We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the greatest” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always love Best Western hotels but this time this particular hotel was not the Best. The first night there was a fire on the scond floor of hotel...no fire alarm was sounded, a lady from the 2nd floor banged on our door to advise us to vacate the bldg. About 10 mins later my daughter went back into the hotel and pulled the alarm as the employees in the hotel had not even done so. After 1.5 hrs standing in the parking lot we still were not given any details of the fire and were told to return to our rooms. Day number two our room was not cleaned, that is not a huge issue but the lady at the desk said...well you must have had the sign on the door to say No housekeeing....i advised her we did not even have a sign in our room to put on the door. Breakie foods were "ok" same food day in and day out and we stayed 4 nights...a large group of kids were staying there so the food was cleaned out in the mornings and we did not always get what we needed. On the day of check-out it took 30+ mins for me to be checked out. I had BW gift cards and the girl kept putting me aside to help other people who were checking out. I think if you are helping a guest you should finish with the check out and not push the person aside to assist others. Dont like to be a bearer of bad news but this was not the greatest stay at a Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelEyes125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    121
    83
    36
    60
See reviews for
131
87
34
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although the computer system lost our reservation, the desk staff was able to give us an upgrade at the quoted price. The room was average but spacious. The wifi was weak in the room but better as you approached the door to the corridor. The breakfast was typical for a minimal buffet. This property is fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodak, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is very well located on Route 23 with easy access to the major highways. The rooms are comfortable but a little outdated. However, the bed is nice and firm. Breakfast is included in the room price and is pretty much standard with scrambled eggs, waffle maker, cereals, etc. The worst part about breakfast is there are only large round tables which forces you to share. This keeps you from having any private conversations. There is a restaurant on site which is only open for dinner. I did not use it so I cannot comment on the quality of food served.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Pepling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great rooms and good breakfast , very clean Housekeeping and all stuff are Friendly This is our second time in this hotel We stay 4 days two time and every thing was great Good rate in the area Recommended AAAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hassan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpursville, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel need some repair and general maintenance, pool was in poor repair, lighting was poor, room was not ready, breakfasts were late or none, staff was pretty fair had some issues with the billing that took a couple of days after our trip to straighten out with hotel and bank.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the Best Western name and location. We are informing Best Western that should be removed. The room was smelly, the kitchenette was not complete, internet signal was too weak to use in room, outside door was not locked after 8PM as sign indicated. The building is run down and someone did a very poor job of making repairs. Breakfast consisted of the same menu three days in a row and the hot was not hot..That is what you get when you don't read the reviews before booking.

Room Tip: Read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompton Plains hotels

Fairfax Station
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was clean, attractive, well furnished and very comfortable. The staff was most helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It is child and pet friendly which made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. The pool was well maintained and the children had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompton Plains
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Wayne
Days Inn Wayne
#3 of 6 in Wayne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fairfield Executive Inn
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel
Address: 140 State Rt 23, Pompton Plains, NJ 07444-2015 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Regency House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Pompton Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Unique, Inviting - Experience the New Best Western Regency House. Surrounded by acres of tranquility, this full service hotel offers over 14,000 sq. Ft of meeting and banquet space providing the most modern facility and latest amenities. The hotel guestrooms with 32" flat panel TV, Micro-fridge, Alarm clock with CD player/ipod compatible, and Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top bedding in every guestroom; Swimming pool, Fitness center, Business center and Complimentary Hot and Cold breakfast are just our "Standards." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing