We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but Better Options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed here for one night in May to attend a local graduation. Location is OK – on route 1. (However – ask the hotel for a different address to put in your GPS as the Route 1 address isn’t found by the GPS – they know this). Anyway – the place is kind of weird in it’s setup. It seems like it was a motel at some point and they added or enclosed the outside to make corridors. The rooms were not the cleanest and the shower curtain was falling off the wall, so the floor gets soaked. The rooms (we had 2 rooms) have an odd smell – perhaps a scent to hide mildew or smoke smell? The rooms definitely need to be updated. I knew this wasn’t a 5 star hotel when I booked it, but I was just hoping to get some of the basics right. It was OK for a one nighter, but I would look elsewhere next time. We previously stayed at an extended stay hotel in the same area on Route 1 and that was better. There is also a Westin a few miles farther up on Route 1 that looked really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_in_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 185 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

Shabby interior, the facility used hot water even though cold was selected, rude and incompetent employees. All the horrors of the actual visit aside - AFTER my visit I needed to contact someone to help to straighten out my charges. After repeatedly calling and asking for assistance, I was either given a second hand explanation, or, from the one person who could assist me, I could not get a return call after leaving numerous messages. still they screwed while straighten out my charges.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unleash2689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I stayed at the Clarion for two nights in November. I found the rooms to be very clean, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. I liked the fact that I could walk to the shopping center next door. The staff was very friendly and helped me with everything I needed. I can't believe this place was only $89 per night- we found that to be an excellent bargain. I give this place an a+++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianFendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We just completed a 2 night stay at the Clarion Palmer Inn. The rooms were clean and the staff was incredibly accommodating. We were there for a lacrosse tournament, probably 25 families in all, and used the pool and outdoor courtyard both evenings for dinner and cooling off after the games. It is not a luxury hotel but quite nice and very convenient if you are in going to be in the Princeton/Mercer County Community College area.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laxdad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We were delighted with our stay at this hotel. Continental breakfast was not fancy but a step above that offered by similar establishments. Personal touches made the Palmer Inn feel well cared for and not just another standard corporate chain cutout. As noted above, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful to guests.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I arrived with 3 huge luggages and no hotel staff to help a lady / hard to find your room. Confusing hotel layout / restaurant was out of business / sheets were dirty / mattress had dark stains / moldy smell on room / no kitchenette... it's just a microwave and a small refrigerator / apparently hotel rents a space next to the rooms to a church congregation were they meet everyday for mass, nothing wrong with that, but it makes the hotel noisy during services / front desk lady was friendly / checked out the next day and will never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

If I were the brand manager for Choice Hotels, I would travel to NJ and personally rip the Clarion sign from the pole. The hotel's website describes it as an "upscale hotel." This is very false advertising. This hotel stinks -- literally. It SMELLS BAD. The scent is a combination of body odor mixed with greasy food, with carpet freshener dumped on top.

Despite the "lipstick" -- relatively new bedspreads and window coverings, the place is generally dingy, dirty and dated. The mattresses are the worst hotel beds I have ever experienced, and I've stayed in some pretty cheap places. The blankets are ratty and pilly. The top sheet had a rip in it. Basically they've taken an old motel and built a shell around it so that all the rooms are "interior." You can tell the original building is very old. You have to step up from the "hallway" into the room. There is no security.

The maids either can't read or don't know the meaning of "Do Not Disturb" -- they knocked on our door in the morning despite the sign. Walls are so thin you can hear your neighbors breathe. Noisy at night. I would avoid the breakfast -- it wouldn't pass health department inspection -- yuck!

The bathroom tile was dirty, there was mold, etc. The toilet ran endlessly, there were holes in the ceramic tile. The thermostat always read 62 degrees regardless of the actual temperature. The bathroom heat was a heatlamp, but the knob was broken off so you couldn't use it.

The only thing that really worked was the wireless internet.

And it's not really in Princeton -- it's on the outskirts. Near shopping and restaurants which is a plus, but you aren't going to be near the quaint ambience of a cute college town.

I would not recommend this hotel. Did I mention it SMELLS???

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ginger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#13 of 15 in Princeton
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - West Windsor
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#8 of 15 in Princeton
608 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
886 reviews
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Address: 3499 US Highway 1, Princeton, NJ 08540-5925
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn is conveniently located just two miles from Princeton Unversity. This Princeton, NJ hotel is near popular attractions like Six Flags Great Adventure theme park, Sun Bank Arena, Rider University and The College Of New Jersey. The hotel is next to Whole Foods Market, and across the street from Carnegie Center office complex. The award winning PURE RESTAURANT and LOUNGE is located through the hotel's lobby and features casual to fine dining, with celebrity chef-prepared sushi, along with steak and unique menu items. Our signature cocktails are a great way to enjoy a relaxing evening in the lounge. Over 12 domestic and imported beers are available on tap and served ICE COLD. Our breakfast buffet is by far the finest in the area, and it's INCLUDED at no additional charge! You'll enjoy high-speeed wireless internet access, and we have refrigerators and microwave ovens in EVERY ROOM. All amenities are included in your room rate. Why stay at other hotels that charge fees for every item you touch? HBO, ESPN, and over 40 other channels are available on flat screen Televisions. Shuttle service to Princeton University is available at no additional charge (call us for details on the shuttle availability). Call us today to make reservations with one of our friendly representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Palmer Princeton
Clarion Princeton
Princeton Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing