We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Princeton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was nice - big comfortable bed, separate sofa, big screen TV, nice bathroom - but two of the lights in the room didn't work, and one of them had a cracked bulb in it! UNACCEPTABLE! I will not tolerate a shortcoming like that in a hotel of this supposed quality and will probably not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Drawbar4935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    123
    52
    23
    11
See reviews for
142
36
25
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I, our daughter and her husband and our two grandchildren stayed at the Hyatt Place Princton for three nights in two rooms. We went to Sesame Place. I highly recommend this hotel. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were greeted and welcomed. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. The entire staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and courteous. We all enjoyed the heated, sparkling pool each evening. The desserts were excellent and the breakfast had everything you could want.

Room Tip: We stayed in the king size bed with the sleep sofa. We were very comfortable. The entire hotel is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

When we got to the Hyatt Place at 10:00p, we were greeted with charm and just the right amount of enthusiasm (not to cheesy) by a young man named Clint. Clint was fantastic. Made us feel welcome right away. Unfortunately, a large group of people were having a barbeque in the parking lot which our room overlooked and we had to change rooms. Clint was effusive with apologies and immediately switched our rooms, coming up to our room himself to assist with the room change. The new room itself was satisfactory, but overall we were not impressed with the physical premises. The room was clean and neat yet felt old. Not sure if it was the decor or the layout. All in, the staff was amazing, but the rooms could not match their enthusiasm. As much as we appreciated the staff, we would probably try another hotel next time we are in Princeton.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure that you do not ahve an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babettetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We normally stay at the Hyatt Regency when in Princeton but they were very expensive due to a convention in town. We decided to stay here instead and we could not be more pleased. The staff were VERY friendly and attentive. The room was large and clean and the view from the back of the hotel from the 5th floor was beautiful. The free breakfast was plentiful and good! Also, the location of this hotel can't be beat- you can walk to five restuarants and shoppng at the Market Fair Mall. The only negitive was that the website states that they have a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within 5 miles...but we were there on a weekend and it does NOT run on the weekends- just an FYI.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to cut down on Route One traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Hyatt was a great place to stay. After traveling for a bit for a wedding we stopped in Princeton NJ to be near Sesame Place for our 2 yo son. We had a free night at the Hyatt due to Hyatt points from a previous stay. It was a little bit of a drive to Sesame Place, maybe 15mi or so each way, but the Hyatt was lovely. The staff was very accommodating and the continental breakfast offered each morning was quite good.

The rooms were clean, large, and included a mini fridge and pull-out couch with large tv. The indoor pool was a great added plus. There's a nearby walking distance mall and restaurants that are family friendly within walking distance as well including TGI Fridays; Macaroni Grill; and On The Border - an added perk.

I definitely recommend this for all families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TML214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

I just returned from a family vacation to Sesame Place. This hotel is about 20 minutes away but I wouldn't stay anywhere else. This hotel goes out of the way to make you feel at home. Sally especially goes above and beyond and makes you feel like you are the only guest staying there. The complimentary breakfast is very good and offers much more the standard continental breakfast many hotels offer. There are many restaurants nearby as well, including pf changs, on the boarder, macaroni grill, and big fish all within walking distance. The rooms are much larger than most with a kitchenette and a sectional sleeper in the "living room". I recommend this hotel for families and business travelers. Free wifi is also a nice feature. My one complaint is there is no children's stations on the tv, luckily we brought a DVD player that easily plugs in to the large flat screen.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mdias815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I came for two weeks and stayed for nine months, not all at this property. I loved my room. The staff were always friendly and recognized me on sight. The breakfast was always ready a little early so I could grab a cup of fruit to go and walk across the street to my daily meeting.

When the weather was drab, I'd catch a shuttle ride to the office.

The only downside was that Hyatt Place makes progress charges to your credit card (fine with me) but doesn't then slide receipt under your door (not fine). Your card balance is going up, you may not know. Synchronizing charges is essential to keeping your expenses, expense reports, and card payments lined up. The alternative- you go to check out and you've got no liquidity.

The manager was very helpful and worked with me to keep a paying customer, but I ythink it should have been smoother from the check-in process.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
4.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2.4 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Princeton

Property: Hyatt Place Princeton
Address: 3565 U.S. Highway 1, Princeton, NJ 08540-5930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#4 Business Hotel in Princeton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Princeton is located central to various office parks including Princeton Carnegie Center, Princeton Overlook Center, Princeton Corporate Plaza Research Center, Princeton Pike Office Park, Princeton Forrestal Village office park, University Square, Princeton Corporate Campus, Mercer Corporate Park, Canal Pointe, Princeton Corporate Center, the University Medical Center at Princeton and the new University Medical Center of Princeton at Plainsboro complex. A free local shuttle is available upon request Monday - Friday within a 5-mile radius of the Hyatt Place Princeton.The hotel is nestled in the heart of Princeton, Plainsboro, West Windsor, Ewing and Hamilton NJ, located midway between Newark Liberty and Philadelphia Int’l airports and a short drive to Hamilton and Princeton Junction train stations providing rail service to and from New York City, Newark, Philadelphia, Atlantic City, Trenton, Jersey Shore points and other major cities in the northeast. For recreation are Sesame Place Family Theme Park and Six Flags Great Adventure within 30 miles of the hotel When searching for an activity to occupy your afternoon, tour the Princeton University and historical sights or browse the quaint shops of New Hope and Peddler's Village. Activities abound with over 20 historical and unique museums and ten performing art centers; all within 20 minutes of the hotel. Events at Princeton University, Princeton Theological Seminary, Westminster Choir College, Rider University, TCNJ and Mercer College are within seven miles of the hotel. During your stay, you can enjoy specialty Starbucks® coffee drinks and friendly conversation at the intimate Bakery Café. A Host will happily assist you with orders from the 24-hour Guest Kitchen, which offers café-quality, made-to-order meals and snacks along with a complimentary hot breakfast daily.The hotel is within a 300 steps stroll to twelve dining venues and restaurants, movie theatres and a shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hyatt Place
Hyatt Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing