We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable stay close to the University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable stay close to the University”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. The room (we expected a room, but later realized it is a full suite with two bedrooms and a kitchenette including a microwave) was clean and comfortable. It is easily accessible from route 1 and close to the University. This is not a luxury hotel, but for the price you pay, it is a good deal. Will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPUAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear MPUAM, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next travels to the Princeton area. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    162
    43
    23
    28
See reviews for
328
81
22
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kittanning, PA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for the second time for Princeton freshmen parent's weekend. Once again, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a 2-bedroom suite (didn't even ask for it)! Once again, the suite was clean, comfy and roomy. Once again, breakfast was good and plentiful. We did have an issue with noise from our upstairs neighbors one morning - it sounded like they were playing soccer up there. I just happened to be in the lobby that evening when Irene asked how my room was and I mentioned the noise. She promptly picked up the phone, called our upstairs neighbors, and diplomatically asked them to keep the noise down. The next morning was much better! I was disappointed, however, to discover that the hot tub is down for renovations. I don't know if their website mentions this as I booked through Hotwire, but apparently it is going to be out of order for quite some time. I couldn't complain too much, though, as we got the place for $77 a night and every place else in the area was well over $100. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Beckybunny, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our jacuzzi room is being renovated to become our new exercise room which will be completed in 2014. We hope to see you again on your next travels to the Princeton area. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Located on US1, ideal if you have things to do with princeton university or buisness in the area . 30 minutes from Six Flags great adventure and an hour and a half approx from NY JFK airport.
The complementary breakfast was excellentand, the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The rooms were well laid out and included kitchen and living area.
A good selection of shopping malls and restaurants within 5 minutes and approx 45 minutes to Jersey Gardens shopping outlet
I didnt leave a rating for kids activities or restaurant as we did not take advantage of those facilities. there is a pool and a small basketball area and depending on the evening there are different complementary meals on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TREV0R2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear TREVOR2013, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your Family. We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you come to the Princeton area. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent Stay in this hotel. Suites are spacious and well-fitted,cozy to give a feeling of home away from home. Very functional and well equipped kitchen for people intending longer stays and self-catering. The hotel's daily hot breakfast is something to look forward to everyday and the light dinner on 4 weekdays very helpful. The property opens onto meadows and fields at the back, a special treat for anyone who is city-bred and enjoys the wide open outdoorsy feeling. The renovations to the property are very well managed and do not inconvenience the residents in any way ! In fact the smiling friendly faces of the contractors undertaking renovations merges very well with the bonhomie that the staff of Sonesta exude !! Special mention here of Claudette who made me feel welcome and at-home when I first arrived lat one evening after a 24hour flight into New York.
The only drawback that I saw was the furniture and fixtures in the suites were a little dated although clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear mzray, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments with regards to Claudette and our construction crew. We hope to see you again soon. Make it a great day. Marcel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A hotel employee from another hotel referred me to Sonesta. I was not familiar with the brand but went to see the hotel based on the referral. The manager was professional, gracious and accomodating to our extended stay needs. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised to find the suite comfortable with all the necessary ammenities. On one occassion when I mentioned to Claudette, at the front desk, that the microwave was taking a long time to heat food, management replaced it with a new microwave the same day. That's just an example of the level of service the Manager told me to expect when we registered. The staff, whether cleaning the suite or maintenance checking the phone lines, was helpful and quick to respond. Thanks sooo much to Claudette, Irene and Adol. A special thanks to Jose for assisting me on the day we checked out. I left my luggage on the deck outside my suite to run down and checkout. As Jose, an employee, walked by my luggage, I simply said I am leaving my things here until I check out. I will be back to get them. As I was walking back to gather my luggage after checking out, I saw that Jose was bringing down the last of my luggage without even being asked! I was very grateful because it was so heavy and because I had not asked him to help. Yes, I am glad we stayed there and yes, I have previously stayed at other hotels in Princeton. Sonesta, however, is the one I will refer to anyone asking for a great experience. Thanks Sonesta!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Anita L, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, I know they will be thrilled to hear that you mentioned them by name. We hope to see you again soon. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

On our way from Six Flags to New York we decided to stay on night in Princeton. We booked this hotel, not expecting much.
To our great surprise, this was the best hotel we had during our two week vacation in the States.
We are a family of five: parents plus three grown up boys.
The suite included two bedrooms: one for the parents and the other with two queen beds for the boys.In addition there was a living room and a fully equipped kitchen.
All rooms had a TV and free WIFI.
The breakfast served was excellent, lots of choices.
We enjoyed the hotel very much and wished we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilaGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear GilaGil, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that the two bedroom suite provided a great accomodation for you and your Family, We hope to see you again soon. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My business partner and I were staying in one of the suites. (one of the rooms with a queen size bed and pull out couch bed.) Claudette noticed this and immediately gave us a room with 2 beds instead of just the one. This is one of the best hotel experiences I have had, unlike some of the other hotel chains out there (La Quinta! Garbage!!) This Sonesta ES was great! Give that Claudette gal a raise!!

Room Tip: Get a room with 2 suites and you get 2 bathrooms as well! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Justin J, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate you mentioning Claudette by name and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswic...
#2 of 6 in Monmouth Junction
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Princeton

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Address: 4375 US Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#3 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service. The newly renovated hotel is easily accessible from the NJ Turnpike, Garden State Pkwy, I-95, I-295 and Princeton Junction train station. Sonesta ES Suites Princeton is just minutes away from Historic Princeton University and corporate offices. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious one and two bedroom suites-complete with living room and full kitchen. Dedicated work areas with free high-speed Internet access add to your productivity, and private bedrooms with phones and televisions add to your relaxation. The complimentary daily breakfast buffet features hot items, and our evening reception (featuring a light meal with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of local restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. When it's time to unwind, relax in the courtyard near our outdoor pool, workout in our fitness room, or shoot hoops on our Sport Court. Sightseeing opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Princeton University and shopping, within a 1 hour drive to Philadelphia and New York, Six Flags and the Jersey Shore, and 2 hours to Atlantic City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing