We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chauncey Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is located on the ETS grounds. GoogleMaps does have it on their map - so you can GPS it that way. There is no physical address to the hotel, but for all intent and purposes - you can use the address 670 Rosedale Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540 - while traveling down Rosedale Rd toward Carter Rd - it is a turn on the right before the junction with Carter Rd. The parking area is not a step away from the hotel, so you should first unload your luggage and then park the car. Upon entering - there is a certain smell when one enters the hotel. That smell I associate with old age hotels. The rooms themselves are very nice and have a modern/fashionable charm to them. However, the hallways give away the actual age of the establishment. The hotel has not been updated for some time. We did not make use of other amenities - so cannot comment on them. The room had water bottles inside - Fuji at $5 a bottle. The bed was not very comfortable. The sheets were clean, but felt heavy and unsettling on one's body. The bathroom was clean, it was stocked with shampoo, conditioner, etc.. The bathroom also had a generic Keurig coffee machine, however the coffee itself was sub-par. There was no fridge in the room, ergo keeping items like champagne and strawberries difficult. Our room had a balcony in it, which gave a very nice view of the campus grounds and their four fountains. There were two chairs on the balcony - but they looked uncomfortable - so we did not sit on them. The hotel staff was a mix of really nice and coarse. The room cost was roughly $140, which I believe to have been a bit much for the room. The price should be somewhere in the $100-$110 a night. The best thing about the hotel was the distance to Princenton University - about a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank krnbbkrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I just stayed at the chauncey conference center and had a horrible bed they gave me a murphy bed to sleep on and i was sleeping right on the floor. The rooms were noisy since the building is made of wood and the halls all creeked , the rooms were cold and when I turned the heat on it felt like I was in a wind tunnel. When I got back home I noticed they charged me 200.00 on my credit card for miss items what items I got nothing I called them and they told me it would take several days for the charge to be removed. I spoke to them 3 times and it was like talking to the wall I will never stay there again or neither should you. I spent one nite at the Hyatt and that was first class for the same money.

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarabli, General Manager at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Joe C:

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your most recent stay. Your feedback on what needs to improve are also very important to us. We are continuously working to provide excellent service and updates to our hotel. We have notified the appropriate staff to address the issues noted. We invite you to come back and see us again to experience what Chauncey is truly recognized for.

Sincerely,

Sara Blivaiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here night number one of six day tour of the Ivy League schools. Although property is under renovation very nice grounds. Upon check in at 3:00 pm I was greeted with excellent service. Services were explained with great detail. Dinner and breakfast are offered for an additional charge. We were anxious to get to Princeton University so we had our meals in town. Everything, including the grounds,was clean even with construction. Very quiet stay. Slept well. A Coffee maker was in the room. The bathroom was small but had all that we needed. Excellent value for what I paid less than $90. Will definitely consider this property on our next trip to Princeton.

Room Tip: Go with a second floor room if possible. View are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mataylor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormanPrincetonNJ, Guest Relations Manager at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear MaTaylor,

I want to thank you for your kind words and I am so happy that your stay was enjoyable. If in the future you will need reqirements to visit Princeton or the University please feel free to reah out to us and we will make sure that your request are met. Also if you would like to know what is happening at our property please like us on Facebook. We post several specials monthly for our property. We look forward to your possible return!!

Thank you,

Paul Lawton
Director of Rooms
Chauncey Hotel and Conference Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

On the grounds of the Educational Testing Center empire. Pleasant lakeside hotel. Large room, great bar with happy hour specials on food and Martinis. Good place to stay when your offspring is at/visits Princeton. Booked through hotwire, <$90!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormanPrincetonNJ, Guest Relations Manager at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Fstein,

Thank you so much for your review! We hope when you are in town the next time you choose to stay with us. Soon we will have a full indoor/outdoor pool and fitness center built and we have a little more for you to do here at the property. We will also be running more specials at the C Bar such as the one you experienced during your stay. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay. If you are interested in our upcoming specials and future functions you can also like us on Facebook.

Thank you,

Paul Lawton
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel several times for business. They have recently updated the entire hotel.

The bar is fabulous with lots of natural light and the common areas feel like a living room, very comfortable. The rooms are great and the bed is awesome. I love the K-cups coffee makers in the room and the fruit bowl in the lobby. The bar has a great wine selection and the food is fabulous. They have a new person in charge of the food, and you can tell the difference! So many little touches that make this hotel an exceptional value.

Probably one of the better features, besides all of the friendly people who work there, is the van service. On most days, you can schedule the van/shuttle to go into downtown Princeton. Having this service is what sets this hotel apart from others. In addition, Tullo, one of the drivers, is helpful with restaurant recommendations and area history. If you don't take the shuttle with Tullo, you are missing out!

I love this hotel because of the helpful people who work there and all the little extras. You can tell that the hotel has a great leader!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jc_scrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormanPrincetonNJ, Diector Of Rooms at Chauncey Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Please keep up to date with us on Facebook. We will be updating more space over the next month and we hope you come back to visit us!!

Thank you,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are nice, but perhaps a little dated. The staff is about average some friendlier than others. The wait staff at the wedding we attended was excellent though! The prices at the bar were outrageous.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestravelanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I took my wife and 1 1/2 year old to Sesame Place and Philadelphia. I was not happy with the prices or selection in the PA area so I used Priceline to get a hotel in the Princeton area. The reviews for this place aren't that great so I was expecting something bland.

Upon check-in, the clerk informed us they had upgraded us to stay in the Laura House. We loved it! It's an older, historic house with multiple guest rooms, each with its own bathroom. They placed a pack-n-play in there per our request. The house was perfect and had a large kitchen which we used to store our food in overnight, and an ice machine to fill up our cooler for the day. The only con was this house is quite a bit away from the parking lot so I pushed the luggage rack around quite a bit.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds very well kept. The rooms are out of date but a sign on site mentioned it would be closed July-October for a complete upgrade. We were very happy with our stay as it was 30-50 minutes away from our PA destinations and definitely worth the extra drive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattBrown81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
869 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#8 of 15 in Princeton
600 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
5.5 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chauncey Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chauncey Conference Center

Address: 1 Chauncey Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-2239
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Princeton
#7 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $104 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chauncey Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Princeton, just three miles from Downtown, on the campus of ETS, Chauncey sits on 370 wooded acres midway between Philadelphia and New York City. Chauncey’s 100 newly renovated guest rooms feature flat screen HD TVs, iPod/iPad docking stations, down comforters, Keurig coffee makers, laptop safe, weekday delivery of USA Today, iron/ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet. The majority of our guest rooms offer a patio or balcony. Additional services at Chauncey include a 24-hour fitness center and nature trails, van service to and from downtown Princeton and ample on-site complimentary parking. Tantalize your taste buds by dining in the Solomon Room, offering classic American continental cuisine. Relax or gather in the new C Bar and enjoy light culinary fare or a cocktail (seasonal outdoor seating available). By advanced reservation, enjoy tea, savory tea sandwiches, assorted sweets, and fresh baked scones at our popular Afternoon Tea. Meeting rooms and event space are available to host your next social event or meeting. Off-site golf can be arranged.Note: Currently our Pool, Tennis and Volleyball courts are out of service.Companies and attractions close byEducational Testing Service (ETS)........On Campus Princeton- Educational Testing Service (ETS)........10 mi S (Ewing Campus)- Bristol Myers Squibb...............................3 mi E- Jasna Polana Country Club (TPC Course)...................1 mi E- Ground for Sculpture.............................10 mi SE- Johnson and Johnson..........................10 mi NW- Princeton University.................................3 mi N- Princeton Country Club...........................6.5 mi E- New Hope...............................................20 mi NW- Lawrenceville Academy........................2 mi S- McCarter Theater.....................................3 mi N- Rider University........................................2 mi S- Rutgers University.................................25 mi N- Trenton Thunder Baseball.................. 12 mi S- Washington Crossing Park.................10 mi SW**Currently we are in the final stages of our new pool and fitness center design and will be breaking ground to build this facility. We are projected to be completed by spring of 2014 with our Indoor/Outdoor facilty.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chauncey Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chauncey Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing