We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty and uncomfortable”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am VERY unhappy about our experience with this hotel. The room was tidy, but upon close inspection, there was food left on the counters, the toilet wasn't flushed, and there was hair on the floor. The mattress on one of the beds had springs poking up through it, and my son who can sleep on the kitchen floor complained all night about how uncomfortable he was. I ended up putting him on the floor on couch cushions because the front desk claimed to not have any extra comforters to put on top of the mattress.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Tiffany D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I was a bit surprised to hear about your mattress discomfort as we have pillow top mattresses. We are scheduled for a complete interior renovation starting December 2013 so I am hoping you will give us and our new mattresses another try next year. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    161
    42
    22
    28
See reviews for
319
81
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice. Our room was not ready at check-in time, which was booked a month in advance. People in our party who booked days before checked in before we could.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Pam G, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your check in comments, usually check in is after 4PM but if we can accomodate you earlier we will do so. Please keep in mind that the room type and any special requests like location and floor preference can play a role as well. The date of the actual booking does not influence the check in process however. We are looking forward to your return to the Princeton area. Make it a great day! Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the Sonesta suites for one night before heading into NYC. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, and the service was quick and efficient.

My suite was very clean, well equiped and offered everything that I needed, including wifi and breakfast. It also features a pool, and is close to Princeton town.

Worth a stay, as it is affordable and very family friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SATraveller25, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Make it a great day! Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent service. Large rooms perfect for a family. Pool was impeccably clean. Laundry facilities great. Front desk service one of a kind. It's not brand new, but it met our standards for an A plus visit. We would not only recommend, but we will be back. Also, five minutes to Princeton which we liked. Sometimes you hear a little background noise from the traffic at rush hour. The staff really goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We preferred the second floor with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Christopher A, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the kind words and are glad that you and your Family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when you return to the Princeton area. Make it a great day! Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What is it: a very friendly, well-run place that has been recently acquired and is going through a major renovation. While everything was clean, there was a fair amount of disrepair. But the are hard at work fixing things up. I hope it doesn't lose its charm.

Buffet breakfast is included. While not the most extensive, it was a lot better than the typical breakfast included in limited service properties. And what they did have was good.

They are dog friendly. Especially so in that there were plenty of places to walk dogs, with waste receptacles nearby, and the grounds were clean and free of things that a "hoover-dog" would ingest.

Very nice stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SomeAdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear SamAdo, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time as a senior contributor to write about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we are looking forward to seeing you upon your return to the Princeton area. Make it a great day! Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visiting my daughter and her husband in Plainsboro, NJ. I wanted a hotel closeby
and went on Priceline for a bargain. I started bidding on a 4 star hotel and ended up getting a 3 star. I wasn't expecting alot. We arrived at the Sonesta ES and were pleasantly surprised. I was immediately upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite (all of Sonesta's rooms are suites as ES stands for extended stay). It was very clean and was located in the rear of the property bordering an attractive field. Two beds, two baths, a living room and kitchen. We could have lived there! Very clean and attractive main areas, nice pool and hot tub. Mini buffet breakfast included. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Jo-Ann B, Thank you for your kind words. We are excited that you loved your stay and were pleasantly surprised. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Make it a great day! Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just stayed at Sonesta ES Suites in Princeton with 5 other families who were traveling together for a lacrosse tournament. It was a perfect place for all of us to stay. The rooms while modest were clean and as my son commented it was "So great to have two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a sitting room and kitchen. It felt just like home." The rooms may need a bit of an update but the carpets were new, the beds were comfortable, the linens fresh and crisp, the toiletries too were four star. But best of all the outside patio, the pool, grills and basketball court were added bonuses. We like many other guests were able to grill and chill together. Great grills and grill utensils. The staff was helpful and breakfast was delightfully delicious. The price was truly affordable and we look forward to staying at other Sonesta Properties in the future. And the other guests were kind, courteous and very friendly. Recommend this place highly!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel123456, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Princeton, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Maria S, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a great time staying with us and were especially pleased that you enjoyed our courtyard experience as we just totally redid the entire area. We are looking forward to you staying with us again soon. Make it a great day. Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
810 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
1.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswic...
#2 of 6 in Monmouth Junction
241 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Princeton

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Address: 4375 US Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#3 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service. The newly renovated hotel is easily accessible from the NJ Turnpike, Garden State Pkwy, I-95, I-295 and Princeton Junction train station. Sonesta ES Suites Princeton is just minutes away from Historic Princeton University and corporate offices. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious one and two bedroom suites-complete with living room and full kitchen. Dedicated work areas with free high-speed Internet access add to your productivity, and private bedrooms with phones and televisions add to your relaxation. The complimentary daily breakfast buffet features hot items, and our evening reception (featuring a light meal with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of local restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. When it's time to unwind, relax in the courtyard near our outdoor pool, workout in our fitness room, or shoot hoops on our Sport Court. Sightseeing opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Princeton University and shopping, within a 1 hour drive to Philadelphia and New York, Six Flags and the Jersey Shore, and 2 hours to Atlantic City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing