We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 years ago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nassau Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nassau Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“4 years ago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here 4 years ago for 4 nights whilst on a Business trip. Couldn't sleep on the 1st night as my room was right next to where all thge Air-con units were. The next day I was moved to a suite. This was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knuzdenjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear knuzdenjeff,
We could not be happier to read that your stay became a fantastic one while staying here with us on business. Always great to hear of an unfortunate situation ending with such a positive result. We hope that if your travel plans in the future include another visit to the Princeton area that you will once again choose to stay at the Nassau Inn.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    157
    127
    72
    67
See reviews for
128
103
56
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

After two nights without power, we decided to take a break and go to a hotel. This iconic hotel has been here since George Washington...really! The location can't be beat, right in the middle of Palmer Sq...walk to everything in Princeton. The front desk person was almost surly when we asked for a room w/ king bed. They were sold out and apparently she was tired of dealing w/ storm weary travelers. We navigated the dimly lit maze of hallways and found our room in the "new" section. It was small and the bathroom w/ chipped toilet seat even smaller. Having heat and hot water were our priorities so we went to bed. Or at least tried to...noise from street and paper thin walls kept us awake for hours. Have stayed in NYC rooms that were quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the Square, might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missylrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear missylrp,
We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us at the Nassau Inn during your time of need and we’re happy that you were able to enjoy having heat and hot water. We are not so happy to read your thoughts of our staff and of your room. The description you have provided does not meet our expectations for our guests and I apologize that we did not provide you exceptional guest service. We pride ourselves on having a strong rapport with our guests and always being there to accommodate any and all requests with a smile and a welcoming impression. We are looking into the points of concern you have highlighted in your review and we will do whatever is necessary to remedy this and once again meet our standard and be the beacon of customer service that our guests and neighbors have always known us to be.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Princeton hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent our birthday weekend at the Nassau Inn and really had a lovely time. We booked a suite on the 3rd floor and we were very impressed with the room size. The room was well appointed and having a tv big tv in each room saved me from having to watch Yankee playoff games all weekend. The staff was just lovely and our first day had fun hanging out at the Yankee doodle tap room. So much history and nostalgia, with the famous alum on the walls and the Norman Rockwelll painting over the bar. Great way to pass a dreary Sunday. The atmosphere is great but the food is sub par.

The beds were absolutely amazing and we really did not want to get up the next morning. Unfortunately, we did not have much choice since we were woken by jack hammers out on the street. There is a lot of construction going on in the square so be mindful when booking if you want to sleep in. The staff was very apologetic and sweet about a situation they could not control and did offer us another room, which we declined since the second morning we were heading out early.

They are doing some upgrades and were installing new carpeting and making renovations to the 3rd floor. I would absolutely recommend this hotel as it is a perfect location and very well managed. Princeton is a greatnplacento spend a weekend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keschpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear keschpo, What wonderful feedback you have given us! Thank you for taking the time to offer such a complete evaluation. The renovations to the Inn are nearing completion and we appreciate your mention of satisfaction with the finished project. The beds and HD televisions are a big hit and we are so thrilled you found them to be just right for you. We wish you were able to have slept in as well! We again apologize that you were unable to. Since your time with us, the third floor carpeting is complete and the construction within Palmer Square is also coming to an end. The fall and winter months are a wonderful time in Princeton and the Yankee Doodle Tap Room is the perfect atmosphere and location to start the days and end the nights. Our new autumn menu is now out and some of our signature comfort food awaits along with some new items that have been quite a hit in town! We hope that you do return to the Nassau Inn and please feel free to call me prior to your arrival so we can ensure another wonderful stay for you and your husband. I can be reached at 609-921-7500.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed a few nights after travelling over form UK. Comfortable and well equipped rooms, free wifi, helpful, friendly staff
Sleep wasn't great due to jet lag, not helped by rather loud street cleaners and delivery trucks in the early hours.
Great location, no shortage of places to eat around, only used 'Tap Room' for breakfast and avoided the cooked food which was enormous platefuls .....

Room Tip: not on street side, if that's an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear jmwb, We greatly appreciate taking the time to review your time with us. Our location truly can not be beat. Our rooms have recently been renovated and it is wonderful to read that you were pleased with the comfort and amenities within the room. Our staff is always heartened when mentioned in Trip Advisor and we thank you for the kind feedback. Our new Yankee Doodle Tap Room autumn menu is now out and may offer items with portions more suitable to your liking. We hope that if your travel plans in the future include another visit to the Princeton area, that you will once again choose to stay at the Nassau Inn. Yours in hospitality, Nick Ballas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in August and were quite pleased with our huge room. It seemed to have been recently renovated, with lovely furnishings and a good mattress. Large, well stocked bathroom, with good, fluffy towels. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Princeton is a postcard-pretty town and this hotel fits right. The location is perfect for anyone wishing to visit the university, as we did. With the campus and heaps of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby, there's plenty to see/do on a stroll around town. We only had one meal (breakfast) in the hotel restaurant, which was good but we would have happily eaten dinner there had we stayed longer. Would definitely stay here again. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InternatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear InernatTraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience with us. We could not be happier with your impression of the Nassau Inn. Your renovated and sizable bedroom and bathroom with all of their modern comforts was carefully designed to cater to our guests needs based on years of valuable feedback. Our staff is so thankful that you mentioned their helpfulness and pleasant nature. We hope that you will return to the Nassau Inn again soon and when you do, be sure to once again stop by the Yankee Doodle Tap Room, as our all new autumn menu is out and receiving great reviews!
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Large but a bit dated rooms.
Loud air condition, I always switched it off when I came back.
Huge TV with some kind of game controller (never tried). Fairly expensive internet, you would expect that nowdays internet would be complimentary or at least cheap.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMTuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear AlanMTuring, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to express your pleasure with the size of your room and the flat screen High Definition television. I am sorry you were not pleased with our charge for in-room internet access. For future reference, we do offer complimentary internet access in the hotel’s common areas. Additionally, we currently run a promotion for our guests on Foursquare that when “checked in with Foursquare” we honor complimentary in-room internet access. We hope that if your travel plans in the future include another visit to the Princeton area that you will once again choose to stay with us at the Nassau Inn.
Yours in hospitality,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place looked so great online but was a little disappointing in person...much like a match.com date... Rooms were a little crowded (comfy mattress though), pillow shams and comforter are white but did not seem clean, elevator smells like old beer, just a little dingey :( staff are very nice though. We purchased breakfast ahead and when I told the front desk we might prefer to walk around in the morning and eat at a local cafe, she said they were the only breakfast in town... After a VERy disappointing greasy breakfast with moldy strawberries and awful coffee in their dark and grungy tavern we walked around (location is great!!) and found many other, delightful options and FANTASTIC
coffee at Small World Coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anontraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassaugm, Guest Relations Manager at Nassau Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear eportia,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for your compliments in regards to our staff. It is unfortunate to hear however, that your time with did not exceed your expectations. It is troubling that you felt your white linens may not be clean. Please rest assured that our linens are laundered after every stay and anytime during a stay through our green initiative by placing the “green program card” on your bed. As for the breakfast you had and the information regarding breakfast, this does not measure up to our standard for our guests and we would like to gather more information surrounding the occurrence. We would greatly appreciate a call at your earliest convenience to gather more information to eliminate the possibility of any reoccurrence. I can be reached at (609) 921-7500. I look forward to speaking with you.
Thank you,
Nick Ballas
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nassau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Inn

Property: Nassau Inn
Address: 10 Palmer Sq E, Princeton, NJ 08542-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nassau Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nassau Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing