We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, great features, nice staff, outstanding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Princeton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great features, nice staff, outstanding location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

The Hyatt is a great place for business travelers and visitors to the Princeton area. The staff- Tim in particular- are very friendly, and the rooms are surprisingly spacious for a standard. There are five restaurants within walking distance (a couple are across the parking lot from the Hyatt), and the university/downtown is a 5 minute drive away.

Rooms have comfortable beds, a tiny (but efficiently-spaced) living room/desk area, and clean bathrooms. The hallway is slightly narrow, but noise was not an issue-didn't hear my neighbors or the people across the hall.

The only 'downside' is that the continental breakfast is just OK- coffee, juice, and starches; if you'd like eggs, meat, or waffles, you have to pay extra; however, if that's the worst that I can say about the Hyatt, I'm just nitpicking- it's a great value for what you are getting, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    123
    52
    23
    11
See reviews for
142
36
25
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Really nice new lobby with small bar and 24 HR snacks and some food. No restaurant on the premises, but pf changs, a Mexican restaurant, tgi Fridays, etc are right across the parking lot. The staff was great. My room was huge with a separate area with couch, chair, work desk, fridge and a sink. There was a 42" plasma tv (huge!) and great tv service. My only complaint would be that you can here every door slam in the hallway....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizDevRoadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Clean, affordable, safe. Lobby was beautiful Staff was generally friendly. Comfortable beds and good sized bathroom.Breakfast foods were expensive.“We have been very happy with this Hyatt, but feel they could offer some inexpensive alternatives for breakfast.”

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter7839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel about 5 times this year visiting my boyfriend who goes to school in Princeton. The hotel is very self service and updated. There is hot food available to purchase 24 hours a day, however since it is a self service hotel you need to go to the front to pick up your order which is worth it. No service charges or other shetchy taxes. This hotel is geared for the more independent guest and families. Theres no bell boy or wait staff, but always an associate and manager available to help you. The hotel sits behind PF Changs, On the Border, TGIFridays and The Marketfair which is a small shopping mall with a seafood restaurant open til 12. We enjoy staying here because its 40 steps to these restaurants, no driving needed. All rooms are the same except if you are getting a king or 2 beds. Each has a sitting area and flat screen TV. There is also a shuttle to take you or pick you up anywhere in Princeton for free. The price at times does seem a little expensive depending on the weekend I suppose. I can sometimes book a Sat night for 99 dollars and one weekend I had to pay 149, but that was college grad weekend so I can understand.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayNJ620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We checked into this hotel after a day at Sesame Place. The first room, which I was told had a great outdoor view, not only faced the dumpsters outside, but had blood splattered on the chairs and curtains. Disguisting!!!! The second room they moved us to had sticky tables, coffee splattered on the bathroom wall and little black hairs left all over the bathtub and wall of the shower near the shower knobs. We didn't even stay the night, we drove all the way back home canceling the rest of our vacation and did not get home until 2am.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwantcleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

This is a fine hotel. There were parts that I really liked, they had a van that took you down town and picked you up. As well, they even took me to a local shop and mall when needed and came back to pick me up. The van drivers were lovely and helpful. The hotel staff is a bit mixed in that some were very efficient and some seemed as if they were in training but all were nice. There is a starbucks in the hotel (evil empire that it is but if you like their coffee, you'll be happy). Breakfast is included but it is continental.. If you want something hot, you need to pay but still it is fine. There is no bar, but you are close by a few restaurants. The rooms are fine, nothing extraordinary but fine. The location is the strangest part, as you are in a business park surrounded by chain restaurants, and some stores (Barnes and Noble right across the road). But you are not near Princeton (that said, there is no decent hotels closer to the University)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

My family and I stayed here during a vacation to Seame Place. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The hotel was very clean, and the rooms look fantastic. The hotel must have recently renovated, eveything was nice except the bed and the bathroom. I found the bed and sofa very uncomfortable. The shower head and facuet was not supported behind the wall and there was a little mold in the shower. I guess when the cleaning staff are cleaning they don't climb into the shower to see it. I also found the free wire-less kept dissconnecting. The hotel is more for business class travellers than for family vacationers. My other problem was from not being from that area I found it hard to find the hotel since it is behind two restaurants and off a highway. To get to it you had to drive down the highway more then find a left turn to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgreenholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
4.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2.4 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Princeton

Property: Hyatt Place Princeton
Address: 3565 U.S. Highway 1, Princeton, NJ 08540-5930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#4 Business Hotel in Princeton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Princeton is located central to various office parks including Princeton Carnegie Center, Princeton Overlook Center, Princeton Corporate Plaza Research Center, Princeton Pike Office Park, Princeton Forrestal Village office park, University Square, Princeton Corporate Campus, Mercer Corporate Park, Canal Pointe, Princeton Corporate Center, the University Medical Center at Princeton and the new University Medical Center of Princeton at Plainsboro complex. A free local shuttle is available upon request Monday - Friday within a 5-mile radius of the Hyatt Place Princeton.The hotel is nestled in the heart of Princeton, Plainsboro, West Windsor, Ewing and Hamilton NJ, located midway between Newark Liberty and Philadelphia Int’l airports and a short drive to Hamilton and Princeton Junction train stations providing rail service to and from New York City, Newark, Philadelphia, Atlantic City, Trenton, Jersey Shore points and other major cities in the northeast. For recreation are Sesame Place Family Theme Park and Six Flags Great Adventure within 30 miles of the hotel When searching for an activity to occupy your afternoon, tour the Princeton University and historical sights or browse the quaint shops of New Hope and Peddler's Village. Activities abound with over 20 historical and unique museums and ten performing art centers; all within 20 minutes of the hotel. Events at Princeton University, Princeton Theological Seminary, Westminster Choir College, Rider University, TCNJ and Mercer College are within seven miles of the hotel. During your stay, you can enjoy specialty Starbucks® coffee drinks and friendly conversation at the intimate Bakery Café. A Host will happily assist you with orders from the 24-hour Guest Kitchen, which offers café-quality, made-to-order meals and snacks along with a complimentary hot breakfast daily.The hotel is within a 300 steps stroll to twelve dining venues and restaurants, movie theatres and a shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hyatt Place
Hyatt Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing