We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Witherspoon Grill

Witherspoon Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Witherspoon Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 196 Restaurants in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nassau Street
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome tuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had lunch here today and had the Sesame Tuna and shaved ribeye sandwich, the app was the lightly breaded fried calamari . dessert was key lime pie and a de-caf cappuccino.. Service was over the top and atmosphere was pleasant. Would go back for a dinner

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tollybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    178
    64
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for brunch on a beautiful Sunday morning. We ate brunch on the patio and were very pleased with the three different meals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not sure why there are so many negative reviews. The food was generally very good and the atmosphere, both inside and out were pleasant. The service was a bit erratic. Food was delivered in a timely manner but I ordered a burger and waited almost ten minutes for ketchup while my wife was eating her dinner. Other than some inattentive staff behavior, this place seemed like a nice find in downtown Princeton.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Ordinary Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Witherspoon has a great atmosphere and terrific bar area - atmospherically and based on the talent of the bartenders and the selection. The wait staff is attentive and very capable. However, having eaten at Witherspoon at least 30-40 times, I have yet to have a steak that justifies the near New York City pricetag. Lately, the steaks ordered have been cooked close to what was requested (many times in the past rare was medium, medium rare was well) and perhaps it is improving. It would be rated much higher by me if a steak could be consistently produced that matched the atmosphere and price. Until it does, it will still be deserving of only an average rating. On a side note, my assumption is the management thinks they are doing well enough because it is usually packed - I think due to its location and atmosphere. It would be interesting to see what happened if a solid steak chain closer to downtown Princeton opened shop (right now the closest is Ruth's Chris on ROute 1 a considerable distance from downtown Princeton).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
285 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Terrible Dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

In the past I have given this place excellent reviews and the food except for the dessert was as usual scrumptious. However, my wife ordered Bananas Foster. What arrive was limp bananas floating in a mixture of melted ice cream and whipped cream. It was inedible. It seemed like it had been lying around under a hot lamp or some source of heat. Disappointing indeed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witherspoon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Witherspoon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing