We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel near Princeton, NJ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Catlett, United States
1 review
“Decent hotel near Princeton, NJ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a good hotel for the location. We did have an issue with room keys that wasn't resolved, and the room furnishing could be a bit more modern, but it was clean. It is a bit sad that these items make you enter a minimum number of characters when there is real nothing more to say, another annoyance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay with us. I apologize for the issue you experienced with your room key. I will give your comments to the Chief Engineer to see if we can prevent things like this from happening. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    247
    134
    62
    30
See reviews for
254
126
79
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for business and was very pleased. This is an older hotel that was redone about five years ago when it became a Doubletree. Clean and very accessible to Princeton and the surrounding area. Also, generally about 20% less than comparable hotels in the area. No loss of quality though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSH811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to see to that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we are only 5 miles from the Princeton area, which is in range of our complimentary shuttle service. Your kind words will be given to the other departments. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

very happy with the overall appearance and the service at this hotel. The foyer and all the rooms were impressive. Our family had fun in the pool! We thought it was excellent value for money and the location was perfect to visit Princeton and close to restaurants and shops. We would definitely like to return to this hotel in particular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sam_e50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am both pleased and flattered that you were able to enjoy your stay so much. I am excited to see that you were able to make use of our heated pool, as well as visit the downtown Princeton area, which is only 5 miles from the hotel. I hope that you are having a great summer and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is located on US 1 among travel very accessible to anywhere in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms are beautiful. If you are a Gold or Diamond member the Executive lounge is very nice with their staff taking great care of your needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our hotel is located on Route 1 just a short distance from two malls, restaurants, Princeton University, and more. We have a complimentary shuttle service that travels within a five mile radius of the hotel. We treat our guests like family here. The hardest part of the trip should be making it to your destination, not the time you spend there. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had an excellent stay at The Doubletree in Princeton. Nice rooms, great restuarant, great service. Will be back for another go at the chimmichurri steak. It was so good. Located 5 minutes from downtown princeton is a plus as well. Great hotel. Great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Princeton area. I am pleased to see that you had such a great time during your stay. We want all of our guests to feel amazing when they leave our doors. On the Bone’s chimmichurri steak is a local favorite! It’s popular with both the guests and our staff. Your kind words will be given to the other departments to let them know they are providing great service. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, MD
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited the new University Hospital at Princeton Plainsboro for the birth of our first grandchild. The Doubletree was most accommodating especially since we arrived unexpectedly and needed a room for two nights. We booked another Hilton venue for a follow-up visit and were just as pleased with the Hilton Garden. We will be staying at Hilton whenever we travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bibliophile60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Greetings and congratulations on the birth of your first grandchild! We are all thrilled that we could be a part of this memory for you. I am very pleased to see that our hotel was able to assist you at such a hectic time. Your kind words, as well as your good news, will be spread to the other departments. Also, make sure you sign up for the Hilton Honors Program. It’s easy and free to sign up. Once you become a member, you begin earning points right away, which can be used towards a free night stay at any Hilton property. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

One weekend night I stayed at this busy property a few miles from downtown Princeton. The room and common areas were fine and in good condition but the stay had some disappointments that detracted from the stay. Overall impression is that the hotel was significantly understaffed that particular weekend I was there.
-Shuttle service was sporadic and late to pick up from train station. On the other hand the manager went out of his way to help us get around. I think it depends who is on duty.
-the restaurant for breakfast was not acceptable, most tables were not cleaned and the food was not in the bins at the buffet. My custom order for an omelet took far too long and when it finally came out it was wrong. The manager at the restaurant or whoever was on duty showed some attitude when we voiced our displeasure,
-No refrigerator in the room on the executive floor, and even after a request made none was delivered. The lounge was during the entire stay but a breakfast voucher (see above) was provided and a drink voucher as well.
-pool was overrun with kids, forget about trying to swim and get some r&r there unless of course your a kid.

So this brings me down to a tepid three rating. I got the sense some staff would bend over backwards to help you while others were indifferent and overwhelmed at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Princeton area. I must first apologize for some of the issues you faced while staying with us. We strive to ensure that every guest leaves our hotel happy and satisfied with their stay. Your comments and concerns will be taken to the various departments in order to fix these shortcomings. With regards to the Executive Floor, though the rooms are more spacious, they are not equipped with a refrigerator, but upon request one can be placed in the room. I invite you to call the hotel directly so that we may discuss your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#8 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Address: 4355 US Route 1 at Ridge Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#5 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008, the beautiful Doubletree Hotel Princeton features the exquisite Sweet Dreams beds, Precor Fitness Center, heated indoor pool, business center, wireless HSIA, and of course our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. We offer complimentary shuttle service to popular destinations and businesses within a five-mile radius of the hotel, and are conveniently located off US Route 1 near historic downtown Princeton, New Jersey. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Princeton
Princeton Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing