We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Made a good choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfside Motel
Save
You added Surfside Motel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made a good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

After checking out a few places in Point Pleasant online I took a gamble on the Surfside and it paid off. The staff was very nice on the phone and were just as nice when we arrived on our whimsical trip. Place was very clean, location was pretty good and they had some rules in place to prevent it from being party haven. Walk to the beach and boardwalk was only 3 blocks (took like 5-7 min.) there are a couple places to eat right behind the place which was great to have a decent meal and a drink on the inlet.
We only stayed one night but had a nice time and we would reccomend this place to our friends. Price was a little high but it was ok being it was well kept and very clean! Pool was a little small and kind of right on the street but looked sparkling clean. Would def go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darr032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    47
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
121
71
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first visit to the hotel and we look forward to returning next summer. The hotel is well maintained, new AC units, a few blocks from the boardwalk, beach and restaurants, family operated and very clean rooms, pool, etc. The only suggestions that I have would be to upgrade the tv's to a flat panel and possibly add a coffee maker and microwave to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwruss71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I would like to say even though the Surfside has the most well kept property, nicest looking motel, I will never stay there and never recommend that place to anyone. My friend and I planned a little girl’s weekend away and booked at the Surfside. She was quoted a price over the phone and booked the room; unfortunately I was the one who received the receipt. We didn’t talk about it until we were down there my bad I understand that!! We tried to explain to them what had happened and the man behind the counter even agreed he did price her wrong over the phone. Instead of trying to work something out he became extremely RUDE, pointing, yelling at us like we were being scolded by our farther. I received my deposit back and they DID NOT get our business. It was very unprofessional the way he acted!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank VSecret77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Surfside Motel while in the area for a wedding at the Lobster Shanty. The Lobster Shanty was literally across a parking lot behind the hotel, so it was super convenient and easy to walk to!
The hotel itself was very clean. Staff was nice. They only allow one car per room and are strict about this when they are fully booked.
Beach was a short walk away. Beach passes could be picked up at the hotel lobby each morning, so that was nice. The 7-11 that is in the opposite direction of the beach is probably a good 10+ minute walk away. Not really anywhere else nearby to buy snacks/drinks, so you may want to stop at a grocery store on your way into town for bottled water and things like that.
Ate breakfast at the Cottage one morning. It was a cute diner just a short walk away. Note: The Cottage, plus about every other place nearby, was closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: try to get on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stay at this motel every summer, and brought my boyfriend here in March. This is definately one of the best kept, cleanest motels I have ever been to. It is family owned, and they take great pride in keeping the rooms and grounds updated and immaculate. I cannot wait to go back in august!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Highly recommend this clean, quiet and family-run motel in Pt. Pleasant! The entire property was CLEAN. Pool was perfect with umbrellas for shade. Family-owned with friendly staff. Beach passes included. Strolled to beach, boardwalk and restaurants! :))))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoRestandRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morris county
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Found myself looking for a last minute place to stay for the night. This motel was really wonderful. The night staff could not have been any more helpful and friendly. The day staff was just as great. The room was really clean with no mildew smell that I have found at other shore-side motels. The room was so clean and well kept that I took a bath which is something I would normally never do at a motel. This has to have been the nicest place I have ever stayed at the Jersey Shore. They have won me over! I will go out of my way to stay here again! Bravo Surf-side!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amethyst Beach Motel
Amethyst Beach Motel
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motel

Property: Surfside Motel
Address: 101 Broadway, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-2609
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Surfside Motel Point Pleasant Beach
Surfside Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing