We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in an unlikely locale”
Review of The Rail House 1449 - CLOSED

The Rail House 1449
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Restaurant located downstairs from train platform on the Northbound side.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good food in an unlikely locale”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The surrounding area may be dominated by the elevated railway and the train station, and has a strangely empty look on a Saturday night, but the food at Rail House 1449 makes up for that. Excellent variety of choices and a good wine list. Mushroom soup is a favorite, steaks are expertly cooked, everything we had was tasty. Our waitress was clearly a newbie but we had no problem with her attention to our requests. The small dining room behind the hostess desk, separated from the landing, so that you can reach it only through the other dining area, is our preferred area to sit down. Very enjoyable, just as we remembered from our first visit a couple of years ago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went there a few days ago for dinner, what a disappointment!!! I ordered talapia and it was so overcooked and chewy. My wife ordered chicken and pasta Marsala, same drill, pasta cooked for probably 20 minutes. Just disgusting!!! Stay away!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank claudio050881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service, salty food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The appetizers were good. Otherwise, poor experience.
I ordered a drink. Nothing came out, so I had to order twice.
I ordered rare steak. It came out with the texture of shoe leather. To their credit, they took it back and brought me a true rare steak.
The food was incredibly salty.

If you want to take out guests locally, go to the Waiting Room. If you want something fancier, go to one of the numerous good gourmet restaurants in Westfield.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Service Sucks . . .”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Owners wake up! Your wait staff is ruining your reputation and soon your business. The bad service made it difficult to appreciate the good food. We had to track waiter down for EVERYTHING - wine list, menus, bread, water, appetizers, entree, coffee and dessert (really!) and couldn't even find him when it came time to get the bill. The bus man had to bring it to us. The person who we believed to be the manager was standing around laughing and talking and completely ignored her customers. By the way - the place was not very busy so there was no excuse.
This place has such potential but needs better management before it goes the way of its predecessor. You may be able to ignore poor service in a $10 burger joint but not when you're spending hundreds for a party of four.

Helpful?
Thank Coltsneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Some 1st Class Food, Totally Third Rate Service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We dined here Saturday night and had the worst service experience in years at a supposed fine-dining establishment . Our waiter was out to lunch while we tried to have dinner. Clearly we were not his first thoughts during the evening. Restaurant Stakeout would be an eye-opener for the owner.This was unfortunate because some of the food was very good (scallops, lamp chops, mushroom soup). The rest was so-so. If you're traveling to the wilds of Rahway you should be treated well. We traveled around 30 miles to get here as did our dining companions. Needless to say we won't make the journey again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rail House 1449 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing