymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Greek City Aims To Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Greek City aims to please. From the owner who generally seats most of the dinner parties to the efficient staff that serves you, be assured that you will be treated like a welcomed guest. This is a good place to come with a group of people so you can order and share several appetizers, which in my opinion, is the strong point of this restaurant. The charcoal grilled octopus or calamari, Pikilia (assorted Greek spreads), Spanakopita, greek fries and any of the salads are among the best bets. In addition to the fish entrees on the menu, daily seafood specials are offered and the "fish of the day" is even brought to your table to inspect. None of the staff has been able to answer the question posed on several visits if the fish offerings are farm raised or wild caught.

Most of the entrees that I've sampled are pretty good. You can't go wrong with the Gyro platter, braised lamb in tomato sauce or the pan-seared scallops over spinach. Most entres are served with lemon roasted potatos, which are delicious. I believe that the owner told me on one visit that the nice assortment of Greek desserts come from a bakery in Astoria, Queens. The cookies coated in powdered sugar are a great way to end a meal here. Another good feature of this restaurant is that it's a BYOB.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always great; never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to Greek City many, many times. From the minute you walk in and are greeted by the owner (Teddy or his brother), you are in for a treat. It's hard to choose an appetizer; they are all so great...the octopus, spanikopita, dips, and the freshest pita. They bring around the fresh fish selections of the day, and they are always wonderful. But so is the regular menu..try the lamb chops or the moussakka. The wait staff is always great, we bring our own wine and always leave saying, 'why don't we come here more often?' Go with friends...it's fun to share.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinawina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek City Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greek City Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing