We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Do they care?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village to your Saves list
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmette
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Do they care?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It is remarkable for a hotel of this price that is so inept. The room is comfortable but threadbare with a tiny sink area and chipped and scratched furniture. Two of the three elevators were out of order for three days. No signs indicated that nor was there any mention or apology. Restaurant food was good but service inept. Most annoying is the devious so called green option where they give you a five dollar credit on food if you "go green" and don't have your linens and towels changed. What they don't make clear is that means NO housekeeping, no tub or toilet cleaned, no glasses changed, trash emptied, bed made,, etc. So what the really mean by "green" is green in their pocket by not having housekeeping clean the room. It has nothing to do with conservation.
I am a Starwood Gold member but I would certainly go elsewhere in the future. Very devious.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RAHWilmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasha G, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear RAHWilmette,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry that you were not as pleased with your stay as we would have liked you to be. We strive to deliver the best in service to all of our guests and certainly look forward to resolving any issues that may have impacted your stay. We are currently working with engineering to fix the elevator malfunctions so that it does not impact our future guests.
Our “Make a Green Choice” program is designed to conserve all resources by having our guest forgo the housekeeping services until the time of check out in exchange for the five dollar voucher. In the future, we invite you to accept the housekeeping services as you normally would so that we can ensure that your guest room adheres to the highest standards of cleanliness and organization.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at The Westin Princeton at Forrestall Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    168
    114
    48
    31
See reviews for
137
108
37
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nyack
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I visit this hotel as an overnight getaway about six times a year. When we arrive, we are greeted by staff that knows our name (very impressive). The front office manager, Lynn, Nancy, David, Thierry, Chris and Paul find away to make us feel like we are important every time we visit.

What makes our visits so special is the staff. However, they have an unusually good restaurant managed by a guy named Max. The food is fresh and the recipes are innovative.

They have a good workout facility with up to date machines. They have a great indoor and outdoor pool facility.

The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and well-kept.

We love our weekend getaway, and you will too!!!

Room Tip: Let the staff get to know you. They will work hard to make sure your stay is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenLipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasha G, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear DenLipson,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide a great experience and service to all of our valued guests. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

While the surrounding development seems nearly vacant, the hotel is nice and the service was very good. I spent a couple of night there and had to eat in the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the speed at which it came to the room.
I am sure that it would be nicer if the overall development was active, but i enjoyed the peaceful nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melizondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for filling out a review on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and true depiction of what you can come to expect when staying here at the Westin Princeton.

We look forward to your continuing patronage of our hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here this weekend for a friend's birthday party and had a great time. The hotel has 24-hour room service, which was an amazing surprise. We also took full advantage of the warm indoor pool during our stay as well. The bed was super comfortable (I never wanted to get out of it in the morning) and the rooms were clean but a little dark. My only qualm is that the bar closed awfully early (around midnight /1230) even though there were a ton of us there ordering drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasha G, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello Phil,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Princeton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I really don't have much to add to previous reviews. This hotel is clean and quiet and the beds and bedding are just great. At first I resisted staying here, as Princeton was further from our destination than other areas, but the family member I was traveling with is a Starwood Club member and insisted on it. We stayed on the private Club floor and it was great fun.

I used the "Westin Workout" room and it was well equipped and comfortable. Didn't eat in the restaurant or use other amenities. Wifi worked great. Temperature control was easy and pretty quiet (heat). The only that gives away this hotel's age is the elevators - they can be a bit creaky - but that was not an issue for me.

I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it for visits to the Princeton area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy to read that we had exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return return.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pluses:
Front desk (Frankie) was very friendly and helpful. It has the quality that you expect from Westin. I wouldn't be surprised if this is the nicest play to stay in the Princeton area.

Minuses:
Only one elevator was working when we arrived. The room was not properly prepared (no shampoo and conditioner, only one bathrobe) - though the front desk called back to make sure we received the missing items.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckOnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a wonderful review of our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to your future return to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We wanted to get out of NYC and explore Princeton, NJ. The Westin Princeton was quiet, clean and a great value (for AAA members under $100p/ night). If I could rate the place as good rather than average or very good, than I would. We arrived and all the elevators were out of order. The concierge didn't even acknowledge the inconvenience and instructed us to take the stairs. Our room looked out over a roof top and was hard to get to from the emergency staircase. Nonetheless, we'd definitely recommend staying there if you are in the Princeton area because of the comfortable clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Rachel F,

Thank you for your recent stay here at the Westin Princeton. It was an honor and privilege to have you with us and we look forward to your return in the New Year. As you related in your posting, our rates are reasonable and the room you found to be "quiet, clean and a great value." We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and lack of sensitivity by our concierge not acknowledging the problem. We are in the process of upgrading our elevators and expect to replace them shortly.-Wishing you and the family a very healthy, happy and prosperous New Year.

Be Well,
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
2.4 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village

Property: The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Address: 201 Village Boulevard, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Princeton
#10 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful suburban setting, The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village is situated in the picturesque Princeton Forrestal Village shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Princeton At Forrestal Village Hotel Princeton
Westin Forrestal Village
Westin Princeton
Princeton Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing