We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A tranquil oasis of relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princeton Marriott at Forrestal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A tranquil oasis of relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here with other family members for three nights over Thanksgiving and wished I could have moved here permanently - that's how relaxing this hotel is. It really is like a resort, with a lodge-like atmosphere in the main lobby and views of the surrounding woods. The indoor pool area was one of the nicest (and warmest) I've visited, and the property also features a spa on the lower level. The bed in my room was very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean and attractively furnished. The bathroom was rather small but had no other negatives. There is also a small refrigerator in the room.

We had the Thanksgiving buffet and I thought it was an excellent value, considering the quality and variety of foods offered. I had breakfast there at the hotel restaurant one other day and it was also very good.

Despite being there on a reservation from an opaque travel site, I received excellent service and even was upgraded to the concierge level. The breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres and dessert were great, and drinks were available at all hours. There is one free computer terminal in the lounge, plus a business center with two more computers and free Internet just off the lobby. Unfortunately, the lounge was closed from Friday noon through Sunday 5 PM, so booking the concierge level during the weekend would not be such a good value.

Overall I loved this property and hope to return again when visiting family in the area (and I may even book direct too - it's worth it!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceollaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    187
    69
    23
    8
See reviews for
107
96
24
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

In desperation for warmth and light I drove from hotel to hotel until I came to the Princeton Marriott. I've been to the hotel many times before to use the spa but had never stayed overnight.

Well, due to the hurricane there was no wifi and no room service (I guess they were short-staffed). The only food to be had was a blah buffet. I had wanted room service but went to the restaurant to get something to go. Well. The server looked at me as though I had two heads when I asked for a to-go box. He stammered and hemmed and hawed, finally mumbling something about asking his manager. Really, Marriott? Giving a guest a to-go box is a complicated issue that needs discussion with a manager? Sheesh.

The room was OK. The bed was comfy and there were adequate toiletries in the bathroom. I was just glad to have a warm place to sleep and TV to watch, anyway.

When I checked out I told the woman at the desk that while I understood that some services would not be available because of the hurricane they had a lot of nerve charging me full price in spite of not having the services. Christy, the very nice, very professional clerk agreed with me and took $67 off my bill which made me a bit happier.

I'll come back to the spa since I live locally but I don't think I'll be staying in the hotel again. Not unless there's some great deal they're offering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came here to spend a relaxing weekend. The hotel is in a great forested setting where we could observe the Fall folliage. The room was spacious; the bed was comfortable;the shower was great. The staff was very attentive and eager to provide service and answer questions. The gym and pool certainly helped us to relax. I would gladly return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOR567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sometimes it's not about how beautiful a hotel is but if it suits your needs. This is a beautiful property. It is off the beaten path but not far from Princeton University and loads of things to do.
The rooms are clean, the staff is lovely.
There is a beautiful indoor pool and spa and the way the hotel is laid out is perfect.
I can see the suitability for business meetings for sure.
But, if you decide to go for a weekend there are usually no meetings and the family can really enjoy.
When we went it was a solemn time because my mom had just died and we were going to meet family at her gravesite close by. The hotel provided me some relaxation and a way to space out by just not doing anything. I think the interior is beautiful and works well with the environment. Some say it's outdated, but that really doesn't matter since it is spotless.
I have seen beautiful hotels dirty and it says nothing.
I am going back in a few weeks with my family to spend another weekend.
It won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Because this is not a large hotel, all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliajjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I had occasion to spend a night at the Princeton Marriott at Forrestal. The room was spacious, the bed quite comfortable, and the ambiance was wonderful. The best was the service. It was quite apparent that service is the name of the game here. It was clear that all staff members were well trained, as they all were courteous and very helpful...they could not do enough for you. The restaurants, while a bit pricey, were quite nice and the food was delicious.

Good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jferro439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Marriott at Princeton is like a pastoral retreat. Even though it is close to Princeton it seems far away when you are there. Set in a park like setting, the hotel is quiet and earthy looking with its low profile set against the surrounding woods. The room we had was a normal Marriott room, which is to say functional and slightly corporate looking. The Swimming pool is terrific, larger than most hotel pools with a hot tub that lived up to its definition. We will definitely return to the hotel again and again while our son attends the university.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We are always staying in this property when we are on business in Princeton. The rooms are very small and the bathroom was not cleaned up well. Overall the cleanliness of the hotel could be improved. Hotel staff was very friendly.

The hotel is a very average property, but I would not give a recommendation for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
0.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princeton Marriott at Forrestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Marriott at Forrestal

Property: Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Address: 100 College Rd E, Princeton, NJ 08540-6613 (Formerly Doral Forrestal)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princeton Marriott at Forrestal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between New York City and Philadelphia, this Princeton hotel provides meeting and conference space, comfortable accommodations and other amenities. Perfect for business or family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Princeton Marriott at Forrestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princeton Marriott Hotel And Conference Center At Forrestal
Marriott Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing