We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok and quiet”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is something outside of Princeton, but therefore rather calm and quiet. Our room was ok, the hotel is rather large and has a lot of rooms, but that is probably convenient for conferences. Breakfast buffet typical Marriott standard, nothing special, but one morning was already closed before indicated time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    201
    82
    24
    11
See reviews for
124
108
27
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I've stayed at this Marriott numerous times over the years. In fact, during my initial visits it was the Scanticon. The hotel has a curious kind of Scandinavian kind of architecture. It has a low profile instead of the traditional high rise profile. The setting in the woods is quite attractive and peaceful. The staff at the Marriott Princeton is one of the most friendly I've encountered in my global travels. Virtually everyone you encounter in the hotel has a friendly greeting and the staff at the front desk are very helpful. I've only eaten breakfast in the hotel, but the service is prompt and friendly and the food is varied and plentiful...as well as good. I'll continue to use this hotel for my business travels, particularly since it's close to many pharmaceutical headquarters, Princeton, NJ, and other key sites.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is only a few stories high, it's relatively spread out. If you want to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Even though we were much less than a mile from Route 1, the hotel is surrounded by a forest and one hears no highway noise. We stayed there for 4 nights with family for a wedding. The public areas were very nice and well laid out. The indoor pool is stunning and very few people seem to use it. A number of times our family was the only occupant. The front desk staff were extremely helpful, friendly and went out of their way to please. The buffet style breakfast was well organized and varied. The price varied according to which section of the buffet one partook of. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. This hotel is definitely on our "return to" list whenever we return for a visit. If there is one thing I would recommend, it would be to stop playing piped in music at the front entrance or at least change the genre to some calming quiet tunes.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms look out onto the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have stayed here many time for business. Its a standard hotel which just happens to be round the corner from my USA office. I can walk to MRAm in 10 minutes.
I have used the restuarant and appreciate the burgers in the bar area. My favourite is taking a swim early in the morning. As I'm jet lagged, its actually late for me, but a great start to the day, withthe pool looking out over the well kept garden.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet, which I like
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

It doesn't look like a typical Marriott business hotel from the outside, as it used to be owned by another non-US hotel company. It's a full-service property, with bell hop, dining room, pay-for-breakfast, etc. Additionally, it acts as a conference center with many event rooms. There is a small business center which is free, and the internet worked very well. The indoor pool in on the lower level, as is the gym, which has a lot of choices for a small space. There is a full spa as well. There are a few areas with outdoor tables and chairs to hang out, as well as a lobby lounge. Rooms are standard and just fine - not super fancy, not drab. A little bit of wear and tear, but nothing major. Service was good throughout. The property is kind of woodsy, with some walking trails. It's off Route 1, about 10 minutes north of Princeton University.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Googin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This Marriott is located very conveniently to a business park within the Forrestal Village. There is some shopping along RT. 1 including a Target and Stop&Shop for groceries. The Hotel lobby and rooms are better than the average Marriott. There is ample free parking but they also offer valet.

I was booked into a concierge room on the second floor (2409). The room had a refrigerator but was a little tight on space, but average for a Marriott room. The bath was nice done but again a little on the small side.

The gym in this hotel was above average with very good treadmills. Stability balls and mats were available. Also there were dumbbells and some weight machines. The space in the gym is a little tight but I just brought a mat out to the indoor pool area adjacent to the gym were there was plenty of room.

The pool looked nice, but I didn't have the opportunity to try it out.

The bar/restaurant was OK. They had more options for salads than you usually find and the burger I had was good.

The concierge lounge closes at noon on Friday and does not re-open until Sunday evening. The breakfast they served on Friday was very good and included hardboiled eggs, a wide selection of fruit, along with scrambled eggs, oatmeal and cold cereal.

I will certainly choose this hotel again. On my departure day, my rental car had a flat tire and they really went out of their way to do what they could to get me back on the road to the airport. In the end I made my flight and all was good.

Room Tip: It helps to be a Marriott Rewards Platinum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeyouinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Decent Marriott property. Staff friendly. Rooms clean but temp controls not the best. Room felt humid and damp.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princeton Marriott at Forrestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Marriott at Forrestal

Property: Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Address: 100 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6613 (Formerly Doral Forrestal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princeton Marriott at Forrestal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between New York City and Philadelphia, this Princeton hotel provides meeting and conference space, comfortable accommodations and other amenities. Perfect for business or family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Princeton Marriott at Forrestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princeton Marriott Hotel And Conference Center At Forrestal
Marriott Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing