We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a few issues ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a few issues ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree last night. The room was spacious and clean, and everything worked well. My only issues were that the wifi costs $9.95, which is frustrating in any hotel, and that there wasn't anywhere to grab a quick coffee in the morning without going into the restaurant (I don't count the coffeemaker in the room). The staff was friendly and the place was nice so I would stay here again, but if I can find a comparable option nearby with free wifi, it would make the decision for me.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rslev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton. It’s wonderful that our accommodations met your expectations. We do offer several hotel packages that include high speed Internet access and we hope that you’ll take advantage of one for a future stay. When you’re on the go, our breakfast area is the perfect place to grab a quick cup of joe. Please come see us again the next time you’re in Princeton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    249
    136
    65
    32
See reviews for
256
128
80
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked the hotel through hotwire at a great price. Honestly the hotel is beyond my expectation. I love the courteous front desk cookie, and it is delicious! The room is large, cozy, and clean. Although the room I lived in has a strange door, which let me feel a little uncomfortable about the safety. Overall, I would recommend the hotel, and would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor was noisy because of the temporary renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Our freshly baked cookies are often a favorite among our guests! Thank you for your recommendation of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton. We’re thrilled that our accommodations exceeded your expectations. We would like to point out that our hotel is very safe and secure, but if you ever have any concerns please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. It would be wonderful to see you again the next time you’re in Princeton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very courteous and welcoming front desk staff. Room was very fresh and clean. Breakfast staff was extremely inappropriate and the experience was unpleasant. Overall I would recommend the hotel - and would stay there again. I hope that they remedy the breakfast situation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
While we’re glad that our desk staff and our guest rooms were a highlight of your stay, we’re disappointed to learn of your experience with our morning dining staff. Although we don’t have many details on what occurred at this time, we sincerely apologize. Our staff is often praised for their professionalism and this is definitely out of character for us. Please reach out to us directly so that we may learn more about your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope that you’ll come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I completed our second stay at this hotel this past weekend.

While not my favorite lodging in the area (see my earlier review of the Princeton Westin), the DoubleTree offers comfort at a fair price. The rooms are reasonably spacious and pleasantly (though not elegantly) appointed. Consider spending a few extra dollars for an upgrade to the Executive floor. Here you will have access to refreshment room with breakfast items and afternoon snacks, and helpful staff members who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Sadly, we were not able to visit the room on our recent stay due to its limited hours. However, we did receive vouchers for breakfast in the main dining room, which was appetizing and well prepared.

The hotel could do a few things to increase its appeal: (1) provide free wifi service to all rooms, or at least to those who have paid more to be on the Executive floor, (2) expand the hours of the Executive lounge, and (3) on the next upgrade, provide more closet space in the rooms.

Also, I did find a number of soiled spots on the carpets, both in our room and in some of the public areas. Management should increase the frequency of cleaning/replacement.

On the plus side, the front desk staff were welcoming and responsive, as was the wait staff in the restaurant at breakfast.

On the whole, I would say this hotel delivers excellent value for the price, particularly compared to some local competitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Your detailed feedback of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton is greatly appreciated. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. We’re happy to learn that you had a satisfying experience with us and that the staff members you encountered provided you exceptional service. Hopefully you’ll be able to take advantage of our Executive Floor Lounge on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Solid hotel experience, clean rooms, helpful staff, good food in the restaurant.. Service was lacking a bit in the restaurant / bar as they seemed a bit under staffed.. The breakfast staff were more than helpful in quickly seating you with Juice and coffee..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark B. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Princeton. We’re glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and appreciate all the highlights that made your stay so positive. We’re sorry to hear that service was not stellar all around and your comments will be reviewed by our staff. We hope that you’ll come stay with us again the next time you’re in the Princeton area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Level Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and felt it was top-notch. But in the intervening years, things have gone downhill.

The hotel is still clean and comfortable, but noise was more noticeable this time. Lots of sound coming from the hallways and through the walls. It doesn't matter how comfortable the bed is if the people next door are keeping you awake.

On the plus side, the shower was great and the breakfast selection is extensive. But overriding this was a general lack of feeling welcome. No one was unfriendly, but staff didn't go out of their way to smile or be friendly. From the front desk to the breakfast room to the bar that closed early, it felt like they were doing us a favor by being there.

I still gave the hotel a very good rating because there were nice things about it. But this Doubletree no longer lives up to what I expect from that brand.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the elevators and ice maker as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
While we’re glad that our accommodations and breakfast selections met your expectations, we’re upset to learn that your recent stay with us was not as satisfying as your stays with us in the past. We regret that our staff was not as welcoming as they should have been and we will definitely share your comments with them in order to make improvements. Thank you for providing us with your perspective. We hope that your next stay with us will be much-improved from the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had great experience with my stay at DoubleTree - Princeton, NJ. The hotel staff at this hotel was courteous, accommodative, informative and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ngo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It’s great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton! We’re thrilled that the staff members you encountered were kind and hospitable and that our accommodations exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind recommendation. It would be a pleasure to serve you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#8 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Address: 4355 US Route 1 at Ridge Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#5 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008, the beautiful Doubletree Hotel Princeton features the exquisite Sweet Dreams beds, Precor Fitness Center, heated indoor pool, business center, wireless HSIA, and of course our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. We offer complimentary shuttle service to popular destinations and businesses within a five-mile radius of the hotel, and are conveniently located off US Route 1 near historic downtown Princeton, New Jersey. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Princeton
Princeton Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing