We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Point Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ridiculously overpriced!”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

There was a reason why when all the other shore hotels in pt. pleasant beach, nj were full last weekend this one still had rooms available. I paid $228 total for one night in this absolute dump. The walls were paper thin so you can hear all the thumping and bumping in the rooms next door as well as over head. You can even hear the traffic going by outside as well. The room smelled bad, the odor kind of hit you in the face when you opened the door. In the bathroom, the cabinet latch was broken so the door did not even shut, above the toilet someone had removed a shelf and not bothered to cover up the holes it left, there was mold on the baseboard, the shower took an extremely long time before the water became warm, I would say I had to let it run for 5 minutes or more. Worst of all, there were ants in my room, crawling all over the table. I have stayed in motels that cost $40 a night that were better than this one. It's two blocks from the beach but the weather was so incredibly hot and humid that I did not feel like walking the distance. So I drove to find that parking at the beach was $18 for the day. Then it cost $5 to actually be able to walk on the beach ($3 if you buy the pass at the motel). The aquarium was $9 to get in and of course the rides on the boardwalk weren't free either. I think I paid $20 for 12 tickets, rides are 3 or 4 tickets each. Pt. Pleasant Beach itself was nice but I won't go on a weekend in August again; it was soooooooo crowded! By all means stay somewhere else if you can when you go to Pt. Pleasant Beach, I could not wait to check out of this place!

  • Liked — the air conditioner worked
  • Disliked — the ants in the room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    50
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
99
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2007

excellent motel extremly great manager stay here you will be pleased

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank oldy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester NH
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Recently visited friends for a weekend in Point Pleasant Beach checking into the Colonial on Arnold Ave, I made researvations over the phone and never expect such a small place. The manager was very nice but the rooms were small and dingy the pool was closed and the overall property old and run down. We checked out the next morning and moved to the Amethyst Hotel next door which saved the day.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rooms and facilitlies
  • Tips/Secrets — Look before you book
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julielabrosa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Just visit them at www.colonialpointbeach.com

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amethyst Beach Motel
Amethyst Beach Motel
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Motel
The Atlantic Motel
#12 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point Motel

Property: Pelican Point Motel
Address: 210 Arnold Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3207 (Formerly Colonial Motel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Point Motel is proud to introduce to you our newly renovated, meticulously decorated hotel guest rooms. All lower level rooms and bathrooms have been completely renovated right down to the studs. All rooms are equipped with new tile flooring, HVAC units for your own personal climate control, wooden slat blinds, upgraded designer furniture, microwaves, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions, and much more.... The Pelican Point Motel is just two blocks from the beach and boardwalk area, a short walk to downtown shopping and fine seafood restaurants, and just minutes to the Point Pleasant Beach Train Station. All upstairs rooms have also gone through renovations as well including new tile landings, upgraded carpeting, designer furniture and fixtures and much more! We also provide free parking, Free WIFI, inground swimming pool, beach chair rentals, and maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pelican Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing