We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great ice cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Pub

Halo Pub
Ranked #1 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
214 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This gem has been serving ice cream and coffee for years at great prices and generous portions. We try to stop each time that we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    41
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very busy and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A nice little place that is a great ice cream parlor and coffee place. The line can be far out the door during peak times and well into early evening. The place is open kinda late to allow for the lines to calm down and everyone to get a scoop. The price is nice and the selection is vast and the service is friendly and top notch. I loved being able to stop at this little place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoodedChiWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashua nh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In a town of fancy ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In a world of unusual flavors, they could do better. When it gets busy, which it is most of the time, it gets filthy, and the young staff gets a bit snarky. The tables and counters a coated with the light sticky grime of many big and little ice cream hands. Management seems absent, especially in the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hardworkingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ice cream not the best (though fine); values and atmosphere first-rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really believe in the owner's mission of providing an inexpensive venue for families without the means for Bent Spoon. The owner actually farms and processes his own semi-organic dairy; the quality is wonderful for what it is: mid-range ice cream and excellent espresso for very little money. If Princeton offered a Nobel Prize for local restauranteurs, Halo Pub's owner would win it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrakeBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
2 reviews
“fabulous ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped in Halo Pub for some ice cream and were treated to some of the best ice cream I've ever had (and my grandparents made ice cream every summertime) My kids chose the creme de menthe chocolate chip and the vanilla heath bar. They loved it. I chose the lemon cream sorbet. Amazing! Packed with lemon flavor, not too sweet, not too sour and very creamy! They have a wide variety of flavors, one to suit just about everyone. The serving sizes were just right and the lady who served us was patient with my kiddos as they took a long time to decide on their flavor. Will be back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soccermom2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Pub also viewed

 

Been to Halo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing