We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood is always fresh - never fishy tasting (or smelly)”
Review of Blue Point Grill

Blue Point Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Point Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 196 Restaurants in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pine St.
Description: Fresh & simply prepared seafood served in a casual atmosphere with a gorgeous patio for warm weather dining.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood is always fresh - never fishy tasting (or smelly)”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The prices are reasonable and with BYOB, you can't beat it for a nice night out that's not too stuffy. The restaurant can be crowded and loud, but with food so good, I find that I don't mind one bit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAM07488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    226
    41
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inman, SC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Went to Blue Point Grill on a Monday night and it was packed. Reason for the crowd: good service and great food. I had the mixed grill with snapper and sea bass with mashed sweet potatoes. Scallop appetizer was also great. Two of us ate for around $120.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChDoBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gotta Love Fish”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

There is a large selection of fish some I never heard of. I had the halibut and my partner had the chilean sea bass, both grilled and butter and capers had sweet pot and baked pot both very good. The Key lime pie was heavy and not good. The atmosphere was a little noisy due to the high ceilings and wood floors, but like the kind of place. The restrooms were untidy and smelled of urine. The service was pleasant and quick. It keeps the cost down since its BYOB!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tollybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Review from 20+ years as a restaurant insider”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The majority of the reviews are "spot-on". The seafood - and that is what you should be ordering here - is excellent. The seafood is very well prepared, delicious, with relatively simple seasonings and sauces. We have dined here many times and BPG is the best for seafood in the majority of the state (New Jersey). You can only do better if you traveled to NYC or Philly - but the prices would be higher and you would have to deal with the hassle, etc. of traveling into either city. Dining earlier in the evening and avoiding Friday and Saturday will reduce the high noise level and high traffic within the venue. BYOB is a huge plus (and no corkage fee), especially when you are enjoying a high-end Napa Chardonnay (that most restaurants would charge at least $65 for). With more than 20 years of experience in the industry - I am currently working for a high-end seafood restaurant in the South - I could nitpick about the service (could be more polished and professional for the price points of the menu). Who cares ! - You are coming for the outstanding seafood - do not miss BPG - unless you can not deal with seafood !! BTW - on this visit we ordered Buffalo Calamari, RI Oysters, Sauteed Mussels in a Creamy Dijon Saute, and the whole Grilled Bronzini - All were very good - we have had most of the fish on the menu, on one occasion or another.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UtahPow4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious seafood”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A group of 6 went on a Monday night to celebrate another year of friendship. Surprised at how busy the restaurant was. The menu had many choices of fish but was a bit limited for our one vegetarian friend who had a choice of butternut squash soup and butternut squash ravioli or house salad. For the rest of us who ate fish, everyone was satisfied with their choices which included scallops, tuna, tilapia, crab cakes and a meaty white fish none of us had ever heard of before. The service was efficient. The noise level was high which made conversation difficult. It was definitely a delicious meal but not suitable for lingering and enjoying the company of friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Point Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Point Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing