We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Ice Cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halo Pub

Halo Pub
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exquisite Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It was below freezing outside but Halo ice cream was what we needed to warm us up. Homemade, sourced from local farms, there are an assortment of flavors and none too sweet to spoil your appetite for more. We had peach, coffee, black cherry, strawberry, lemon, strawberry chocolate chip and other flavors. Peach is unique. The selection of cakes offered at the connected cake shop is average though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    41
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Ice cream.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great Prices, Great ice cream, quick service, easy location. What more can you ask for. a wide assortment of ice cream - both soft and hard. They serve coffee if you need one. There is limited seating inside and some benches outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ice cream that I would drive miles to get. Try any flavor and you will agree. Over sized scoops with crisp cones make this a great place to get ice cream. I just wish they would spruce up the old building and try to clean up the inside a touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drknish732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Halo Pub is a Princeton classic. The building is old, with some features of an old ice cream parlour, especially on the 'bakery' side (all ice cream, of course). There's something special about sitting in a booth with a granite table.

Alas, I'm allergic to eggs and their ice cream is almost always made with egg. I stick to the soft serve or their chocolate covered strawberries.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoogleAGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
265 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This gem has been serving ice cream and coffee for years at great prices and generous portions. We try to stop each time that we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Pub also viewed

 

Been to Halo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing