We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was delicious”
Review of Masala Grill - CLOSED

Masala Grill
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everything was delicious”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Masala Grill in Princeton was enjoyable in every way- the food, the server, and the atmosphere. The Mulligatawny soup was especially fabulous as was the chicken dish we had- but can't remember the name- it was grilled with mint. We also had the biryanis and breads- and the portions were generous enough to take some home. The server was helpful and friendly. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“We were hoping for more...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had heard that Masala Grill had the best Indian food in town so we tried it on a Sunday night. The staff were very friendly but the interior of the restaurant was very basic (cafeteria decor saved by dim lighting). The food and service were below par. Understanding that it was BYOB, we brought in our own bottles of cider which we put on the table. No offer was made to bring a bottle opener so I finally asked and received just that. No glasses were forthcoming so we drank out of the bottles. The menu looked promising but our sampler starter plate was very disappointing - everything seemed to have been dumped in the same fry vat and nothing seemed fresh or tasted distinctive. Our main courses were ok but again seemed to lack pizazz. As we came on the late side (they had accepted our reservation for 8 p.m.) I couldn't help but feel that we were getting what had been in the kitchen all day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Jacking up Prices is allowed only when you have...(read on)”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

NJ has thousands of Indian restaurants..perhaps more than an average mid size Indian city and thus you are always spoilt for choice when you crave for some nice indian food (which is more often than not) but only a handful of places in NJ serve the real indian (if you will), the rest are just your typical run-of-the-mill places and this even though promised a lot with its location and name, but I feel unfortunate to say it falls in that category as well.
To begin with, location is perfect, just off Nassau St. in this pristine beautiful downtown area of Princeton and name as I mentioned isnt your atypical Indian either like Bombay Palace, India Palace etc. But as soon as you enter the place, it feels disappointing. The interiors are nothing to call home about, infact theres touch of pink all over and Indian restaurants let me tell you just dont well with pink at all (btw can any restaurant have pink, I doubt??) and as soon as you take a seat, mine overlooked the host's table/desk and I could see zillions of wires left open (now thats a strict no-no again for a commercial place and these were visible to the customers). After the disappointing interiors comes the disappointing food. I ordered Butter chicken and Malai Kofta and none of the dishes were even close to what they really are. The breads were even worse - the lachha had cilantro in it which is nice but u first need to make a lacchha and then if u want to add cilantro, pls do so but to have a plain vanilla prantha with some cilantro is nto what you call lachha. Similarly, butter naan is supposed to have dollops of butter on it (and thus the name) but ours was a cut dry naan with a brief sprinkle of butter. Of course, thanks to NJ laws, theres no bar so its BYOB.
Everything else is ok if you have prices in comparison with the 10349 other Indian restaurants in the vicinity. When rest of NJ is charging 12 bucks for an entree, what justifies 17 for this place is truly beyond my knowledge.
Overall, pls avoid this place and pls kindly avoid the other 2 Indian joints in Princeton too as they are there just for sake. They have such great advantage in terms of location but they are not able to leverage it at all. Pls instead drive either to Plainsboro - Indian Hut or Crowne of India or 10 minutes out to Rte. 1 to Chutney Mary - Rt 1 S in Monmouth Junction and you will have what is close to the great cuisine India is so proud of.
My advice to the owners is to give a brief touch up to the whole place, get the wires fixed up and pls give a second look to the prices or else pls justify why you are charging 17 bucks for an entree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer-nammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Buffet”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We tried the buffet service here. They had excellent food. The pudding and carrot halwa were excellent. We got talking to the owner and she was very friendly.

Good food and not very expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food - Place in Need of Renovation Badly”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Since one of the other Indian restuarants closed on the north side of Nassau street, Masala is one of the few options left in town for good Indian cuisine. The food is good enough, but we prefer take-out because the restaurant has not been renovated in some time - at least it looks that way - and it has a very shabby appearance. This is odd since the building is one of the more prestige locations in town. It crossed my mind that perhaps the lease is near to expiration and the owners of Masala do not want to invest in sprucing the place up unless they know they will be there for a while - BUT that is just my speculation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing