We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good location and value, basic/functional free breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Princeton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, good location and value, basic/functional free breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel was a traditional Hampton Inn. Clean rooms. The breakfast buffet was small and basic (pre-made mini omelets, yogurt, cereal, toast, make your own waffles, juice, coffee, etc.). There was a large wedding party that descended on the breakfast room all at once and the two ladies tending to the dining area did a good job replenishing the food and beverages and cleaning up after everyone. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. Their 'business center' is a computer next to the front door, so not optimal if you need a quiet, private space to work. However, they offered free wifi with decent speed so it's easy enough to work in your room if you have your own tablet or laptop. They are within a 10 minute drive to Princeton University and the downtown area, so the location was terrific. If you don't mind the basic/functional breakfast, this is a great option and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    192
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
257
119
46
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable and quiet this place is.
The breakfast is typical of all Hampton Inns, but this place offers a free dinner M-F.
While I wasn't able to try the dinner, that was a surprise.
The staff was mostly friendly.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: As with all hotel, ensure you're a member of their reward/loyalty program
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrI-tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have traveled allot for work and have stayed in many hotels. This was my first time staying at The Hampton. This Hotel is Awesome clean Hotel. Staff was kind helpful Wonderful! I will be staying at the Hampton in again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This Hampton was like all others. Nice and clean, nice breakfast, good value, decent-sized newer rooms, and friendly staff.

This particular one had an odd furniture arrangement, as the big chair/ottoman kind of blocked access to the A/C control. And although the sink area in the bathroom was separate from the tub/shower-toilet area (always nice), the latter did not have any plugs in it. I take one of those green-glow nightlights when I travel so I don't have to turn on a light if I need to use the bathroom at night, but with no plug, I had to leave the door open, potentially waking my wife when the toilet flushed. That's just a minor design complaint, though.

Just a few restaurants open late near the hotel. The one at the Doubletree (I think) next door, and some kind of chain bar/restaurant (Applebee's? Fridays?) down the road.

Green Features: As I recall, they had a little sign on the bed saying sheets would not be changed during a guest's stay unless requested, and that you could leave linens on the racks if they didn't need to be washed. I think the sign also said something about their green laundry practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here with one of my kids for early morning swim meets at the university. The room was nice and comfortable, however, the control panel to the air conditioner didn't work. It was quite noisy and would go on and off every several minutes, so we just unplugged it which was fine for Friday night. We could hear the drumming of the showers above us quite clearly then hile trying to sleep, so I would try to get a room on the top floor to skip that experience. On Saturday night there were kids running through the hallways playing catch until 9:30pm. Guessing their parents were the ones drinking and swearing pool side out our window until midnight. I didn't imagine when we saw all these people with 6 or 7 coolers partying by the pool when we came in from dinner that the hotel would let this noisy party continue until midnight. I finally called to complain to the front desk at 11pm, but this group continued until I'm assuming the staff told them to go to their room at midnight, because that is exactly when it finally got quiet. Unfortunately, we stayed there to sleep and had to get up at 5:30 am, so I'm really not happy this was allowed to go on. I would have asked for a room change to one that does not overlook the pool area. Not happy that the staff allowed this to go on past 10 pm. The next morning I heard the exact same thing went on at The Westin, loud parents drinking poolside until very late with their children running and playing in the hallways. The staff needs to reign in these inconsiderate guests for the sake of the rest of us.

Room Tip: Top floor, not overlooking the pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2015
While many travelers that are staying for sporting events are very cordial and respectful of other travelers (like yourself, clearly), some of the traveling teams are not exactly what they appear to be on the surface. A few are more of a social (i.e. drinking) club for the adults which makes it very difficult for the staff of a select service hotel to stay on top of the situation due to the sheer number of those involved.

Whereas a Full-Service hotel (such as Westin) charges a lot of money to employ additional people to handle this type of guest better, the value pricing of Hampton must focus on a balance between cost and manpower. This usual works to the guests' benefit but, clearly, this instance was not one of those times. We start our requests for these guests to wind things down after 9pm, but some are insistent upon ignoring these requests. As we escalate the requests, they eventually comply (by 11-11:30pm, noisy guests face being evicted which was apparently what it took to quiet this particular group down on the night of your stay.)

As these groups are not extremely common in Princeton, your future stays with us will be much more pleasant, I am sure. We look forward to seeing you again.

Scott Fisher, CHA
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton - Princeton
Scott.Fisher2@Hilton.com
609-951-0066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

hotel was adequate for what was needed. Quick trip for business, had asked for something more along the lines of a suite and was told they didn't have one. Room across the hall was what I really needed, it was furnished more like a studio apt. Not enough room to work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Princeton, responded to this review, November 27, 2015
I am sorry that the room across the hall from you was not available during your stay. We only have ONE such room in the hotel and it is very popular and is booked on most nights.

That being said, our standard rooms have more square footage than the other hotels in the Princeton market (and a King bed plus a microwave, refrigerator, 46" HDTV, etc.). Only the Suites in the extended stay or full service hotels have any larger offerings.

We look forward to your next stay with us. Hopefully, room 128 is available on that stay for you to book.

Scott Fisher, CHA
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton - Princeton
Scott.Fisher2@Hilton.com
609-951-0066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Professional, kind and accommodating staff! Beautiful, clean and comfortable rooms. The complimentary dinner and breakfast were delicious and so convenient for someone new to the area and unfamiliar with Route 1. Definitely a place to come back to!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Princeton

Property: Hampton Inn Princeton
Address: 4385 US Highway 1, 4385 Brunswick Pike (for GPS), Princeton, NJ 08540-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
#2 Green Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Princeton features 110 of the largest guest rooms in the area. By far one of the best value priced hotels in the Central NJ/Princeton area. Stay and enjoy daily "On The House" complimentary full breakfast daily, Complimentary "On The Light Side" full dinner including soup, salads, beer, wine, soda and dessert (Monday-Thursday from 5PM-7PM). Besides that, we have complimentary local transportation, over 120 new channels, the fastest internet in Princeton, outdoor pool, fire place & bar and our brand new "Jump Start Fitness" room. See for yourself and you too will become a part of our genuine family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing