We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A DUMP FOR THE MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amethyst Beach Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A DUMP FOR THE MONEY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2005

I just cannot believe anyone thinks this place is any good. Indifferent staff, circa 1960 room, a door that barely closed and barely opened.

The room was clean but beyond that yikes.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2005
We have the best location of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, across Silver Lake Park and Beach Band Shell. We are also just three blocks from Down Town Point Pleasant Beach shopping area and New Jersey Transit trains and busses.

We try our best to see that each and every guest has a great stay, however some times something may be overlooked, we pride ourselves in responding however there are times when we may not have met our guests expectations, for that we apologize.
Our location close to the central Boardwalk and Beach area requires us to maintain a supervised parking lot 24 hours a day, with valet parking on busy weekends, parking on the street is also available.

We welcome constructive feedback and assure each of our guests that their comfort is our main concern, we invite this individual and all of our guests to return and assure them that we will make every effort to provide them with a memorable stay in beautiful Point Pleasant Beach NJ.

Sincerely,

John & Theresa
Amethyst Management
[--] please visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    94
    27
    31
    44
See reviews for
215
45
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

I just returned from the Amethyst after a three night stay with my husband and three small children. The room cost $149 a night for five of us and this included a continental breakfast which included donuts, bagels and beverages, perfect for the kids. The room was clean. I found the staff friendly. My kids loved the pool which was open in the evening and perfect for a swim after walking on the boardwalk. The hotel is close to the beach, about three blocks which is a short distance. I truly have nothing negative to say. It wasn't the Ritz, however, it was fine for the price. I would consider returning in the future. It is a good place to stay if you have small children.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2005

This hotel had so many good reviews I thought it would be a great place to stay. It was not. It was noisy and the rooms were very so so. The hotel rooms surround the pool, which is supposed to close at 10 pm. There were kids in the pool until 11:30 or so and then the adults stayed up talking around the pool until all hours. Needless to say it is not a quiet nights sleep. I also found the staff to be less than helpful.

I am world traveled and not too picky when it comes to hotels but this was the worst I've stayed in in quite awhile.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2005
We take customer satisfaction seriously and assure our future and past customers that you’re comfort is our first priority. We apologize for any inconvenience which was caused by our guest’s children swimming past the 10 pm closing time, however it has been a very hot summer and our pool which is lit up and located in the center of the patio is very inviting. On very hot nights we have extended quiet use of the pool under supervision. We maintain 24 hour staffing whose duties include always being friendly and courteous while assuring that the parents and children who fill our facility daily do not disturb others who may be trying to rest.
You can always find repeat customers sitting and talking at one of our tables, and we have enjoyed many an evening sitting and sharing past summer memories with them. The patio is never noisy however there are always times when a young voice may be somewhat louder than we would all have liked.
The patio is fully closed to all guests at midnight. First and foremost we are a family run summer facility at the Jersey Shore. We are specifically geared to hosting families on vacation and may no be what a world traveler is seeking, however we would like to invite this individual to contact us so that we may attempt to accommodate them and remain committed to meeting the need of all guests.
Please Contact Us

Sincerely,

John & Theresa
Amethyst Management
rooms@amethystresort.com Please visit us
PS. NO noise past 8pm in the patio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

Wanted to let any one thinking of coming down the shore to know how pleased I was with my choice of motels. Amethyst was exactly what I was looking for. When I got home I developed the pictures and was reminded how immaculately clean the pool was. I look forward to returning. I would like to make this an annual getaway. The next time I will stay the week. Since we are not so far away we will be returning often

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

We are a family of three and found the Amethyst rooms immaculate as well as the patio and pool. Although the weather wasn’t the greatest management had the pool almost as warm as a hot tub and their main lobby area set up for rainy day movies on a plasma screen with full theatre sound. If that wasn’t enough they also provide us with free internet access, personal pizza’s and Hot Dogs. This was real Jersey Shore experience which we will return for again. We took some pictures which we have posted and encourage anyone seeking the coolest place in town to stay at Amethyst

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

My husband and i along with our 2 kids stayed at the Amethyst for 4 nites. What a great place to stay. The staff was great and the hotel is very clean. The location is also perfect. Not far from the boardwalk and beach. We had a great time and would definitly go back. If you are looking for a good place to stay this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

Our stay at The Amethyst was great. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. The family atomsphere was also a big plus. Great Location and Price!! Breakfast was great. Keep up the great job and we will see you again in the fall!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant Beach
0.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Grenville
The Grenville
#1 of 1 in Bay Head
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Property: Amethyst Beach Motel
Address: 202 Arnold Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amethyst Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst's Beach Motel welcomes an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to downtown Eateries and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Amethyst Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing