We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive”
Review of Driftwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Driftwood Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to this place for years but this is the final and last time we will go there. The place is run down and nothing has changed through the years. The sister runs the hotel and walks around smoking cigarettes all day, sitting at the pool with you wtih one black, one blue sock and no shoes on - sweat pants on a hot summer day! She always looks like something the cat dragged in! She shocks the pool daily at 3 pm so if you are in it, you will have to get out at a prime time and wait a long time to go back in! The elderly people don't really the fact that you might drink a few beers at the pool nor do the care for your music very much! They prefer to sit quietly and read their books and they will definitely run to the managers office to complain very easily! The bathrooms also close at 3 pm so if you are sitting at the pool and need to go the bathroom, you have to trek all the way back to your room. The sister ruins everything about this place and we have no intentions of ever going there again. They also don't clean the rooms or sheets for hours. I find the entire place revolting. There are many other nicer hotels closer to town and the boardwalk where you don't even need a car. The place is a dive and the owners are too afraid to talk to you - they make the sister do their dirty work!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a BLAST ! The Driftwood is the ONLY hotel we stay at when we visit the shore. We have been going here for almost ten years ! The staff is very friendly and like family to each other. The rooms are always clean and if we need towels or anything they are very prompt to bring them. We love the pool and its right on the ocean, so the views are incredible. Especially at sunset. Only a few blocks from the boardwalk. The kids LOVE IT HERE ! Definetly a FAMILY ATMOSPHERE !

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are beautiful ! The pool is great for the kids. And the snack bar serves up yummy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DEB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

the experience was great from the atmosphere to the people. whether youre going for a weekend getaway or an extended visit to the shore, the driftwood is most definitely where to stay. the pool, private beach, cozy rooms & being within walking distance to a lot of places made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I vacation at the Jersey Shore every year and wouldn't stay anywhere other than the Driftwood. There is always someone on staff for your every need or guidance on where to eat, drink or shop. Right outside your door is a pool, snack bar, and a private beach. There is nothing left to need. If you have a problem, let them know and they will resolve it!
I will continue to return every year!

Room Tip: balcony overlooking the ocean, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabeth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I booked a room w 1 king bed ocean view 4 weeks in advance for a romantic weekend away w my husband.
We were given a room w 2 full sized beds w a parking lot view.
Linens were stained and ripped. Carpet filthy w gum stuck to it. Room smelled filthy and beds were uncomfortable. Towels had hair on them!
When we complained about the condition and room mix up staff was complacent.
Rip off!!! Horrible service!! Filthy!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisdemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have gone to the Driftwood for many years and always enjoy ourselves. We like that you can walk out your door onto a private beach and pool. You can also enjoy your morning coffee or lunch overlooking the ocean. The staff are great and ensure you have a good stay. It is a nice family owned business and it is great for families as well as just the two of us. The cleaning people are always going to make sure everything is perfect inside as well as the grounds outside. They also give you very deals.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WheelerCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My stay at the Driftwood Motel was a great experience with my family . The great view of the beach and comfort of a clean room was excellent . My children played on the private and clean beach with a life guard . Even a great view of the ocean from the patio next to the swimming pool made it nice for me so I could see the children while I enjoyed the sun and view. Staff were so friendly and attentive to all our needs made our visit very comfortable . Mornings in the sun and night walkes on the beach were both pleasant and romantic for my family and I . We were so close to the boardwalk and all major attractions but yet it was nice and quiet at the motel . I would definitally recommend this motel for you and your family or even as a couple getaway. I most definitely will be back again !

Room Tip: Suites had a great view of the ocean from the balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Broadway Court Motel
Broadway Court Motel
#13 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Address: 1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-4148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range: $115 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DRIFTWOOD MOTEL is located dirctly on a Private Beach with a snack bar and heat pool call for daily specials ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing