We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE SET UP IN THE WOODS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I knew this was not your typical Marriott from the pictures on their website, and it wasn't. Situated off the highway, (but easily accessible) the hotel is in the woods, literally. Tall trees all around and in between the buildings. Two giant 3 floor C shaped buildings.
Checkin was pleasant, use valet parking unless you want to walk a ways, parking lot is far off the front access area. Long V-roofed main lobby, very charming. Room was typical Marriott, many complain of small room, but I only found the bathroom to be small. Everything in working order, kinda dated but charmingly different set up.
Visited Barleys bar late night, and it was very nice, with 8 drafts and a nice set up. Overall, a pleasant stay at a very pleasent hotel, enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAN615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 492 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Princeton Marriott while attending a friend's party nearby. We were hardly at the hotel, but did think that it was comfortable, clean and quiet. We had a great night of sleep- the bed is great. The room is compact but nicely decorated and laid out. The lighting in the bathroom is way too harsh. We had brunch in the hotel restaurant which was only okay- they were clearing everything away at 11am on a Sunday which seemed pretty early for that. Overall, this seems like a decent hotel if you need somewhere to stay in the Princeton area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eam149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights when I needed to be close to where I work as opposed to home.

Check in was fairly easy. The hotel is only about 3-4 floors and is very spread out. However, my Concierge level room was nice. Two beds, chair and ottoman, miniature bathroom, small closet, small dresser, big flat screen TV (not HD though), fridge, and a heater that was COLD!!!!

Took 3 calls to get that finally fixed. As a Platinum Premier member at Marriott, I have access to the Concierge lounge. Checked out the selection that evening, sushi, hot appetizer, cheese, fruit and crackers, and later a couple cakes and cookies.

Headed to the bar for a burger and beer. The burger bun was toasted, then frozen! It was ICE cold , as was the plate and the fries. The manager comped it.

The CL has breakfast Monday-Friday. They had poached eggs, cereals, fruits,etc. Enough to hold me. I did buy the breakfast package and the buffet was nice, but the eggs/omeletes had a very funny taste. The manager was nice enough to provide me with plates, covers and a tray so I could bring food back to the room for mom (broken foot!)

All in all the staff was pretty nice and the hotel is in good shape. It is a bit banged up (needs some paint and or wallpaper) but it isn't falling apart and it was clean. Rooms are smallish, and kind of sparse. (It was a Scanticon first, which had an Ikea-like style, then a Doral and now a Marriott). It's about 20+ years old.

However, it is a decent hotel about 10 minutes from downtown Princeton and it serves its purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cruisermeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

I stayed here for a four-day conference and the experience was simply sublime. The service was excellent throughout, the food was heavenly (the most delicious buffet ever), and swimming in the heated swimming pool was one of the most luxurious experiences I've ever had. The best thing about my stay, however, was the bed! The quality of the bedding, bed sheets, mattress, etc adds up to something simply extraordinary. No wonder they sell their bedding online - it was by far the most wonderful, comfortable, never-want-to-get-out-of-bed beds I've ever slept in! Pure heaven! I would definitely go there again...and next time I'd make sure my boyfriend comes with me!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Apollo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Very quiet, park-like setting, friendly staff, 10 minutes from Princeton campus. Room was clean and reasonably spacious. Comfortable bed. Lodge like common areas.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitzinCville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed here last weekend for the Hopewell Wine Festival and was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews. However, I found this to be a beautiful hotel in a great location. Others complained about the front desk staff, I thought they were very professional and took time to answer all of my questions. There were two weddings at the hotel this weekend and I was a little concerned about noise at night. I heard nothing and had a great night sleep. I would recommend this hotel to friends and will stay here again if I am in the Princeton area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Let me start that I have high marks for the Marriott Chain of hotels and believe that they have a great organization, but tonight....

What a nightmare. I drove from Cornell to Princeton Marriott Hotel & Conference Center at Forrestal (5 hour drive) and valet park my car (really no other option) and they moved it to the courtyard where it mysteriously stopped working. The nighttime front desk manager (Leah Lovelace) was of no help and had no compassion. She put me on hold and hung up on me, never to call me back. I had a dinner meeting which cost me $174.00 using their suggested taxi.

I have had great experience with the Marriott Hotel Chain, but this one was a nightmare and continues to be a nightmare.

In this economy, service is so important. Just wish that Marriott can make sure all their service personnel can be trained correctly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FamilyTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
959 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
462 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princeton Marriott at Forrestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Marriott at Forrestal

Address: 100 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6613 (Formerly Doral Forrestal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $159 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princeton Marriott at Forrestal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between New York City and Philadelphia, this Princeton hotel provides meeting and conference space, comfortable accommodations and other amenities. Perfect for business or family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princeton Marriott at Forrestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princeton Marriott Hotel And Conference Center At Forrestal
Marriott Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing