We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lothlorien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lothlorien”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the most peaceful and quiet Marriotts I've stayed in and I've probably been to about 25 different ones, well over 300 different hotels of all sorts. Like everyone says in the other reviews, it has a lodge feel and it's surrounded by trees. The traffic is relatively light for New Jersey, but you're still looking at doubling the travel time your GPS gives you if you're heading into Trenton or New Brunswick. The Marriott standard amenities are there, the conceirge lounge was large enough (a rarity because most are crowded and squeezed in as an after-thought), the fitness center is large, and there is a spa for people who want that sort of thing. I ate at the restaurant 3 times and found it very good. The breakfast wait staff was on par with 4 star restaurants I've been to, maybe better. They were immediately on top of everything and hustled everywhere. I had a jumbo hot dog for lunch one day and it was great. As a person with upper to high tastes and demands in hotels, I'd recommend it as a nice place for a weekend getaway for a couple and perfect for business if you're in the area.

Room Tip: I got a great rate at the last minute over the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markfrommedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    200
    80
    23
    10
See reviews for
121
107
27
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this Marriott for a wedding recently. It is a great location if you are looking to have a wedding reception at a hotel. The food was great, really among the best wedding meals I have had in a long time. The staff was very courteous, even as the party continued late into the night. It is true that the location is not ideal, especially if you are looking for a place close to downtown Princeton. While it could use an update, I disagree with some of the other reviews that the decor is stale. While it is not modern, it certainly is on par with most solid hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanM248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

this hotel has a "lodge" type feel to it. it is only four levels and more wide than tall. that said, it has two restaurants, a pool, conference rooms, free parking, paid internet in the rooms, but free downstairs in lobby area and a very usable gym with about 4 treadmills, 3 or 4 elipticals and a stationary bike or two, plus free weights and weight machines. hotel is off route 1 which means there are malls all over the place to purchase whatever you're missing. fast food abounds and btw, there is a small university somewhere around there too, if you happen to be visiting your kid. when i was there, the hot tub was barely warm though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fongghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Even though it is situated in a relatively nice forrest area there is something depressing about this hotel. Inside dark tiles are on all the floors in the reception and restaurant area.

The rooms are like most Marriotts, i.e. Something you just want to forget as quickly as possible.

Do not count on the restaurant. At best it is just boring.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here for a quick weekend away. We were hoping for a hotel than would feel like a resort. Since it was a quiet weekend, that's exactly what we got.

First, this hotel has the most amazingly friendly staff I have encountered in a very long time. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the van driver, to the bartenders and waiters were exceptionally courteous. You got a pleasant "hello" or a polite nod from everyone.

Something that at least three different staff members said to us was that "this hotel is different than a lot of Marriotts." What we were told was that it is often very busy with business travels during the week and fairly empty on many weekends, particularly if there are no big social events. On the Saturday night, there were three functions at the hotel, but we got the sense that very few of the attendees were staying at the hotel. On Sunday night, I was told that only 120 of the more than 300 rooms were occupied.

This hotel is sprawling, with lots of wings, we actually got lost on our way to the room the first time and lost again the first time we left the room.

The room was fairly standard for a Marriott, but laid out well. 32" TV, a ton of electrical outlets, which were a nice touch. The king-size bed was a bit softer than I like. There was a coffee maker and a selection of tea in the room and a small refrigerator. The room had a view of a wooded area. Wifi was available for a $12.95 fee (why does Marriott do this? It should be free). Interestingly, our room seemed to be a cellphone dead zone, at least for our Sprint data plans.

The hotel bar/grill, Barley's, was very pleasant with a better than average selection of beers and wines. The food was a bit overpriced ($14 for a cheese steak, $10 for a French onion soup) but the beers and wines were reasonable (a pint of Newcastle Brown Ale for $6.50). Both bartenders we met there were super friendly, even when there were only 2 or 3 customers for the evening. We also really enjoyed the fact that there were two reasonably well maintained pool tables which were available for free. Because the hotel was so empty, we were able to play for well over an hour both times were stopped by.

On Sunday morning we had the hotel brunch, which was included in our weekend room rate. It was a fairly standard hotel bunch with fresh-made omelets, pancakes and waffles plus meats, cereals, fruit, etc. The "list price" for the brunch is $20 per person and it would not have been worth that, but as the weekend rate included the bunch for just $20 more, it was worth it to include it.

This hotel has a terrific swimming pool and a well appointed fitness club. Maybe I feel this way because the hotel was so empty, but twice out of three times I went, I had the pool to myself. It's located in a large solarium, so it does not feel like an afterthought and it is particularly nice that it is a full 25 yard lap pool from 3 foot to 5 1/2 foot deep. It was a joy to actually swim rather than just splash around. The hot tub, attached to the pool, is small (they say six people but I can't imagine more than 4 adults being in it comfortably). The fitness center had a nice selection of machines.

There is a full-service spa at the hotel. My wife had a 50 minute massage for $85 and was very pleased with the quality of the bodywork and with the actual spa experience.

A pleasant surprise is that the hotel provides free local shuttle service. We were arriving by train to Princeton Junction and they were able to send a shuttle to meet us. In the evening, a call to the front desk was able to secure the shuttle to drive us into Princeton, which is about a 10 minute drive. They gave us a business card with the phone number for the van driver and we were able to schedule a pickup when we were done with dinner. We were told that they offer van service until around 11 pm. We noticed that the van also drove people to a local rental car agency and other area restaurants. Kudos to them for offering this service.

We could not see anything that is "walkable" from this hotel, although there seemed to be sideways and paths. There were no obvious stores or restaurants near the hotel.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a weekend getaway although it might be good to try to find out how busy the hotel will be. I imagine it is a very different experience when the hotel is full.

Room Tip: This hotel is sprawling. If you don't want a long walk, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed a long weekend at this terrific hotel. Gorgeous setting and landscaping, beautiful lobby, fresh and spacious rooms, all tile and granite bath, very pleasant staff. We enjoyed the large indoor pool, which has a wall of windows letting in the light, giving the illusion of being outdoors. The breakfast buffet was a great deal, with made to order omelets. There's a cozy little pub right off the lobby which was perfect for pre-dinner drinks. Downtown Princeton is only 5 minutes away, and the hotel has a shuttle which can take you back and forth if you don't feel like driving. This felt like a very cheery, friendly home away from home. Will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, with a view of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillysportsfans625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We actually booked another Marriott brand in Princeton but our nav took us to this hotel. It was a Sunday aftenoon and the desk staff quickly offered us a room at this property for the same price as the other property. We were tired, so we took the offer.

Other reviews that mention that this place is dated fail to mention the feeling of isolation and downright melancholy that one feels staying in a place whose concept has either fallen out of favor or failed. This property is from the era of corporate parks set in wooded campuses right off major highways.

The night we stayed, the hotel was empty. The lobby and hallways smell stale, if not outright funky. The rooms are clean, but the furnishing are worn.

The whole place oozes that overwhelming sadness associated with middle-aged sales guys on the road far from home, looking to score on Monday and then drink themselves into a stupor on the flight back to Omaha.

Hey, we stayed only one night but this place still makes you feel lonely even when you are with your family.

WiFi coverage was good and the staff was polite (but bored as there's nothing to do when there are no guests).

The only action in the place is the group of Asians here to tour Princeton University roaming the lobby aimlessly and checking out the darkened meeting rooms off the lobby. (They made several passes, as if they couldn't believe what they'd found.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yobyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princeton Marriott at Forrestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Marriott at Forrestal

Property: Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Address: 100 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6613 (Formerly Doral Forrestal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princeton Marriott at Forrestal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between New York City and Philadelphia, this Princeton hotel provides meeting and conference space, comfortable accommodations and other amenities. Perfect for business or family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princeton Marriott at Forrestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princeton Marriott Hotel And Conference Center At Forrestal
Marriott Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing