We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully managed property...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3819 U.S. 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifully managed property...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is our go-to hotel in the Princeton area. The property is beautifully maintained and I've bumped into the general manager a couple times on our stays; she is often buzzing around the property doing things and making sure everything is ship-shape. The rooms are very clean and well maintained; there is a huge walking path adjacent to the hotel which runs parallel to the river/lake--just ask at the front desk how to connect. I prefer staying in rooms that do not face hwy 1. Evening reception/dinner is always welcome and the breakfast is well-done, too......although, would love it if they would add muffins or a different pastry.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fussymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    155
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
208
51
30
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Staying for the last 8 days and had bitter experience (Room # 419)
2 T-Shirts which was given for laundry on 26/7/2011 and noticed it was was spoiled with colors all over the T-Shirts. I borught this to the notice of the Front Desk. The initial reaction was " we are not responsible" since they dont do any laundry, as the service was done by a 3rd Party vendor. Returned the t-shirt back to the Hotel so that the vendor knows what mistake he committed and wash it properly and give it back.
After couple of days when I contacted the Front desk, I was told they are not responsible and even refused to contact the vendor to enquire about the status. Rather they gave the number and asked me to speak to the laundry vendor. Also they gave me the laundry slip, highlighting that hotel is not responsible for whatever happens to the laundry.
It is a act of WASHING THE HANDS off the problem.
I am very disappointed they way this issue was handled by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummy8000bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
I understand that you have been busy with work and travel however I never received a response from you on the three options I provided to you on reimbursement of the damage clothing which was the direct result of our outside dry cleaning service. I would like to reimburse you 100% for the damage clothing however I do need you to contact me at the hotel's main telephone number or through my email address which was sent in direct response to your email complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

For us the location was perfect, only one mile from the Princeton Campus. Our daughter is a student athlete and we wanted to visit and watch some games and give her some love.
It was great, we had a nice mini suite with a full kitchen so we were able to cook for her and she could sleep on our couch bed to get a break from being in the dorm. Ny husband took advantage of the wonderful running/biking trails just a short walk from the hotel. Wonderful shuttle service that takes you within a 5 mile (?) radius of the hotel and the onsite restaurant was just fine. Princeton parents should definitely put this on their hotel lists. Location, Location, Location! Oh. I almost forgot! Free breakfast and evening receptions on certain nights, check with hotel for details!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodKarmaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
938 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 907 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just stayed for an overnight (wish it could be longer) Really nice hotel, but difficult to get to off the highway. It's visible, but not intuitive how to get there. Room was enormous, really a one bedroom apartment. Clean and comfortable. The hairdryer needs replacing, kept over heating after a few seconds. Slept great because the airconditioning worked perfectly and the room was very quiet. The breakfast was delicious especially the quiche and the chocolate croissants! Overall a truly great value for a lovely place to stay and close to Princeton if you're planning a visit.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The room was equivalent to other Homewood Suites I've stayed in.

The breakfast was not too good. It appears to be the standard stuff that is served at hotels all over the country but was overcooked.

The pool was nice but on one evening there was a woman giving a swimming lesson to a local kid. We know this because the kid and his mom showed up and knocked on the outside door to be let in. The kid went into the restroom and changed then the lesson began. There was still plenty of room for my kids to play in the pool but the kid's mom appeared to be offended when my kids splashed. This all just makes me wonder who is the priority--the paying guest or the swimming lessons?

The free shuttle to the Princeton Junction train station was great--you just have to sign up at the front desk for one of the available times.

For some reason, our car GPS was confused about the location. If approaching from the south, you'll see Ruby Tuesday, a couple of hotels, and then the Homewood Suites on the left side of US 1. Keep going to Scudder's Mill Road where you can make a u-turn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Clean, quiet, and five minutes to campus. Newer property, or at least it feels new. No worries here. It's on the Southbound side of Rt 1, so if you are coming from Philly you will need to drive past and make a u-turn at the next exit. They also have a shuttle to run you into town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nittany13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Hello, this hotel is nice and comfortable. it is located in route 1 in New jersey. Princeton is very near to the hotel. it has complimentary shuttle to the office or mall or Princeton junction station. excellent breakfast and dinner. friendly staff. I and my family enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Princeton
Courtyard Princeton
#13 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Address: 3819 U.S. 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Princeton
#5 Family Hotel in Princeton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Princeton is conveniently located just 4 miles from Historic Princeton University and the Princeton Battlefield in Princeton, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary high-speed internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool & basketball court. Explore many Princeton area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Homewood Princeton
Princeton Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing