We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn at Glencarin - Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Glencairn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Glencairn
Ranked #1 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inn at Glencarin - Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I just returned from a two night stay at the Inn at Glencairn , [--], Princeton, NJ. It is a 1736 Georgian manor Bed and Breakfast that is just out side of Princeton. What a unique place to stay. We enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of the resident manager, Bob Riggs. When we arrived, he showed us around the house and told us about the history of the home. We were offered complimentary refreshments with wine and cheese. The room had a feather bed on top of the mattress with over stuffed comforter. Very warm and toasty! On the property there was a stone smoke house and an old stone stable with a stone fence line out lining property, absolutely breath taking. Mr. Riggs also provided us excellent information and directions to places to visit in Princeston while we were there. The best part was the gourmet breakfast with freshly made croissants each morning. YUM!! They are the best crossiants I ever ate!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shorttripbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
103
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Reservation started off on the wrong foot. We booked a room through Expedia ($50 lower than their website). We e-mailed requesting a room with a King bed, but they said they would not guarantee it unless we paid $50 (it was $10 more on their website). Whatever. If you don't want you guests booking indirectly, don't make your rooms available through partner sites.

The Inn is pretty nice, with comfortable rooms and nice amenities. We were visiting the University, and it is not a far drive away. The egg bake breakfast was nice but nothing special. The Inn itself is on a large plot of land, and it was interesting to hear the historical aspects of the place. There was also a newspaper article about ghosts at B&Bs, and Glencairn was featured. Fairly unremarkable experience, but a nice alternative to the overpriced options in Princeton.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esbelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Our room was lovely, including a canopy bed with sumptuous mattress and comforter. The private bathroom was spacious and modern and stocked with luxurious bath products. The afternoon sampling of wine and cheese was a perfect welcome when we arrived, and the breakfast in the morning was glorious. Baked goods hot out of the oven filled the house with an inviting aroma, and the accompanying fresh fruit, eggs and meats all tasted fabulous. I enjoyed exploring the common rooms of the historic house, reading its history and wandering the grounds admiring the floral beauties. Everything was presided over by our very gracious host. Added bonus - dinner at the Underground Cafe (Eastern European fare) and treats from the House of Cupcakes in nearby Princeton.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We enjoyed our time in a lovely Inn...we did have a problem with the air in our room but we were given a lovely bottle of wine to make up for the problem...it was over 80 in our room all night so to rate the sleep and comfort level would be hard.I think the Inn has many things going for it...however I pick B&B's all over and have stayed in some of the best...this Inn I feel lacks the little touches that could rase the standard....it needs a womans hand in the details really and the morning meals need to be served hot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calvin1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the IAG in August 2007. We then went back to the inn in February 2009 for a weekend away. We are going back to the inn in August 2010.

Although we are from northern New Jersey, we love visiting Princeton because it feels like we are away from home. The inn is fantastic. We have stayed in various inns across the country and we just love IAG.

Bob is a great host and makes everyone feel comfortable. During our last visit we took a cooking class arranged by Bob and for our next visit, we are planning a trip to a Princeton spa, also arranged by Bob. He is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

The inn is very clean, the breakfasts are delicious and the location is perfect. There are wineries, charming towns and fine restaurants to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROMAL06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed is the two bedroom suite. The layout was perfect and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional and Bob made us feel right at home. We're planning a second trip to the area and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki555_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed with my teenage son in the room that has two separate bed areas on the top floor. The room gave us enough privacy even though it is not two completely separate rooms. It was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The house is a really nice, character property with an interesting history. Bob, who runs the property, is charming and very helpful.

The communal breakfast table meant we got to chat to a few other guests and I liked that.

My one and only very slight criticism is that the property is on a main road and there is some road noise as quite a few trucks seem to pass by (even at 5am in the morning, I noted). However it did not really bother me and you would have to be very sensitive to noise for it to really trouble you.

Overall, this is a very nice place to stay and it is only a few minutes to drive into Princeton from here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritinSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.7 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Glencairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glencairn

Property: Inn at Glencairn
Address: 3301 Lawrenceville Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-4719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Glencairn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Glencairn is a bed and breakfast in a fully renovated 1736 Georgian manor on nearly three acres of park-like setting. Guests will enjoy the unique historic setting while being pampered with many modern amenities including updated en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses, individual heat controls, flat screen televisions, and wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the manor. Many guest rooms feature four poster beds, antique dressers and armoires, and 18th century woodwork. The Inn at Glencairn is located just three miles south of Princeton University, Princeton University Art Museum, and McCarter Theatre. Also less than 10 miles away is the world renowned Grounds for Sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Glencairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Glencairn Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing