We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Wonderful 2 week stay for work. Central location for NJ area between NYC and Philadelphia. Front desk staff was excellent - able to handle unusual billing request as well as professional. Suites are large and clean - not necessarily new, but not worn out. Breakfast and evening appetizers always hit the spot. Traffic in the area is always difficult, the location worked out great for us.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are more quiet, but require climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisHj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 692 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

A pretty good place, although quite worn in the rooms. But for a long term stay it would be a decent place since it is like an apartment. In fact it felt so much like an apartment that I have to wonder if this property used to be apartments. I would guess that is the case.

The lobby is nice and the breakfast quite good. The staff was friendly. I was there on a weekend so can't comment on the week-night food. The pool was closed for winter, but the indoor hot tub was open and is nice. It is housed in its own little 'house' next to the pool.

I agree with a previous post that the Queen bed was more likely a Full. The TV's are really old and really small. As I said, the furniture and furnishings are pretty worn. And I also didn't like the fire place that was left in place, but not functional anymore with a sign that said 'this fireplace is only for show'. I thought that was pretty cheesy.

Overall I'll give it an average since some things were pretty good and others not so good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My family and I had a great experience at the hotel. the room was very comfortable and spacious. we got a family room with 2 bedrooms attached, and we actually shared a living room and a kitchen. it was a very pleasant stay. about 7min driving to princeton, shops and malls. the breakfast was very good but the same everyday. the price was also great. we loved it all.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Overall our experience was fine. However, the supposedly Queen size bed seemed very small. I truly doubt is was a full Queen.
On a good note, I like their "green" approach to running their business. And the front desk staff was FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Awesome hotel to stay with all amenities, shuttle service to work. Accessable to Malls and Restaurants. Nice location. Rooms are big and refreshing. Provide morning breakfast. Evening snacks 3 days a week

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sriram599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here recently ,with 2 couples .Nice for a group -2 bedrooms ,2 bathrooms a living room and a kitchen ,so you have enough room for all . But ,strictly a "no-frills" place ,don't even have housekeeping on the weekends unless you request it in advance.
We had 2 major problems .They would not let the other couple in the room ,until the person who had made the reservation was there,even though we told them that that would happen. They kept insisting that the couple wait in the lobby for the reservation-maker,a wait that would have been about 4 hours ,the desk-clerk finally relented and let them in.
The second problem was that we had made a reservation for 3 nights ,but when we arrived ,we told them that we had to leave after 2 nights ,but they refused to refund ,or not charge us for the 3rd night that we were not going to use..
There are alot of options on this stretch of Rt 1 ,we will not be going back to the Staybridge Suites.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Travelling nearly 300 out of 365 days of year, I have a lot of experience for reviewing a hotel whether as a business or pleasure traveller. I always try and write an honest, pro and con review and will try to endeavor once more - though my opinion on this one is dropping fast.I booked through Priceline - so I had no idea of the choice of chain -- just general location and star rating. This is touted as a 3-star hotel - it's 1.5 at best for business - 2-star for leisure.

The rooms are all suites. Previousy (under different branding) I shared a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with my business partner. We each had a bedroom with a private bath and when the kids came over for the weekend - they slept on the pullout couch in the living room.
This is a great place for kids - but is no longer a place where I would ever go again for an extended business stay. The name has changed as well as the expectation of quality. If you have mobility issues or visiting guests who have trouble with climbing stairs, there are no elevators. You need to ask for a first floor room.

When I arrived I was given a room on the first floor - which is usually my preference when security is not an issue. However, their were guests above me in another 1 bedroom suite. This large party included at a minimum 2 adults and 3 children. The room also smelled of food odors and poorly masked pet odors. I asked the front desk clerk if there was any way to change where I could be on the top floor for more quiet.

the desk clerk moved me to a 3rd floor, single suite in the back of the complex. Although I thanked her for accomodating me in this matter by remarking I would get some needed exercise, her demeanor did not improve from not quite hostile but no way near pleasant.

The staff at this hotel isn't the most friendly and accomodating staff I have ever dealt with - but they're better than most I've seen in my travels. I was very disappointed to see that there were plenty of 2nd floor vacancies - so putting me so far in the back and away from the main lodge may have been coincidental - but it was as bad as the first room in other ways.

Although the room was spacious and featured a full kitchen, a not so nice amenity was the smell of food odors & mold. The kitchen was extremely dated in decor: the refrigerator had a broken bottom drawer; all the counters were chipped; and the room wasn't cleaned properly evidenced by the fact that there was trash in the kitchen.

Thank heaven I always keep an emergency roll of toilet paper. There was an empty roll and no extras in the bath area. There were 2 bath towels & hand towels - but only one washcloth. The kitchen towels were dingy & shade of light yellow brown - so I wouldn't even attempt preparing any meal in the compact kitchen for sanitation reasons.

Another surpise was roaches...ugh! I was too tired after the 3.5 hour trip - so I just decided to buy bug spray, chlorox and Febreze the next day. After all it was only a 4 night trip.

Now about the bedroom area - The bed was the most uncorfortable as they come. The pillows also reeked of food odors. So another expense - off to the mall for my own pillow. The bed was a full - not a queen as advertised. Trying to remain positive was becoming harder for this inspirational speaker.

The hotel features a social hour Monday to Thursday; however, by the time I finished my meetings - the show was over. There is also a free breakfast with hot and cold choices including fruit, eggs, and bacon OR sausage. If you have an early deparature schedule - you won't be able to take advantage of this amenity either. I leave between 6:45 am and 7:00 am most days - and each time the breakfast set up hadn't been ready.

I was not impressed with what the quality received for the amount paid. I would only stay here again only there were no other viable alternatives or if I had to travel with my pet. I would only recommend this hotel to a friend with strong caveats - stressing only how the hotel does accomodate families and pets.

One final note, this is an extended stay hotel and not in any way a resort hotel. I did complain to the management and the message was not taken seriously. They are quite aware of the shortcomings and from their demeanor & actions - obviously don't care.

Many of the lodgers are there for entire seasons & some just overnight. Very scary are the guests that rent a suite for a party and many non-guests lurking in the rear parking lot. If I were to advise a female colleague, I would insist that she request accomodations away from the rear of the property for security's sake and for health's sake due to the mold on the walkways and structures.

I hope this helps others during their visit to Princeton.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the rear of the property - if possible stay on the 2nd floor of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
869 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
1,011 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#5 of 15 in Princeton
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Princeton

Address: 4375 US Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#3 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: $125 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service. The newly renovated hotel is easily accessible from the NJ Turnpike, Garden State Pkwy, I-95, I-295 and Princeton Junction train station. Sonesta ES Suites Princeton is just minutes away from Historic Princeton University and corporate offices. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious one and two bedroom suites-complete with living room and full kitchen. Dedicated work areas with free high-speed Internet access add to your productivity, and private bedrooms with phones and televisions add to your relaxation. The complimentary daily breakfast buffet features hot items, and our evening reception (featuring a light meal with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of local restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. When it's time to unwind, relax in the courtyard near our outdoor pool, workout in our fitness room, or shoot hoops on our Sport Court. Sightseeing opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Princeton University and shopping, within a 1 hour drive to Philadelphia and New York, Six Flags and the Jersey Shore, and 2 hours to Atlantic City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing