We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware: $30 early check-in fee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Regency House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had to come to the area because of a funeral, so we made our reservations only 2 days in advance. Check-in is at 3 pm, but we arrived at 1 pm and wanted to freshen up before going to the funeral home at 2. The receptionist informed us that early check-in was subject to a $30 fee. I was not happy but also not in the mood to argue. I accepted the fee and went to the room. The room was not yet cleaned! The receptionist did bring us a key to another room. This was not a good start to a long and tiring day! Everything else about the hotel was okay. But now I will remember to ask future hotels about any rip-off, oops, I mean, early check-in fees before booking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, General Manager at Best Western Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi,
At the onset,I would really like to apologize for the inconvenience which was completely un required given your reason for stay.As is the policy with most hotels,we do charge an ancillary fee for guest who check in early but that is subject to change and is always practiced by the management here at the hotel with very liberal leniency.We do allow waivers depending on the reason for the early check in and manager's approval.

You are most welcome to reach us at the hotel and we will be glad to work this out with you and ensure that this brief misunderstanding does not hamper your impression of the hotel property.

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your time and business immensely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Regency House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 469 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Driving from Boston to Philadelphia the day after Christmas, we encountered an ice storm and after spending 5 hours to get thought NY to NJ across the Hudson River, we had enough. We took an exit for the Holiday Inn, but they were full and the gave us a list of other hotels, some coffee and a bathroom break. We called Best Western Reservations to make sure the hotel had rooms available, which they did and we made a reservation with late check-in via a Credit Card. Upon arrival at the hotel, the desk clerk indicated she did not have any information regarding the reservation. I pulled out my phone and showed her the email confirmation. She was not interested and another customer walked up to the front desk and she switched to talk to that individual. Finally another lady come out and I went through the same process again and she also was not interested in my email on my phone. She then went to check 'the reservation system' came back with print-outl and stated all she knew was I had a reservation. While this was going on, the other clerk was on the phone with a person driving to the hotel and she was giving step by step instructions how to get there while they were driving.The clerk (named Mary who I think was a manager) started taking care of other people as they approached the front desk. Needless to say we were tired, but taking 30 minutes to check in was only because they could not handle a simple check-in without talking to anyone that walked up to the front desk. They gave us keys to the room and told us to go around the corner to our room. We grabbed our luggage and headed in the direction provided only to discover stairs. We went back to the front desk and after asking another guest, found the elevator if you could call it that. It basically was a 4 x 4 foot deal behind a normal door that you opened. Two people and two small suitcases filled the thing completely. We went to the second floor only to discover we still need to go up stairs to out room. We dumped our bags into the room, went downstairs to the bar and grill and asked to see a menu at which point we were told, the kitchen just closed. So since the check-in took 30 minutes, we were out of luck. As we were standing there, other people were being served, so the staff was still there, but not interested in even making a sandwich or salad. The waiter said I have some take out menus that delivery, nice but not one of them would deliver which considering the storm, I understood. Starved we got the name of a place, back out onto the road to get something to eat. As far as the room, it was OK, and nice size. It needs some minor work and the carpet needed a good cleaning, but basically the room was clean but had a strong odor of smoke so bad even us as smokers found it offensive I guess because we are lit smokers and never smoke inside hotels.The breakfast the next day was not very good and I don't know what they did to the eggs, but you could have played hand ball with them. On the way back to our room we noticed a sign on the entrance to the pool, pool will not be open unless a manager is on site. That kind of sums up the customer service, even the US Military have more respect for soldiers. We got our luggage to get out of there and as should have been expected, the parking lot was not touched, so you got to walk through the 6 inches of slush. Probably the best reminder of this hotel, at the front desk there was a nice plaque that Mary had received an award for outstanding customer service, really!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor, the hotel was flooded several years ago and we found out the next morning a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, easy to find, comfortable bed, clean room. This was a business trip I was traveling with friends and this hotel allows pets, how nice. It was nice and close to everything I needed. I was concerned that the halls smelled of cigarette smoke but my non-smoking room was fine, no issues. WI-fi easy to use.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brucepell
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank potcake8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a nice hotel with a nice location and decent price. The room we stayed in was on the second floor and was a non-smoking room. However, the hall had a distinct smell of smoke so there are obviously some rooms on the same floor that are smoking - not a good idea. The room was nice and well kept but the bathroom had a shower head that needed extreme work (sort of dangling in the wall). The water was warm enough but not hot. More pros than cons but it could have been better. The staff was quick to respond to our request and were very helpful and we are thankful for that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MePepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
11
Reviewed November 22, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompton Plains
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Wayne
Days Inn Wayne
#4 of 7 in Wayne
385 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Wayne
Residence Inn Wayne
#2 of 7 in Wayne
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Regency House Hotel

Address: 140 State Rt 23, Pompton Plains, NJ 07444 (Formerly Best Western Plus Regency House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Pompton Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pompton Plains
Price Range: $104 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Unique, Inviting - Experience the New Best Western Regency House. Surrounded by acres of tranquility, this full service hotel offers over 14,000 sq. Ft of meeting and banquet space providing the most modern facility and latest amenities. The hotel guestrooms with 32" flat panel TV, Micro-fridge, Alarm clock with CD player/ipod compatible, and Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top bedding in every guestroom; Swimming pool, Fitness center, Business center and Complimentary Hot and Cold breakfast are just our "Standards." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing