We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chauncey Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The grounds were beautiful... the trees were changing colors and were just amazing. The staff was very friendly, and despite some issues with our reservations (being sort of double booked? it was strange), everything worked out fine. They accommodated our request to have champagne and a gift bag delivered to the bride and groom's room during the wedding. My only small complaints are that all the meals in the dining room are buffets, and that the bar is only open for a limited time (they do serve food to order) and close if they aren't busy enough. That being said, the breakfast was great, and the bar did stay open after the wedding. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

Excellent hotel, nice, spacious rooms, scrumptious breakfast buffet, serenely set in the rolling hills of the ETS campus. But it's in the middle of nowhere, so really the only reasons to go are to do work for ETS or to get away from the world.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I was at Chauncey for 3 days as part of an ETS conference (ETS is on the grounds). The setting was beautiful, peaceful and a nice getaway from reality (even if I was "working" while I was there). The room was basic, but nicely appointed - bed was SUPER comfy. The toiletries in bathroom were fantastic. Everything was very clean. The accomodations reminds me of an upscale "lodge'. The outdoor pool was nice, serene...and a great, refreshing temperature. I ate in the dining room for every meal - it was buffet style (part of my business meeting), and the meals were very good. I always could find something I liked. Went to the bar once and service was good; bar food was average fare - which was perfect. The snacks for our business meeting were great - and never ending. Conference facilities were great as well. Also, i really liked how there were computers and printers set up all over the place for use of guests - free access. Very nice. There was also a free shuttle to use to go into Princeton. It just had to be reserved ahead of time. I used that twice - very easy, and Princeton is a great little town to visit. We also had some others in our group that chose to take the train from Princeton into NYC - an easy and cheap train ride on NJ transit - and takes just about an hour into Penn Station. I have another meeting in Feb and will be staying at Chauncey, and very much look forward to my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akersjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Wow. The hotel itself was good, but a walk through the forest in the grounds is the main reason for the high marks in this review. I went for a jog with the deer and wildlife and came across a very pretty river.

Bar staff went above and beyond in helping us after we missed dinner, and staff gave us access to the free laundry which was very nice. Breakfast was over very quickly, but this stay was worth repeating

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

From the minute I checked in with Ashley & Jeff I knew we were in a great place...superior customer service and a gorgeous room, very comfy bed and wonderful accessories and plush towels in the bathroom - not sure how much better it gets than this. We were very pleased with everything and free internet was certainly a bonus. It is only a few minutes away from downtown Princeton but I don't understand how so many people couldn't find it! Little more challenging at night but clearly indicated on the sign and little signs driving onto the grounds. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Pool, tennis courts & volleyball nets all set up....bring your sneakers!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluenoser17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampabby, General Manager at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2010

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us next time you are back to the Princeton area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Room was dirty when I checked in.
Ordered room service that took almost an hour to be delivered.
Service in the "restaurant" was hit or miss. Staff did not seem to want to wait on me wherever I was. There was no leadership or management present. Thought I saw a manager at one point but he ducked into kitchen before I could voice an opinion.
Buffett in morning was alright. Make sure to get there the moment they open at dinner otherwise food will be old and cold.
Bartender was the only pleasant person I encountered in the evenings.
"Gym" was sub par.
Overall, for the money, I would go somewhere else. Environment outside of hotel was nice. Good thing the staff wasn't in charge of that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undrearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampabby, General Manager at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your last stay. I greatly apologize for the poor experience that you had. This certainly is not the type of service that we are striving for each and every day. I will share your experience with my staff so that this type of experience doesnt' happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My goal was to not spend an arm and a leg just to visit for one evening in Princeton. I priced all the Princeton area hotels I could find on the Internet. Chancey Conference Center was not as expensive as the hotels along Route 1. I then went to TripAdvisor to read the reviews. Most reviews were positive but the few negatives were things like "secluded," "hard to find," or "didn't allow alcohol to be brought in." None of those was a negative to me so we gave it a try.
It would have been helpful to have a lighted sign at the entrance to the campus of the Chancey Conference Center, but thanks to the reviewers at TripAdvisor, I knew how to locate the place in the dark.
What I found pleasantly surprising is that the inn wasn't decorated in the regular blues and pinks and floral paintings that you find in most hotels. Instead I was greeted with earthtone colors, wood, stone, and leather. The furnishings reminded me of an Art Deco style. There were many comfortable lounging areas complete with a fire blazing in the fireplace. The gas fire looked so real that I had to inspect it up close to be sure. There were several comfortable nooks throughout where Internet stations were set up with printers. Starbucks coffee, Tazo tea, and fresh fruit was offered in the lobby.
The hotel staff was friendly and courteous.
OK. Great start. Now on to the room.
Our room was spacious with two queen beds with down pillows and comforters. A patio with furniture opened to a quiet area with a view of the pond and fountain. It was too cold for us to enjoy, though. The bathtub and tiles were sparkling clean. I wish I could get my bathroom to shine like that. The towels were large and fluffy and displayed with care. The shampoo, creams, etc. were of good quality. I liked that there was also a magnifying mirror set up in the bathroom.
Other reviews complained of noisy heaters. Not ours. It was the quietest night sleep I have had in ages. Wireless Internet connected immediately to my laptop.
The breakfast buffet was included in our price and was surprisingly good. There was a staff member to create fresh omelettes with a variety of ingredients available. My husband had his made with Egg Beaters. I enjoyed the lox and bagels, cavier, and fresh fruit. The regulars - scrambled eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, etc. was available but there was also Cream of Wheat, brown sugar, dried fruits, and nuts (to mention a few). A very nice server brought us coffee and fruit juice.
We plan on returning and staying longer the next time we visit the area. We did not get the opportunity to enjoy the running/biking trails, the large fitness room, pool or other amenities they have to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerBread05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
6.2 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
2.9 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#8 of 15 in Princeton
608 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#13 of 15 in Princeton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
491 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
875 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chauncey Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chauncey Conference Center

Address: 1 Chauncey Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-2239
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Princeton
#7 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $95 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chauncey Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Princeton, just three miles from Downtown, on the campus of ETS, Chauncey sits on 370 wooded acres midway between Philadelphia and New York City. Chauncey’s 100 newly renovated guest rooms feature flat screen HD TVs, iPod/iPad docking stations, down comforters, Keurig coffee makers, laptop safe, weekday delivery of USA Today, iron/ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet. The majority of our guest rooms offer a patio or balcony. Additional services at Chauncey include a 24-hour fitness center and nature trails, van service to and from downtown Princeton and ample on-site complimentary parking. Tantalize your taste buds by dining in the Solomon Room, offering classic American continental cuisine. Relax or gather in the new C Bar and enjoy light culinary fare or a cocktail (seasonal outdoor seating available). By advanced reservation, enjoy tea, savory tea sandwiches, assorted sweets, and fresh baked scones at our popular Afternoon Tea. Meeting rooms and event space are available to host your next social event or meeting. Off-site golf can be arranged.Note: Currently our Pool, Tennis and Volleyball courts are out of service.Companies and attractions close byEducational Testing Service (ETS)........On Campus Princeton- Educational Testing Service (ETS)........10 mi S (Ewing Campus)- Bristol Myers Squibb...............................3 mi E- Jasna Polana Country Club (TPC Course)...................1 mi E- Ground for Sculpture.............................10 mi SE- Johnson and Johnson..........................10 mi NW- Princeton University.................................3 mi N- Princeton Country Club...........................6.5 mi E- New Hope...............................................20 mi NW- Lawrenceville Academy........................2 mi S- McCarter Theater.....................................3 mi N- Rider University........................................2 mi S- Rutgers University.................................25 mi N- Trenton Thunder Baseball.................. 12 mi S- Washington Crossing Park.................10 mi SW**Currently we are in the final stages of our new pool and fitness center design and will be breaking ground to build this facility. We are projected to be completed by spring of 2014 with our Indoor/Outdoor facilty.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chauncey Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chauncey Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing