We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rooms are fairly clean, not as sparkling as other Doubletree properties I have stayed in. Close to food, shopping and Princeton University. Rooms are quiet of road noise but if there are collegiate sports teams staying at property, it can be noisy. Lot is not that well lit at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your business and the time you have taken to write this review of our property. Our rooms are cleaned to the Hilton standard and checked thoroughly before they are occupied by our guests. Your comments will be given to our Executive Housekeeper for review. Your comments will also be given to our Chief Engineer to see if we can improve this. New perspectives about our hotel help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon. (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 935 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came here for just a one night stay, as a getaway. I expected to get maybe a 3 star hotel, because I have stayed at other double trees before. However, I was wrong. We were greeted with the signature Double Tree cookies, then we went to our beautiful 2 queen beds executive level suite. The lounge was by far the best lounge I have ever seen! The pool was very clean, as a nice size as well. Why is this hotel not a "resort"?

Room Tip: An executive level room will give you access to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and the time you have taken to write this review of our property. I am both pleased and flattered that you enjoyed your stay so much you feel that we should be a resort! Your kind words and comments will be passed to the other departments. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon! (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Just a hotel, but I had kids in my group and the friendly staff, end to end, made it almost a resort experience. Smooth arrival and departure. Smiles and friendliness everywhere. A band aid and extra comforter when needed. Clean pool area. The woman running the restraunt for breakfast was rushed but never stopped hustling to keep things running smoothly and the waiters quickly responded. Be careful with directions. Conveniently located but some map services have them on the wrong location or side of Rt 1. The desk manager seems to take real ownership of the hotel. If something goes wrong talk to him about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay and review of our property. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and very flattered that you would compare our property to a resort! We believe in treating as our guests as family, and want you to feel warm and welcome every time you come through our doors. Your kind words will be passed to all of the departments to encourage them to keep up the excellent work! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

- Cookie makes any long tiring business trip great. Along with the adjacent restaurant that brought a great meal that evening... Thank You DoubleTree! don't make the review have 200 characters though... I'm not a big chatty type person and i like to get down to the point. so this is a little bit of a downer...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as your meal inside our restaurant, On the Bone. Your kind words will be passed to the other departments as encouragement to keep up the excellent service! Did you know that you can also order our signature Doubletree cookies online? That way, you can have a little piece of happiness with you as you’re traveling. I will also take your concerns into consideration in regards to the character amount in our survey. Thank you again for staying and writing this review. Have a wonderful weekend and we hope to see you soon. (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I can't say enough about how friendly and accomodating the staff is. Marybeth checked us in and was a pleasure to deal with, welcoming and friendly. We went to our room which was a bit small, presumably because it is an older property, but the room looked fresh and clean. The only downside is that it did not have a refrigerator or microwave, but a refrigerator is available for a nominal fee. The hotel was a great location for us as we could easily get onto Route 1 and go anywhere from there. We spent the day in Princeton proper and traveled to Lambertsville and New Hope. Upon our return to the hotel, it was nice to see Marybeth remember us and greet us with a warm welcome. We spent a very quiet and comfortable night. Breakfast was very nice AND again, the staff was very attentive and friendly. The rooms may be a bit smaller and the building a bit older, but BY FAR the staff here was the friendliest and most accomodating that we have ever encountered. Marybeth and Monica were wonderful and made everything easy for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2jerseyfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Princeton area. We truly appreciate your business and you taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! Your kind words will be given to the Front Office Manager so that he may commend his staff for doing a wonderful job. We treat every guest like family, and I am glad you were so warmed and touched by our staff. On your next visit to Princeton, try driving on Rt. 27, which is a road that runs parallel to the Rt.1 but is behind the hotel. It will provide a more scenic drive and you’ll get to see Lake Carnegie and some of the trails. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your breakfast. Chef Tiffany designed our breakfast menu to have something for everyone; whether it be your full standard breakfast or something light on the go. Your kind words will be passed along to encourage every department to keep up the excellent work. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is great. You can't beat the location and service! I would recomend eating at the reasturant. The prices are very reasonable and the quality is great! The pool is very nice and convenient. The room was clean and quiet. You are greeted with a smile and a warm cookie at check in. You really can't ask for more!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Princeton area. We truly appreciate your business and you taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed our heated pool. On your next visit maybe you can try our other amenities, such as our 24-hour business and fitness centers. Our rooms are cleaned to the Hilton standard and our housekeeping staff work hard to uphold those standards. Executive Chef Tiffany takes special care in assembling a fresh, exciting, and reasonable menu that any guest would be able to find an entrée on that suits them perfectly. Your kind words will be given to each of those departments. The front desk staff believes in welcoming our guests as family and friends, and you are treated as such every time you walk through our doors. Our warm, signature DoubleTree Cookies are available all day at the front desk, and not just at check-in. They make for a great dessert after dining in our restaurant! Thank you again for staying and we hope to see you soon. (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is an older property that has been updated. I had an Executive Room on the 6th floor which was very nice and the bathroom, while only average sized, was well done. The location on Route 1 makes it accessible to many offices and places to eat. However, you are not in Princeton proper and the hotel is located north of many of the other hotels on Route 1 in this area. Apparently the hotel does provide shuttle service to Princeton. The lobby is small and underwhelming.

Service from the front desk and from everybody else in the hotel was excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grump51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Princeton area. We truly appreciate your business and you taking the time to write this review. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service that will take you within a five mile radius of the hotel. For more information on our shuttle service, please call the hotel directly. Princeton University and the downtown Princeton area are popular drop off points. The shuttle also makes trips to Quakerbridge Mall and Marketfair Mall, which are located just a short distance from the hotel as well. We are currently in the process of improving our lobby and appreciate your feedback with regards to this issue. On your next visit maybe you can utilize our shuttle service and experience more of the Princeton area. Your kind words about their service will be passed to all department heads to encourage them to keep up the excellent work! Thank you again for staying and we hope to see you again soon. (^_^)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
863 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#12 of 15 in Princeton
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
1,000 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton

Address: 4355 US Route 1 at Ridge Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#5 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $88 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008, the beautiful Doubletree Hotel Princeton features the exquisite Sweet Dreams beds, Precor Fitness Center, heated indoor pool, business center, wireless HSIA, and of course our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. We offer complimentary shuttle service to popular destinations and businesses within a five-mile radius of the hotel, and are conveniently located off US Route 1 near historic downtown Princeton, New Jersey. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Princeton
Princeton Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing