We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fair-at-best service”
Review of Look See - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Look See
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, fair-at-best service”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Good food, not good service. BYO just off of Rt. 17 in Ramsey.

First, reservation or not, you might wait if it's crowded. Could be a long wait and they never give you accurate wait times. In general, management and staff is very indifferent, occasionally bordering on rude. You can feel like an intrusion to them. Service is the same -- asking for more water, a wine glass, more duck sauce, it's like an inconvenience to them.

The food is good though. Sometimes very good -- the chicken and lettuce wrap appetizer, very nice dish, good execution. I've had the average dish there as well, but it's supposed to be good food though. I think it might have gone downhill in recent years.

I hear there is new ownership/management. I'd be willing to give it another shot and see how it is.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cory r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's gone downhill over the years.”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This used to be the place to go but it has been going downhill for years. I think it was sold a few years ago which might explain it. We stopped going there when we found a better place over the boarder in the Chestnut Ridge area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoombie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County,NJ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is one of the top two Chinese food restaurants in Bergen County. However, it is a bit expensive.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank NonnaAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Takeout!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We really enjoy take out food from Look See. It's always piping hot and delicious. I would highly reccomend it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AMBLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Their take out is great, they go out of their way to make it convenient.”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We get take out from them all the time. Unlike other Chinese restaurants in the area they have no problem understanding phoned in orders. They have payment and address info on file to make ordering quick and easy. Delivery is fast and food is great. Nice mix of Japanese and Chinese menu items. We can get everything from Dim Sum to Sushi keeping everyone happy with one phone call.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaleofGenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing