We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The entire staff had a can-do attitude and high standards of hospitality which must come from the top-down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The entire staff had a can-do attitude and high standards of hospitality which must come from the top-down.”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hotel's refurbishment includes comfortable beds, new linens, good pillows, and nice HD flat screen televisions. I asked for a room on the quiet side of the hotel, and they upgraded me for free to the executive floor, where the complimentary breakfasts were surprisingly lavish and delicious. I was greeted with smiles everywhere by the staff, who were flexible and went the extra mile to make sure my stay was comfortable. Easy parking, and convenient access to the town of Princeton, a lovely Canal walk, and the University.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mitali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCTDT-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate your feedback, and of course we’re delighted that you recognize and appreciate our friendly service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include the Princeton, NJ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    255
    139
    69
    33
See reviews for
264
132
81
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Definately a 3 star hotel, clean and large size rooms. Old televisions, internet not free, resturant a 3 star, at least prices are OK. Heating had issues wouldn't adjust without playing around with thermostat. American Shower.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathonNealesteine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCTDT-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate your feedback, and we value your observations. For your future stays, we do offer packages that include HSIA at a discount and we're in the process of installing more flat panel HD TVs. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include the Princeton, NJ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Being from NJ you tend to overlook some of the great locations to visit within your own state. Princeton is definitely a gorgeous place to visit and has tons of shopping and great food. This Doubletree is situated not too far from Downtown Princeton (there is even a complimentary shuttle but we didn't need it because we like to drive on our own--but it seemed like a nice deal). The warm chocolate chip cookie they present you with upon arrival is delicious and a sweet gesture. The room we had (king bed) was nice. Not outstanding and not horrible just nice. I'm not sure what I was expecting (with the #1 ranking) but my socks weren't knocked off. The Neutrogena bath products are great and the bathroom is very clean and updated. The bed is comfortable enough and two people can navigate the room with ease. I didn't see what the suites looked like but I'm sure the extra room is appreciated. The staff is always ready to help you and the coffee/tea in the room is quite tasty. We stayed over the course of a very rainy weekend and returning to our room every night was quite a relief. The restaurant located in the hotel is delicious (but pricey). I'd recommend this place to anybody looking for a great deal in Princeton.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCTDT-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was glad to read that you had a pleasant stay (despite the weather) and hope you will again choose the Doubletree Hotel whenever your travel plans include the Princeton, NJ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Stayed at the Doubeltree Princeton several weeks ago for the second time and continue to be impressed with the hotel. Nice, comfortable rooms and amenities but what stands out is the customer service. It is clear that management has really stressed to all staff members that good customer service is important and they should provide it at all times...and they do. There are also little extra touches that are appreciated like the free business center, which is common in the Hilton Garden Inn chain, but rarely provided at other Doubletrees. All in all a great choice and an excellent value when in the Princeton/Philly area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCTDT-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate your feedback and of course I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments at our staff meeting and I look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstateny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We are a traveling "CheerLeader" group in NJ for a competition. Our first night there was uneventful. It was our second night, after a long day at the competition we arrived back at our hotel to unwind. Did I mention 15 12 and 13 yr old girls?? We as parents wanted to socialize as a group. We congregated in the hall way outside "our" rooms. 8:30 PM Security told us we could not do this, against policy....We were told by him to move our party to the lobby...we did and within minutes "Suits" of the hotel stood within 10 feet of us arms folded. One poor employee , came to us with sweat on his brow,,,,he pulled the short straw...told us we must remove ourselves from the lobby within 20 minutes as the party in the ball room was going to let out...I believe he was the same man who told us to go to the lobby......feel the frustration?? We went up to one of our rooms...guess what... knock on the door...being too loud....funny our room next door was one of the parents and she could not hear us. Did I also mention we are the adults and not the children. They were in rooms watching movies. So we moved to another room at the end of the hall...Again knock on the door too loud again...now they have a note pad and are taking note. Our group was under house arrest at 10:00 by hotel staff. The next morning at breakfast, 2 staff employees from another country spoke English to me as I asked a question...within a minute they were talking in their language as I stood before them and were laughing..Can't help but feel they were talking about me and was quite offended. I will NEVER recommend this Chain of Hotel to anyone and plan on telling everyone of the horrible experience. As I gave back my keycard I expressed my disgust with the girl at the desk.....another Parent from another Cheerleading team was also checking out and said they were "after" her group as well.....Hey here's an Idea....don't book teams. We spent 4000.00 plus for 2 days in Jersey and truthfully want our money back.....

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheerMom13037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCTDT-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay and specifically that you felt harassed by the staff. I certainly recognize that groups such as yours need an area to “unwind” and we will work to improve our communication about those options in the future. At the same time, we have an obligation to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests, and this is the reason you were asked not to congregate in the public areas. Again I apologize if this wasn’t communicated to you in a professional manner with alternatives to suit your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

From the moment I walked in I was well taken care of by front staff. An error of theirs was quickly taken care of the next day; I had requested a two bed or a bed with a sofa bed but was given just a one bedroom. I stayed 5 nights while I visited my daughter for parents weekend and we all enjoyed the warm and delicious chocolate chip cookies every night. The front staff got to know us so well that they could tell that we were in need of a hot chocolate drink to go along with our cookie due to the horrible cold and wet weather we traveled in and they just called us over and offered it to us. I absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone that is traveling alone or as a family. They are very family oriented and take care of all needs that the room might need. I have already told them that I am staying with them again on my next visit to see my daughter. They said they would be ready and to just drop by and I will!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmirita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCTDT-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate your feedback, and of course we’re delighted that you recognize and appreciate our warm and friendly service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include the Princeton, NJ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family! The staff was very hospitable! The cookies are to die for and the accomendations were great! I have already booked this hotel for my 30 year class reunion on Nov. 27 & 28!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonymarkdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Address: 4355 US Route 1 at Ridge Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#5 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008, the beautiful Doubletree Hotel Princeton features the exquisite Sweet Dreams beds, Precor Fitness Center, heated indoor pool, business center, wireless HSIA, and of course our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. We offer complimentary shuttle service to popular destinations and businesses within a five-mile radius of the hotel, and are conveniently located off US Route 1 near historic downtown Princeton, New Jersey. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Princeton
Princeton Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing