We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel, I don't know why”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's true that this hotel needed renovation, but now it's almost over. I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times now, and I have seen the changes over time. It's now more modern and more comfortable than before. Nice, very nice.

But there one thing that didn't change: the fantastic service and hospitality. I really like the staff. It's maybe the environment or the architecture, but I can genuinely say that everyone feels good in there.

I have stayed in similar hotels in Princeton, but this one, the Hyatt Regency is certainly my favorite, and I will not stay in any other. My secret pleasure is the nice breakfast. it's not extravagant, but it certainly give me a reason to wake up in the morning :-)

The only reason fro a 4 star, is the price. It's just on the edge of what I would give it in terms of value for money.

Hope this helps,

Dr. MAK.

Room Tip: The breakfast is simply fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Dr_MAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were heading north from Virginia to Albany and got a late start. We decided to lay over in Princeton NJ and made a reservation on line at the Hyatt. We had read that it was being renovated but it said that they were to be completed by December 31 and it was December 28 so we figured that they were complete. They were not but it did not effect one.

We were assigned a newly renovated corner room, a complementary one according to the girl at the front desk. Our reservation showed free wifi and breakfast she claimed that it did not but gladly honored it. She mentioned that they were there to help in any way. They service was very warm and helpful in every way even in the restaurant. They seemed to want to grant your every wish.

The renovations were very tastefully done and complemented what was obviously an older Hyatt property. The only hiccup was that they do not keep the out door hot tub open in the winter. I really wanted it to sooth my aching body but the swimming pool was open and huge for an indoor one and kept at the perfect temperature. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation it is our greatest compliment. I’m thrilled that you found your newly renovated guestroom to be well appointed. It sounds like you found the service by the staff to be top notch. We want to make our guests feel at home from the moment they arrive. I hope that in the future we can welcome you back on your next visit to Princeton!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just spent two nights at this hotel for a nearby wedding, and had a very good experience with almost nothing to complain about. Face it, this is not the type of hotel you are going to visit for a honeymoon or a romantic weekend. It is a business hotel in a business park on the outskirts of Princeton, but they do a very good job.
We came from Newark airport and took the train to Princeton Junction (surprisingly easy!). We were picked up by the hotel shuttle... a few minutes later than arranged, but hard to complain when it is a black Escalade. About six minutes to the hotel, which is located in a non-descript red-brick business park. The hotel itself is one of those standard three or four story Hyatt's with the central atrium... a little dated, but going through some renovation ( the pool was closed during our visit, but it looked nice). Check in was smooth and very welcoming, and we received coupons for free breakfast buffet. (Not sure if this was a special deal for our group or normal). Some of the lobby areas could do with a good interior decorator ( a bit of an airport waiting room feeling) , but our room must have been an updated one. It was very comfortable and we slept well in the bed. The walls are a little thin, but I wear earplugs to sleep anyway. There is a decent gym with good equipment... unfortunately a low ceiling, so a 6 footer cannot use the ellipticals without hitting his head on the ceiling... but otherwise good, and there are saunas in the men's and ladies rooms.
The best thing about this hotel is the service.... everyone we dealt with was delightful and well-trained. When we wanted lunch around 3.30pm on Friday afternoon, and there was only one waiter covering the bar and the lobby restaurant, and he was suddenly faced with a full bar after a Christmas lunch.... he was stretched, but professional and charming, and lunch came quickly and it was good. In the evening we showed up at 8.30pm with 11 people for dinner, and they rearranged tables to seat us. I was worried that our food would take forever to come, but Marissa did an excellent job, and everything came smoothly as ordered. Dinner prices are a bit on the steep side ( my recollection is something like $12 for a salad and $35 for a sea bass main dish), but the food was really quite good and we had a fun evening. And the breakfast buffet is just fine.... again with really charming and helpful staff.
All in all, the experience exceeded our expectations and Hyatt should be proud of whoever is in charge of training at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer0946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms and they are excellent. Very comfortable beds, quiet, spotless, all the ammenties. Breakfast buffet/menu are excellent but pricey. No complaints, exactly what you would expect from a newly remodeled hotel room.

Room Tip: Get a remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hello MYGC!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Princeton. We're delighted to hear your comments on our renovated rooms. Your comments regarding the delicious breakfast will be passed to our executive chef. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here during Hurricane Sandy when the hotel had no power. The staff went way above and beyond to make our stay the most memorable camping experience I have ever had--candlelit gourmet breakfasts and dinners, extra blankets for warmth, and attentive staff who were extra appreciative of our business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is old and in the midst of a remodel which is sorely needed. The rooms are nice size, but everything is worn. Although the mattresses are modern and comfortable. They charge for internet. $10/day. The walls are thin and you can hear everything. The staff is nice and tries their best. Once the renovation is completed this should be a very nice hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank CalClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The initial room given on the main floor - had ripped lamp shades and stained carpet. Overall, was in very poor condition. An inexpensive motel would be more appealing. This will reflect poor on the Hyatt chain. A new room was given, although front desk claimed they would waive the upgrade fee - to a standard room. It seemed to be one of the upgraded rooms, which they may consider removing rust around the bathroom door. The upgrades clearly cut corners. The hotel was empty - and I could see that it may not have the best reputation.
The pool was nice. The room came with no complimentary water, and a small bottle in the lobby was $4.00. I think there was a charge for Wifi.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the main level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theNJTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
476 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
863 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Princeton

Address: 102 Carnegie Ctr, Princeton, NJ 08540-6200
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Family Hotel in Princeton
#8 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $146 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Princeton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Princeton's Carnegie Center, the Hyatt Regency Princeton is minutes away from the proud home of one of the most "prestigious universities in the world ” Princeton University, historic sites and upscale shops. Princeton itself hosts many Fortune 500 companies including Dow Jones, IBM and L’Oreal, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Dow Jones, and Siemens. Enjoy the city without the expensive hotels rates as we are five minutes away from the AMTRAK/NJ train station with service to New York and Philadelphia; just one hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing