We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Back again...still great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back again...still great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Made reservations before New Jersey was hit by Hurricane Sandy....and called ahead to make sure they had power. Lucky for us, they are up and running.....and the staff is all-hands-on-deck with a completely FULL hotel, as many locals are calling this place home until power is established in the community. Saw the manager again....she is always out on the floor working. The kitchen gal is really a gem....she was producing dinner for a crazy big group and was not rattled at all. Lucky to be back again....

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fussymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    164
    51
    24
    14
See reviews for
241
57
30
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
147 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for a week while on business in NYC. I picked this location for the good rate (less than 1/2 of Manhattan prices), decent tripadvisor reviews, and primarily its proximity and FREE SHUTTLE to and from the Princeton Junction rail station. Made all the difference to be able to stay here in this quite nice area and take the train to/from NY Penn Station. That was a huge bonus - being able to get the hotel shuttle van to/from the train station AND to have it be able to take you pretty much anywhere within a 3 - 5 mile radius (check with the front desk). One evening, had the shuttle take me to Princeton U so I could check out the campus. It's very close and the shuttle drops you off and picks you up right in the heart of the University area. That was great.

The hotel staff - from the front desk to the breakfast/dinner area to the shuttle van drivers - were all very courteous, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and professional. Very nice since at a hotel like this you typically spend a lot of time at the property. The hotel grounds, common areas, and my room were all very clean and well-kept for the duration of my stay, and the breakfast/dinner area was kept in nice order (although the table cleaning during meal times is pretty much self-policing). Very nice and AMPLE selection of food both in the morning and evening; although choices are limited at dinner, it was always very tasty, well presented and very well stocked. That was really a nice feature, and a huge cost savings as well. I did try the Ruby Tuesday across the parking lot one evening, and was completely underwhelmed - dirty, smelled bad, and food was pricey and not very good. Sorry HS - should have stayed for the pasta night!

There are different sized rooms, mine was plenty big for 1 person, and I liked the separate room area with the couch, chairs, and TV. The couch looked like it was a pull out bed as well although I didn't confirm. It was nice having the sink, refrigerator, and dishwasher as well. My only very small complaint about the room was lack of working space - the desk/table they provided was good for one person eating, but with the lamp, phone, and small table size, it was very difficult to work and be able to have more than just the computer on the table. There was sort of a coffee table/ottoman piece of furniture in front of the couch, but it was low, leather covered, and far enough away from plugs to make it a good working space. Small nit however, didn't really detract too much from my overall stay experience.

Again, I can't stress enough the great logistical quality of this hotel - you are a few miles from the Princeton Junction train station, but if you don't go to/from there during rush hours, it only takes about 7 minutes. Princeton University is about the same - 2 or 3 miles and 7 - 10 minutes ride away. Strongly recommend going here for dinner and walking around one evening if you have the time - great area.

Used the fitness center multiple times - it's nice but very small - 2 treadmills, a stair-stepper, and some of those yoga weights; that was it. Only had to wait once however. It's in the same area as the pool and hot tub, so that's convenient - didn't try either of those however.

I would definitely stay here if in the area (NYC, Philly, or Princeton) again - if the rates are as competitive as they were this time. Adding the train fare (about $15 each way to NY Penn Station) is still worth it from a cost and transportation hassle standpoint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a typical Homewood Suites located about 2-3 miles from the center of Princeton. It is located just off of US 1 but the room was extremely quiet (and configured like most Homewood Suites). The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was quite clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had reserved a room for a quick trip. After a loooong day, we arrived quite late (close to midnight) and of course, were quite tired.
It was so refreshing to be greeted warmly and pleasantly by the front desk staff, and after getting in to the room, we were immediately at ease with the spacious room and comfortable atmosphere.

Being on a specialized eating plan due, having a refrigerator, microwave, small stove top, etc. was extremely helpful, as we had brought much of our own food. However, we did thoroughly enjoy the nice breakfast buffet. The staff there was quite helpful and 'on top of things', keeping all areas clean and in order.

Thanks again, Homewood, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojotrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I visit Princeton several times each year; the Homewood Suites is Where I typically stay. Rooms are spacious and comfortably appointed. The kitchens are equipped with a full sized refrigerator, small stove and a microwave oven. That is more than I need but certainly nice to have.

A breakfast buffet is provided daily with a nice choice of foods both hot and cold. The dining area never seems to be over crowded or cramped.

The hotel is always clean, the staff is friendly, and the price is quite competitive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here with my son, sister, and niece. We had a great time here. The room was nice and cozy. the bathroom was amazing with the large walk in shower. The pool on the other hand wasn't so great, it needed to be cleaned. The jaccuzi was ver clean and we enjoyed taking a dip in it. the room are a nice size, and the couch has a pull out bed! the staff was friendly. They also offer breakfast which was OK. They have a Ruby Tuesday's right across the parking lot so that was a plus as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsShan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyersdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had my first (but not last!) stay there a few weeks ago. I am a business traveler and this hotel exceeded all my expectations in every way. Rooms are very spacious and well designed, staff are very attentive and responsive and the amenities are numerous. Excellent hot breakfast and evening "reception". I have stayed at most of the Route 1 corridor hotels, but this hotel is my #1 fav.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie15552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
1.9 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#11 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Address: 3819 U.S. 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Princeton
#5 Family Hotel in Princeton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Princeton is conveniently located just 4 miles from Historic Princeton University and the Princeton Battlefield in Princeton, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary high-speed internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool & basketball court. Explore many Princeton area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Homewood Princeton
Princeton Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing