We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Cornwall, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs Improvements”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife attends a conference in Princeton every year and this hotel is on the list with a special rate for the conference; while my wife is at the conference I stay in the room to do some work, relax, whatever. The rooms aren't too bad however the wifi coverage is poor and the room cleaning schedule is all over the map; the first morning the cleaners were at our room by 9 AM while the second morning they hadn't shown up by noon. I don't like having my work interrupted so I usually leave the room until the cleaning staff have been through before I start working; having such a random cleaning schedule is a problem (this happened last year too).

I went to the "Business Center" to see if it would allow me to work uninterrupted for a while and I found that to be a bit of a joke. The room has boxes stored around/under the desks, the network jack at the work desk isn't active and the electrical outlets are blocked by the desk. I would have expected a powerbar and plug in network access and a more professional looking area.

The only real shining star to this hotel is their handyman Alex; he is extremely friendly, attentive to detail, quick and efficient.

Last year we had one of the suites; the stove didn't work and the balcony furniture was very dirty. We may try a different hotel next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HousePlantD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    39
    25
    44
See reviews for
55
26
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarmeont, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I will keep this short so people will read this.

1. I booked a nonsmoking room and was given a smoking room. "that is all we have" was their reply. At the time I booked my room, the rate offered was similar to several other hotels in the area. A quick look at other hotels had me paying almost twice as much due to it being done at the last minute.

2. This place sponsors a swingers club (I'm not talking about dancing). My stay coincided with their monthly meeting. When the hotel bar closed at 1 am, the party moved to the hotel. Not all of the activity was confined to the rooms. It was way after 3 am when I was finally able to get some sleep - due to the noise. Calls to the front desk went unanswered. I feel the hotel should have warned us "normal" guests. Also, the rates to the members of the club are about half the normal rate.

To show I'm not making this up, the link below takes you to their advertisement. Beware of the 3rd Sunday of the month.

http://www.swinger.net/swingers/parties/new_jersey/princeton/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MikeVig20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Princeton hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice property, great amenities and clean. However, unlike the cheapest Roadway Inn in the Choice chain where there is 24 hour coffee (though horrible tasting) in the lobby, you are locked out of the breakfast room until 6:30am. Not great if your a business traveler and need an early start! I told the desk clerk I was disappointed, and she told me, "there's a coffee maker in your room". How disappointing for Choices signature brand.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmcolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If it wasn't for the friendly staff and its location, I would rate this as below average or poor. Normally when I think of "Clarion" I think of a higher standard than what we experienced at this location. Overall, we much prefer the Holiday Inn Express a few miles away: hands down a far better value and a much nicer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennysmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last summer. We were in the process of moving from out of state and needed a place to stay while we looked for a place to live. We chose this hotel specifically because it allows pets and we were able to bring our dog.

The hotel itself is in a convenient location (right next to a plaza with a Whole Foods and down the street from a mall). The interior is definitely dated and our particular room had a pretty horrible odor. The hotel does have a pool (which we didn't use) and an outdoor area with tables and chairs.

It suited our needs at the time but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaaldrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Due to an unexpected overnight in Princeton, New Jersey, we checked in to the Clarion. Having spent many, many nights in the Comfort Suites in Canton, NY (a delight) and in other Comfort chain hotels across the midwest, we never thought twice about the decision. This hotel was the WORST we have ever been in. It smelled of sewage (and curry) - in the room, outside, even the box of tissues in our car smelled of it. There was a party going on in every surrounding room and we were kept awake all night. We checked out at 5:30 am, sleepless, cold, smelly and disgusted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is in the midst of renovations. Outside hallways are in the process of being enclosed. Our room, on the side of the building (1st floor) was very quiet-- no road noise at all. Some of the furniture is a little worn, and it's time for cosmetic updates, but this did not affect the quality of our stay at all. The room was very warm when we arrived, but the heating system was easy to adjust. The room was clean with no odor of cleaning products. Breakfast was ready promptly at 6:30, and all staff were very personable and helpful. The breakfast room attendant even cautioned us about icy roads. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It can be tricky to enter the hotel parking lot from Rte. 1 North-- no left turns. Call the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#11 of 15 in Princeton
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - West Windsor
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
827 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Property: Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Address: 3499 US Highway 1, Princeton, NJ 08540-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn is conveniently located just two miles from Princeton Unversity. This Princeton, NJ hotel is near popular attractions like Six Flags Great Adventure theme park, Sun Bank Arena, Rider University and The College Of New Jersey. The hotel is next to Whole Foods Market, and across the street from Carnegie Center office complex. The award winning PURE RESTAURANT and LOUNGE is located through the hotel's lobby and features casual to fine dining, with celebrity chef-prepared sushi, along with steak and unique menu items. Our signature cocktails are a great way to enjoy a relaxing evening in the lounge. Over 12 domestic and imported beers are available on tap and served ICE COLD. Our breakfast buffet is by far the finest in the area, and it's INCLUDED at no additional charge! You'll enjoy high-speeed wireless internet access, and we have refrigerators and microwave ovens in EVERY ROOM. All amenities are included in your room rate. Why stay at other hotels that charge fees for every item you touch? HBO, ESPN, and over 40 other channels are available on flat screen Televisions. Shuttle service to Princeton University is available at no additional charge (call us for details on the shuttle availability). Call us today to make reservations with one of our friendly representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Palmer Princeton
Clarion Princeton
Princeton Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing