We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast and jolly nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Glencairn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Glencairn
Ranked #1 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and jolly nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was a last-minute trip -- I just missed the online booking window from another site, but thought the reviews good enough that it might be worth phoning for a room directly. I swung down to pick up the key late-ish, en route to another appointment, and when told about breakfast, I made a gentle passing comment about a dietary restriction. We got back late, had a super sleep on a nice bed in a bright and airy room and went down to breakfast. There'd been a bunch of cancellations due to a storm coming up the coast, but we we given a super breakfast which suited the dietary restrictions nicely (and that was mere hours after they'd been informed! We were really impressed. (It's hard to complain about a nicely presented and super tasting cheese soufflé as part of the breakfast :) ... and the host was charming without being intrusive.)

Certainly a place to consider again for any return trips to the Princeton area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
103
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at this inn several times during the three years my son went to graduate school. We tried a couple of other properties, initially, but there isn't really a great selection of quality places here. Once we stayed at the Inn, we never went anywhere else. In fact, on our final visit for my son's wedding, we rented the whole house for our family for the wedding. You can see some of the pictures in this review. Bob made us feel at home from the beginning. We really can't say enough good things about all our experiences here. Breakfast is always great and its nice to meet the other people staying at the Inn. Bob makes everyone feel welcome and facilitates introductions. I love the daily chocolate chip cookies and wine along with being able to read the NYT in the beautiful sitting room *see picture". I don't usually do reviews, but I felt compelled to do this one because we used Bob's recipes for stuffed french toast and smoothies at a bridal shower we hosted today and it was a big hit. It reminded me that I needed to say thanks to Bob and the owner of the Inn at Glencairn. The history and beauty of the home, the people we met while staying there along with Bob's great hosting skills have truly given us a set of experiences that enriched our lives over time. You don't often get to say that about a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask the Innkeeper to tell you about the rooms and choose the one that fits you best. All are very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgkimcbsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location for a visit to a nearby Princeton. The Inn is a charming historic property in a park like surroundings. The house is tastefully furnished and represents artwork from local artists with a friendly innkeeper to great you. We had a nice size room with an adjacent spacious bathroom.The bedroom windows were adorned with a crocheted pair of curtains but no draperies or blinds for those who get away from home to get a good nights sleep... We improvised with bed sheets that helped somewhat... The breakfast experience is totally forgettable, if you prefer to eat healthy wholesome food. Since I enjoy pampering my family with home cooked breakfast, this was not a place to learn something new... No choices of home baked goods, yogurt, granola, eggs, cheese, juice. We did enjoy the strawberry banana shake, but not the limp sad croissants... Clearly the Inn would benefit greatly by having a more enthusiastic person in the kitchen ... and the smell in the house - all my clothes still smell....

overall an OK place if you adjust your expectations....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arturas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, Owner at Inn at Glencairn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Inn at Glencairn. I am happy that you found the location great and the Inn charming and tastefully decorated with a nice sized room and spacious bathroom. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was not what you had expected. We typically serve a fruit/yogurt smoothie, a hot entrée typically with a baked good and fresh fruit. I do apologize if this is not what you received. Also, I am surprised to hear that there was a smell at the Inn. We use Shaklee and Seventh Generation products for laundry and cleaning because they are fragrance free and hypoallergenic. We endeavor to give our guests an exceptional experience in our beautiful, historic Inn. Occasionally we find we could have done something better. We take every review seriously and will take measures to ensure that your comments are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spacious and comfortable accommodation in a lovely old house with the most beautiful furniture and interesting paintings; delicious and substantial breakfasts and friendly and hospitable service. An ideal place to stay when visiting Princeton. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very nice B&B in a convenient location (5min drive) for a visit to Princeton University campus. Superbly renovated old house, with great public areas. Large room with comfortable beds and ample and well-equipped bathroom, large shower. Friendly and welcoming hosts, very helpful when ever required.
Only negative point might be a busy road close by - did not affect us much, as our room was overlooking the back garden.
Would go there anytime again for a next visit to Princeton.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyovereuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. The Inn at Glenclairn is beautiful. It is charming and very well kept. The owner is helpful, and breakfasts are exquisite. A great luxury B and B!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdbrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Recently traveled to the area on business and selected this B&B after found on google map website. I travel often for business and try to experience a little bit of the local culture wherever I go. This was an excellent choice.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and had the amenities needed for business travel. The innkeeper was a perfect fit for the Inn and had so much knowledge of the home and the area to share. He helped us with every question -- and cooked a wonderful breakfast to boot!
I would recommend this for any traveler - business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshaw1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.7 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Glencairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glencairn

Property: Inn at Glencairn
Address: 3301 Lawrenceville Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-4719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Glencairn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Glencairn is a bed and breakfast in a fully renovated 1736 Georgian manor on nearly three acres of park-like setting. Guests will enjoy the unique historic setting while being pampered with many modern amenities including updated en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses, individual heat controls, flat screen televisions, and wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the manor. Many guest rooms feature four poster beds, antique dressers and armoires, and 18th century woodwork. The Inn at Glencairn is located just three miles south of Princeton University, Princeton University Art Museum, and McCarter Theatre. Also less than 10 miles away is the world renowned Grounds for Sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Glencairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Glencairn Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing