We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pompton Queen Diner

Pompton Queen Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pompton Queen Diner is a family-owned and operated diner since 1987. Pompton Queen is not your typical diner. Our modern and clean restaurant, outdoor patio, and extensive menu landed us as one of the top diners to eat in New Jersey. Our service is spectacular and our food speaks for itself. Our Chicken Taverna was featured as one of the top 20 best dishes in New Jersey. Customers love our cannoli pancakes which are made from scratch. For those health conscious individuals we have an array of healthy options to choose from. We have daily lunch and dinner specials and have a full bar with plenty of great drinks. With five TVs around our bar area, Pompton Queen is also a great place to kick back and watch your favorite sports game. Stop in any day any time cause we're open 24 hours, and have yourself one of the best meals you can find in New Jersey. We look forward to having you.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This diner has been around forever it seems. The food is always good and the service is excellent. It's very convenient on Rt 23

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BAM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    48
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is the Best Diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The food is always good. The owners and staff are welcoming. My family rarely goes to another Diner since none of them come close to the Pompton Queen whether you or there for Breakfast, Lunch of Dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Get Ready to Eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Like it has for decades, the Pompton Queen delivers great food at inexpensive prices. The menu is quite extensive and can be overwhelming for those just being introduced to the diner environment. Best bet is to ask the friendly wait staff for suggestions. With many of them serving customers for several years, they are most familiar with the menu.

For the uninitiated, make sure to bring your appetite. Diner portions are huge and, for the light eater, could make for several meals afterward. For example, my half-pound burger meal was probably a pound before the fat was melted off. It came on a huge bun with a plate full of lettuce, tomato, and french fries. It was so much I needed to eat the burger without the bread.

Though I didn't indulge, save room for dessert. The PQ is renown in North Jersey as a hub for the best desserts. Try to sample one of their pies or the classic New York cheesecake.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My go to place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Love the PQ....food is always good. The owners are great and always make sure to say Hi. Service is quick and staff is friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Place is busy and yummy. It has everything you want when going to diner in NJ. I would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuJuinBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompton Queen Diner also viewed

Pompton Plains, Morris County
Pompton Plains, Morris County
 
Pompton Plains, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Cedar Knolls, Morris County
 

Been to Pompton Queen Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing