We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amethyst Beach Motel
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel was Perfect very quaint and perfect distance from the beach the staff was very kind and attentive we forgot our lap top there and thy called to tell us we left it there. Unbelievably honest I would go back again for sure

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reneepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Amethyst Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 430 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family went last summer and are going again this summer because we loved it so much. It's just perfect. It's not filled with wall to wall people, quiet, a few blocks from the beach, has its own parking lot, clean, friendly, affordable, good pool, morning bagels & coffee, has a family feel, great for all, and they do a few things for you if you are a returning customer.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor on the South side with two joining rooms! Great choice!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I would never recommend this place - you pay a decent amount of $$ - the place is so old and dirty and quite run down - absolutely so disappointed with the place - will never go back and I would recommend closing down and doing some major renovations - once we opened the room door for the first time I just wanted to return the keys to the front desk and ask for a full refund - disgusting place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandtraveller, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Adverse weather and adverse remarks often go hand in hand in the hospitality business.

As clouds appear so do the unhappy guests who will find fault with most anything in an attempt to avoid arriving in bad weather.

We understand that bad weather is not what is expected when a reservation is made and also understand this reviewer and their need to make a completely baseless statement.

We attempted to work with this reviewer in every way possible and our staff endured days of their unacceptable behavior.

We welcome and learn from good reviewers comments, however this not a review which is helpful, it is simply "Angry"

Our customers and prospective customers are intelligent enough to know that the most perfect place will receive this type of comment from time to time as you cannot make everyone happy especially when it rains.

Please call us, stop in, read the huge amount of positive honest and sometimes critical reviews and responses, as we truly want to make each stay a positive wonderful experience.

Thanks for reading our response,

Amethyst family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked the Amethyst for our two night visit to Point Pleasant based on other TripAdvisor reviews and the fact that the hotel claims that all rooms have been renovated in for the 2012 season.

Let’s start out with the Pros:

Staff: The staff is very friendly. They are always ready to answer any questions you have in the main office and will drop whatever they are doing to help out their guests.

Parking: You pay $10/day for parking in the lot at the motel. The $10 is worth it. The lot is always watched by an attendant (again, very helpful and friendly guy) and is much cheaper than parking elsewhere in Point Pleasant. We parked the car and left it there over our entire two day stay without having to worry about our car being stolen or broken into (not that point pleasant is not a safe town-you will see frequent police surveying the area).

Unlimited Coffee: The coffee is delicious. You can drink all you want during the breakfast hours. I suggest bringing a travel coffee mug to fill yourself. The hotel provides Styrofoam cups but they are very small. I read another review saying that the coffee was not strong enough but my family and I found the coffee to be just right. They use Folgers at the Motel.

The Pool: The pool is kept at a good swimming temperature, not too warm and perfect for a refreshing dip. The pool is clean and does not have that overwhelming chlorine smell like some other hotels might have. They have an outdoor shower right next to the pool for rinsing off. The pool could use some updating, just cosmetic work since some of the tiles have fallen off around the perimeter of the pool. There is no drinking on the patio. This is a nice rule so that you won’t have to worry about any unruly drunks.

The location: While the hotel is not right on the beach it is a very short walk to the boardwalk and beach. You will not have any ocean views if that is what you are looking for at this Motel. It is a two minute walk straight down the street to get to the main boardwalk entrance. If you walk five minutes up the street in the other direction you can visit the town of Point Pleasant where there are lots of cute shops and some good restaurants and ice cream. The town is a nice escape from the busy boardwalk and has some great treasures for discovery. I would recommend taking the walk.

Patio Furniture: Comfortable wooden recliners are lining the pool. They have blue pads on for added comfort. You will never have trouble finding a spot to sit; there are plenty of recliners as well as plastic Adirondack chairs and circular patio tables with umbrellas and plastic chairs.

Noise: With booking the poolside room, I was concerned that I would hear the outdoor pool area commotion while trying to sleep at night but we didn’t hear anything in our room. The combination of the loud wall a/c unit inside the room and the heavy doors ensured that we didn’t hear any noise at night.

Ice Machine: there is an ice machine located on the pool patio. It is convenient to have an ice machine on site to fill your coolers for the beach.

Now for the Cons:

Breakfast Bar: You pay about $8/day to enjoy the “resort services” which includes breakfast. The breakfast consists of a tray of bagels, a tray of muffins (cut into quarters), and coffee. If you are expecting the continental breakfast the hotel advertises then think again. The first day of my stay the bagels were stale and obviously left over from the day before. Breakfast is kept outside on the pool patio from 8-10 and is self serve. They have two small toaster ovens and offer cream cheese and butter. They will provide yogurt, fruit, juice, milk, granola bars at an additional charge. I was very disappointed to have to eat stale bagels and muffins.

The Rooms: The hotel claims they have renovated all rooms but the only thing new in the rooms seems furnishings. The rooms are equipped with beds, a table and chair, armoire with mini fridge and TV, and a night stand. The mini fridge in my room did not have any shelf racks which was kind of annoying. The lamps in my room did not turn on. The carpet is old and dingy. The curtains were nice and were lined with blackout shades. The ceilings in the room have outdated and dirty ceiling tiles, they need to be replaced. The rooms are small, not much area to get dressed or move around. The low ceilings add to the feeling of being caved in. The bed linens are standard and clean. The mattress was comfortable and so were the pillows. The motel still uses those outdated floral comforters which are disgusting and never washed (as with most other motels that still use them). The room is equipped with a wall unit a/c. The a/c is loud but does the job of cooling off the entire room. Keep in mind that the bathroom will not get cooled off by the wall a/c, another announce.

The Bathroom: Do not expect any luxuries in the bathroom here. They only provide you with two bars of mini hotel soap which just leaves your skin dry and itchy. No shampoo, no conditioner, no hair dryer. You will be provided with several plastic cups. The bath towels are standard clean, white, and need to be replaced. They have been washed so many times that they are hard and rough, does not feel so nice on your skin after getting a sun burn at the beach. They do provide you with an ample supply of towels so you won’t have to worry about running out and they are replaced every day. The bath tub is old and stained. The bath tub does not come with a plug so if you are planning on bringing small children and need to bathe them I would suggest bringing your own blowup bath tub. The tiles on the bathroom are from the 80’s and need to be replaced. There is absolutely no storage in the bathroom so expect the sink counter top to get cluttered with all your toiletries. The sink is also from the 80’s and needs to be replaced. The water does get warm and stay warm. The water pressure is decent, not too strong- not too soft, you can adjust the pressure with the shower head. There are no vanity lights near the mirror. There is only a recessed fluorescent ceiling lamp.

The Patio: No privacy. The patio is very small and filled with furniture. Expect to make plenty of friends in these tight quarters. If you are looking to lay out privately by the pool then this is not the motel for you. Because there is so much furniture there is no room for the kids to run around and play. Smoking is allowed anywhere by the pool and on the entire patio, it seems hard to escape the smoke which is annoying for non-smokers.

OVERALL: I would not stay at this motel again. I will try something new next time I visit the area. The motel advertisements are very misleading. I would not consider their breakfast “continental” and I would not consider their rooms to be “newly renovated” as they advertise. For me the cons outweigh the pros. Make sure to read all of the recent reviews so that you can make an informed decision before booking this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBuddiesNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandtraveller, Senior Management at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks for so many positive comments and thanks for taking the time right such a detailed review.
While we absolutely agree with many of your positive comments, it is important to note that we take great care in maintaining clean rooms, linens, adequate supplies of bath towels and whatever a geust requests of us. We also provide as part of the resort package, free high speed internet both wireless and wired, barbeques and picnic area along with free unlimited phone calls as well as discounted beach pass's.

We are first and foremost a seasonal shore hotel and cater to a repeat clientele who enjoys and appreciates the quiet intimate setting of our patio and rooms. children play in the pool while parents sit and watch right outside their rooms.

Our facility was not obviously what you were looking for and we can appreciate that as a world traveler you may have stayed at large corporate resorts which will absolutely blow us away, if that is what you are looking for please understand that in not what we are.

We are family operated, situated close to the beach and the downtown eateries and transportation. seasonally operated and doing the absolutely best we can do to please each of our guests.

Thanks again for the review even it did contain some statement we cannot agree with.

Amethyst Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

During our travel we usually stay in hotels or private houses. We really don't have experience with motels, but we were shocked to compare high ratings given by previous quests and our expectations with the real picture . Here is our humble opinion: Very old building requiring general renovation, not only new furniture in rooms. One morning, we couldn't open the door of our room. Because bathrooms are very old, it is difficult to judge their cleanliness We were very disappointed by overwhelming number of people smoking around the pool.We respect rights of smokers, but we had no place to hide from them. Even our room was filled with smell of cigarettes. We found burned cigarette's holes on one comforter. Good location. Very respectful and kind staff. Surprising beach discounts. Good, unlimited coffee in the morning. Quite after hours. We wish the best for management of this motel and we hope that our review will be helpful for future, potential visitors.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandtraveller, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thanks for the review and valuable feedback; we are proud of our staff and our location and assure you that all bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned. We strive to provide the best experience for our customers. This year we replaced all furnishings, beds, drapes, carpets, lamps and added some amenities; Thanks to your recommendations regarding smoking we taking steps to limit smoking to the rear patio areas only.
In an earlier review it was suggested that we have coffee available earlier, and we now have a dedicated self-serve coffee maker available 24/7.
We are all somewhat confused over the comment abouth the building as it was built in the mid 70’s it is constructed of concrete and steel, with all walls, partitions and floors made of concrete. The roof is constructed with fire resistant materials the fire resistant steel doors and thermo pane windows where replaced within the last ten years. All faucets and bath fixtures are 2000 or newer as is the tile surrounding the baths. As for doors sticking, this is a limited issue caused by the excessive heat we have been experiencing this summer. Our onsite technician resolves issues as they arise.
In the future we ask that we be personally notified of issues so that we may resolve them and avoid any inconvenience to our guests. We have yet to determine the location of the bed spread mentioned and assure anyone reading this review we would never allow this to occur. We are checking each and every bed as we do regularly to make certain there are no issues.
Thanks again for your thoughtful personal observations as we take each customers individual views into consideration when assessing what improvements to make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

i booked two rooms july 13,14,15,16 had a great time staff are amazing very friendly nice people,clean rooms,great breakfast,pool very clean,place to sit eat food relax etc....and they also have barbecue grills in the back if you wanna cook your own food....2 blocks from the beach 5min walk.....very friend atmosphere....so if your looking for a great hotel for your point pleasant hotel this is the place to be....im going back aug 3,4,5,6

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family had a wonderful time at the Amethyst. Walking distance to the beach. They have a very nice pool. I noticed everyone that was staying there was family. That is a big plus for me. The staff was very nice. Rooms were clean. I would recommend the Amethyst to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Address: 202 Arnold Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range: $79 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amethyst Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst's Beach Motel, New Barbecue Area, Large Spacious Private Pool and Patio Area, New Beach House. We welcome an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach as we are in the Heart of the Beach overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to downtown Eateries and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. Family owned and operated we are here to make your stay the best while in Point Pleasant Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Amethyst Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing