We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable lodging and very professional service”
Review of Inn at Glencairn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Glencairn
Ranked #1 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We also stayed in the Baldwin suite with our daughter. It was a very comfortable and spacious set-up for the 3 of us. The whole inn is very attractively decorated and spotlessly clean. Though the property is on a relatively busy road, it is set back away enough from the street to remain pleasantly quiet inside the building. Thus it is easy to get to, but one isn't bothered by the traffic. (The Princeton University campus is very accessible.)

We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast, beautifully and attentively served by Bob. Bob was also very helpful in securing dinner reservations for us. We would definitely return and recommend this to friends and family.

I would add that this was the most attractive of 4 comparable properties that we visited on the same trip.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2007

An exceptional B and B. Bob, the innkeeper, was welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are historically maintained and beautifully decorated. The Inn is exceptionally clean. Upon return to our room the first night, we were surprised to find our clothes neatly folded and our luggage up on luggage racks. The breakfasts are artfully prepared. We have already booked our return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This was our first experience at staying at small inns and we just loved it. We traveled with our 20 year old daughter who had her own room connected through a stairway to our room (the suite) which had a seperate sleeping room for our son 16. The rooms were great, amenities great, even plasma screen TVs for my husband! Bob the Innkeeper was friendly and informative, but the best part is he made the most delicious breakfasts ever!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This is my first review and I'm happy to write it. The Inn is wonderful in every way - lovely rooms, personable and informative innkeeper who happens to be an excellent cook & host! Incredibly delicious breakfast. Excellent location. Interesting history. Just can't say enough about it. Book it and enjoy!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank Relaxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Who would have thought that a couple of southern Californians caught in the worst snowstorm of the winter during a five-day stay at the Inn at Glencairn while visiting dear friends could actually find themselves longing for just a few more days and a few more breakfasts? We chose the Inn for its convenient location and late-18th C. charm and were not disappointed. To be able to appreciate the beauty of the carved wooden paneling in our room and while breakfasting (well) in the dining room was a particular pleasure and conversation with other guests around the table bounced along. Views of other old buildings and woods are lovely. The owner and innkeeper thoughtfully combine forces to create an atmosphere that is at once comfortable, tasteful and dignified, that anticipates needs and accommodates reasonable requests. The Inn tempts us to take up a bi-coastal life--but hold the snowstorms, please.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank apprehending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our wedding and had an absolutely wonderful time. Bob and the owner were both quite friendly and helpful. I only wish that we could have spent more time there and would gladly return for an anniversary trip or romantic getaway. The house and grounds are delightful, especially in the springtime, and I loved the architectural touches, blending original and modern features tastefully.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank chellfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

My husband and I had a superb overnight stay at this beautiful historic country home quietly tucked away just minutes from downtown Princeton. Upon entering the premises, we were warmly greeted by Innkeeper, Bob Riggs who made us feel quite at home. Our room, the Hunt Room, was beautifully appointed with antiques and a sumptuously comfortable king bed. The Inn offers an elegant, yet warm atmosphere and the owner has given much care to all the details . In the morning, we were served a delicious gourmet breakfast prepared by Bob and enjoyed the company of three other couples at the dining table. We couldn't have had a more pleasant and relaxing stay. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It is first-rate. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerSkillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.7 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
596 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
866 reviews
6.5 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Glencairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glencairn

Address: 3301 Lawrenceville Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-4719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range: $214 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Glencairn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Glencairn is a bed and breakfast in a fully renovated 1736 Georgian manor on nearly three acres of park-like setting. Guests will enjoy the unique historic setting while being pampered with many modern amenities including updated en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses, individual heat controls, flat screen televisions, and wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the manor. Many guest rooms feature four poster beds, antique dressers and armoires, and 18th century woodwork. The Inn at Glencairn is located just three miles south of Princeton University, Princeton University Art Museum, and McCarter Theatre. Also less than 10 miles away is the world renowned Grounds for Sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Glencairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Glencairn Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing