We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Regency House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for one night (2/15/13-2/16/13) since the restaurant we were having dinner at was right up the road and we didn't want to drive home. We had a King Suite with a Jacuzzi and it was awesome! Super clean, room had some wear and tear and the comforter sets could use some updating. The Jacuzzi tub worked fantastic - my only complaint is that it had a quarter sized hole/crack in the top that should probably be fixed but it didn't get in our way. Staff at the front desk was SUPER friendly and the maintence guys were super friendly as well. I really liked that they offered full cable unlike a lot of hotels I've been to that have all of 5 channels. Breakfast was cold and they wouldn't let us take it back to our room to heat it up in our microwave. It would have been great if it wasn't stone cold. Either way, it was better than what we expected based on the other reviews. If we plan a dinner at Izumi's Hibachi Steakhouse again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: King bed suite with Jacuzzi was awesome for a relaxing evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline d, Front Office Manager at Best Western Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We try our best to upgrade often and we definitely have the clean in place. We are working to make a more comfortable restaurant and keep everyone totally satisfied. I apologize for the cold breakfast and can assure we are doing our best it will never happen again. Hopefully we shall see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 494 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Location: Easy to get to, but if you pass it, you have to go a distance and turn around on a jug handle. It is one of those roads that you can only turn from the right lane.

Appearance: Overall clean, but an older property. Worn……. Like most Best Westerns

General Up-Keep: In good to fair condition in all the areas I visited.

Workout room: Did not use…… but looked like your basics

Restaurant: There is a bar and restaurant. Menu appears to be your basics and nothing exciting. Looks like truck drivers heaven…….. Breakfast was a joke, again a Best Western trying to save it’s life.

Room: Room was in good condition but a little outdated. I would say it was up to a 2 ½ star hotel, but not 3 like rated. Room was missing many items including coffee.

Overall Report: I admit, I am not a fan of Best Westerns and feel they lie compared to others on their ratings. I felt like I was in an old, hometown, run down hotel that was all the rage in the 80’s. Not recommend for a traveler that is use to cleaner, newer digs.

Would I come back: NO

Would I bring my wife and family: NO

Reason for this trip: Business

Room Tip: If you are looking for resort, this is not it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard9i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel was very clean and had no odors. The Stay was very friendly and helpful. The decor is new but very dark and not our taste. The hotel is located locally on rt. 23 and close many bushiness ,restaurants and Malls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is definitely a cut above and certainly competitive to any of the major chains. Seldom do I find accommodations that I do not find some fault or annoyance with in some way. I was totally satisfied with the entire experience. Good room with good environmental control, large, comfortable bed, convenient layout. The hotel is set back from the highway so there is no noise from the heavily traveled Route 17.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline d, Front Office Manager at Best Western Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Looking over your review we are very pleased to see you had a great experience at our hotel. We hope to be able to accommodate your needs on your next overnight stay. Many comments about our comfortable beds is an asset to our guests and thank you for responding in the most positive way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is the nicest Best Western that I have been to so far. Nice hotel, pleasant stay. quiet and safe neighborhood. Very good value. would definitely recommend it to anyone and come back if I am in the area again. Glad that I picked this one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Waiming C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline d, Front Office Manager at Best Western Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and it shows through your review. Thank you for taking the time to complete the review for which we are very thankful. Hopefully we shall see you soon and welcome you to the same, if not better, overnight stay with us. Our staff is always ready willing and able to meet if not surpass your expectations. We are grateful to have wonderful guests like yourself staying at our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Do not bother, Im not going to vent to much on here just because i just finiched writting a lonnngggggg review on there survey. To sum it up paid an extra $100 for a jacuzzi that had no hot water room was not changed due to full house and no upgrade offered(those were avail.. i checked) switched rooms on another stay 3 times because door lock wasnt working then TV wasnt working. staff did not apologize once!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shaheen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First, the good: As I understand it, this hotel was remodeled after Hurricane Sandy. The lobby area looked fresh and clean, the flooring throughout was very nice, and the bedding was in great condition. We called ahead to let them know we were checking in very late, and the front desk attendant was very friendly and checked us in quickly. The room itself was spacious and clean and attractively appointed overall. We were on the first floor and the hotel overall was quiet. Now for the bad: The remodel was kind of half done. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling (probably because there shouldn't be wallpaper in a room with water), the toilet seat was detached at one bolt, and the mattress was stained on the side (not on the sleeping surface) and the bathtub drain was running slowly. The worst part was the heating unit. We set it at 85 degrees for two days and couldn't get the room warm enough to be comfortable until the morning we left. Replacing some of the infrastructure (not just the cosmetic things) after the hurricane would've gone a long way to bring this hotel up to date. A few more upgrades to some of the plumbing and heating systems could really make this a great economical hotel worthy of a repeat stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompton Plains
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#2 of 14 in Jersey City
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Wayne
Days Inn Wayne
#4 of 7 in Wayne
421 reviews
20.1 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,872 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Regency House Hotel

Address: 140 State Rt 23, Pompton Plains, NJ 07444-2015 (Formerly Best Western Plus Regency House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Pompton Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
Price Range: $90 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Unique, Inviting - Experience the New Best Western Regency House. Surrounded by acres of tranquility, this full service hotel offers over 14,000 sq. Ft of meeting and banquet space providing the most modern facility and latest amenities. The hotel guestrooms with 32" flat panel TV, Micro-fridge, Alarm clock with CD player/ipod compatible, and Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top bedding in every guestroom; Swimming pool, Fitness center, Business center and Complimentary Hot and Cold breakfast are just our "Standards." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing