We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Diner food”

Pompton Queen Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Pompton Queen Diner is a family-owned and operated diner since 1987. Pompton Queen is not your typical diner. Our modern and clean restaurant, outdoor patio, and extensive menu landed us as one of the top diners to eat in New Jersey. Our service is spectacular and our food speaks for itself. Our Chicken Taverna was featured as one of the top 20 best dishes in New Jersey. Customers love our cannoli pancakes which are made from scratch. For those health conscious individuals we have an array of healthy options to choose from. We have daily lunch and dinner specials and have a full bar with plenty of great drinks. With five TVs around our bar area, Pompton Queen is also a great place to kick back and watch your favorite sports game. Stop in any day any time cause we're open 24 hours, and have yourself one of the best meals you can find in New Jersey. We look forward to having you.
Kdoll08
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quality Diner food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great for breakfast! Quick friendly staff. In a hurry for a quick meal-- check them out.
Weekends this place gets really packed and you can wait well over 10+ mins for a table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“diner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Whenever we can't decide on a place to eat we usually end up at the POMPTON QUEEN. Consistently one of the states best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quality New Jersey Diner Food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I met up with friends here and was not disappointed. It's a typical NJ diner. We went on a Sunday morning which meant a wait, but they were efficient and the line dwindled in less than 10 minutes.

The breakfast was good. I had the malibu omelet with avocado, tomatoes and cheese. It was a little overcooked, but still tasty. The french fries were also very good. My husband had sunny side up eggs which were good, but he said the sausage was terrific. Home fries were just kind of there. And my friend had the western omelet which was also very good.

The service was good. They let us sit for a good hour chatting before hinting that they needed the table. In diner time that's acceptable.

Prices were very good - three people ate for under $25. Can't beat that!

Wouldn't go out of my way to get here, but if you're in the area it's worth the stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewel1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dining value”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

OK, so you may not want to bring your significant other here for a romantic dining experience, but if you want a place to relax, visit with friends, and have a filling meal with lots of choices, I could not recommend Pompton Queen Diner higher. This diner definitely lives up to its reviews: Good food (not snobby gourmet, but home cooked and tasty); lots of dining selections including a 24 hour breakfast menu; well stocked pastry and dessert cases with mouthwatering treats including the best cheesecake I have ever eaten; a great family atmosphere. All these add up to a satisfying dining experience.

My wife had an omelet that filled her plate with a side of home fried potatoes. I had the meatloaf with mashed potatoes and mushroom gravy, which was more than filling and oh so moist. My dinner came with soup (OK, but a bit too salty) and a Greek salad that was quite good with nice chunks of feta, lots of olives and a tasty dressing.

The place was very busy at 8 pm, but the waits did not seem to be very long and there is always space at the counter for those who want to get back on the road. There seemed to be lots of families and locals, proving that this diner is a local favorite and no secret. Judging from the way that Johnny (one of the owners) greeted and chatted with the customers at the next table, the appreciation goes both ways.

Price wise, the proportions make this a good value and we could easily have shared a dinner between the two of us, but order your own cheesecake because it is rich and fluffy, and just too darn good to share!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great diner”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Dropped in on a business trip. Very nice north New Jersey diner. Nice property and interiors, even have a art deco poster for the restaurant in the corner. Decided on some home style cooking for lunch to include matzo ball soup and meat loaf sandwich. Service was great and so was the food. One of the best NNJ diners I've dined at. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunlovingJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompton Queen Diner also viewed

 
Pompton Plains, Morris County
 

Been to Pompton Queen Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing