We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time and was impressed!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfside Motel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time and was impressed!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am very neurotic about clean and this place was quite comfortable and was very clean as well. Towels smelled like bleach and I was very pleased. Nice staff Very happy with the place and the customer service. Walking distant to restaurants, beach and boardwalk. The heated pool an added touch and free parking as well. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    47
    5
    6
    12
See reviews for
127
73
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Take it from me, a clean freak, this was the cleanest motel in which I have ever stayed. It is not fancy, but it is as clean as can be, quiet, comfortable and the owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. They made us feel very welcome and even called my boyfriend right after we had left to let him know he had left something behind. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1JerseyGirl763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

First time staying at the Surfside Motel and we will definitely be back! The entire place is so clean and well maintained. Pool is great. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Short walk to beach & restaurants. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

At the Surfside, it's all about them. There is a rule sheet that they mail you ahead of time, each and every adult must show photo ID upon arrival, there is only one room key (metal and on a key ring), the office closes at 10 so they can get their beauty sleep, you can't use a different credit card from the one you booked with...and it goes on and on like that. The motel is like the teacher who yells at the whole class when only one or two students are misbehaving.

That said, there are several good things about this motel. If you must go to the Jersey Shore, you should appreciate that this place is better than average, which is why I give it a "very good."
1. Free beach passes
2. The motel and property are extremely clean with comfortable beds - no sandy sheets!
3. There is a fridge in each room and free wifi
4. They have chairs to sit in outside the rooms and they let you hang your towels out to dry, which is a big deal at the shore!

Downsides:
1. Very few toiletries in the room - only one bar of soap
2. Kind of a hike to the beach/boardwalk, especially if lots to carry
3. Their attitude - you must stand there like a child as they go over the entire list of rules, one by one, upon arrival - quite a welcome, and not like other places that charge the same per night.
4. Only one room key

It was amusing that I was made to feel quite welcome to stay the day and get beach passes and leave my car parked there...after I turned in my room key to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorrisNJMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Surfside for the past 9 years. It is the cleanest, quietest, best run motel we have ever stayed in. The rooms and grounds are immaculate, the staff friendly and helpful. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and there is a mini-fridge in the room. We have no problem with the rules which help maintain the quiet, pleasant atmosphere. Great location in quiet part of Point Pleasant Beach, just a short walk to the beach. Very close to Stewart's, Jack Baker's Wharfside and Lobster Shanty. Nice pool. You can get beach passes or use the pool if you arrive before check in and also after you check out. We always look forward to our stays at the Surfside!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We only stayed at Surfside one night so our stay was short..but sweet. There are a lot of RULES that guests are reminded of from time of reservation through check out. The whole list of rules is reviewed with you upon check in - one by one. This was the only minor drawback to staying here. We were in our 60's and did not plan on having wild parties.

Our room was comfortable and properly furnished - MUCH better than most shore properties in the best of circumstances. Bathroom, paint, bedding etc were all in new, clean condition. It was a pleasure to enter such an nice room.

The pool is smaller than it seems to be in pictures but well maintained. The staff members were very helpful, offered free badges and staying after check out but I would add one comment. The man at the desk, wearing a visor, does not look up or greet new guests. He looks down, answers questions but is not welcoming. A friendly "welcome to the shore" would have set a different tone on arrival.

The owners have clearly paid a lot of attention to maintenance and providing comfort for the guests. I look forward to staying there again next year.

Room Tip: They offer a two bedroom suite as well as single rooms. A nice option for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirlinwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a 5 star motel. Very clean, staff is friendly, heated pool! The rooms are very nice and look updated. Worth the price. Only negative thing I have to say is the walls are a little thin therefore you can hear screaming kids at 8am that wake you up. If my tv was on and loud i wouldnt have heard anything. But i really love the hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amethyst Beach Motel
Amethyst Beach Motel
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motel

Property: Surfside Motel
Address: 101 Broadway, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-2609
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Surfside Motel Point Pleasant Beach
Surfside Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing