We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to start the summer”
Review of Windswept Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windswept Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We just stayed at Windswept Motel for a week and it was as good as every time from previous years. Our room was clean and neat and the staff greeted us like old friends. Everyone was so nice and helpful. We met several guests who have been coming year after year just as we have. It is so close to the beach and ocean that you are there is less than five minutes. The boardwalk is very close and is a good place to walk and really good if you have children. There are several charming restaurants within minutes and watching the boats go in and out of the inlet is so relaxing. We had a very nice time. Our compliments and thanks to the staff. If you like a family oriented, non smoking, relaxing, quiet environment-this is the place.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have great views. Easy access to beach no matter what room you have. Staff is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaMa13903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

Basic motel room. Room was very clean. Great location for beach / boardwalk. We didn't use the pool it was cool and not open until Memorial Day weekend. The pool looked nice although the area is rather small. I agree with other reviews that it could be challenging to relax on a crowded summer day. Our view was fantastic !! Made up for the room being your typical motel type. We found the beds to not be very comfortable. We do have a great bed at home and most beds don't compare but this one was definitely on the lower side of my experiences. We did find the room to be very noisy. Not the fault of the hotel however, I was woken up several times by late night bar crawlers talking / laughing / cursing on the beach up until around 3am. Beach crew at 7am. If you are a light sleeper or enjoy peaceful tranquility you may not find it here. Another issue for me and the reason I would likely not ever stay here again is 10am checkout. This is my first experience with this, 11 is early enough on vacation to be completely checked out of an inn. I called the office around 9:30 asking for a little later so we could finish showering & packing. I was basically told no. Informed they had people coming in and the couldn't grant the request. This was off season a Sunday morning with just a few cars in the lot. Maybe they were booked ? After some convincing on my part the office did agree to extend checkout until10:30. Housekeeping staff was very friendly. No great welcome from anyone else although they were not unfriendly either.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Lindakathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have not been to the Jersey Shore since "Super Storm Sandy" We were appalled at the amount of clean-up still to do! We booked an oceanfront room here for 2 nights & it was awesome! The room was immaculate, the property refurbished & the staff great! Enjoyed 23 beautiful sunrises & the beach--only steps away! We'll go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyDermodyHartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have stayed at the Windswept many times and usually have an ocean front but it was booked for the Sept 12 and 13th 2013 dates we needed. As always the room 201 was immaculate, still have a corner view of ocean, good free wifi, can't beat the easy location and short walk to the boardwalk and steps from the beach. The fridge is great for drinks and is always a plus. Very comfortable clean room and nice balcony. Free coffee and tea by the office in the morning is always a plus! For off season breakfast the Beach Shack is great on the main street heading to the inlet. White Sands breakfast place is also almost across the street from the Windswept and its good also. I never had a great experience staying at the White sands which is why I always book at the Windswept but the breakfast is good for a fair price. Point Pleasant boardwalk was wonderful as always and we caught the last Friday of the season for the 18.00 wristband deal for the rides. We had a nice dinner at the Carosel on the boardwalk which was my first time dining there and the meal was good. One of the best things about the Windswept is the short walk to all the boardwalk offers and no hassles trying to find a parking space as we are parked at the motel and stay put there as we can walk to everything we want.

Room Tip: I know ocean front is great and I prefer the ground floor just to avoid steps but any room there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faithy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My Family and I stayed there for two nights in August. The location of the Motel was excellant! It was practically right on the Beach! The board walk started next the the motel and the rides were only 2 blocks away! The room was spacious and clean. It also had an outside balcony with two chairs facing the ocean. The TV was old/small but had a lot of channels but who goes to the shore to watch a lot of TV anyway. The motel had a nice fenced-in deck area & private pool facing the ocean. The pool area was a little on the small side but my kids (8 & 5) loved it. The room was a little pricey but the service was great and parking was free. Each room had thier own assigned parking spot near their room which made it very convenient for unloading/loading your vehicle. I would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 669fredw669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just got back from a great overnight stay at the Windswept Motel. We had an ocean view room, which we could see a good portion of the ocean, and it was super clean and comfortable. I am picky about cleanliness (We have a 1-year-old and a 3-year-old) and the room was immaculate. We had a four-cup coffee pot and coffee in our room, a nice size refrigerator and ice bucket and glasses. We also had a nice, but tiny, deck with two chairs off our room. It offered a good view of Jenkinson's Boardwalk fireworks Saturday night.
Getting to the beach was not difficult, although I was a little concerned from previous reviews. We had to go around the hotel from our room and out to a walkway. The boardwalk shops started a short distance from the hotel and were not too long of a walk for our kids. The aquarium, at the end of Jenkinson's Boardwalk, was a little bit too far for them though. I would say strollers were necessary for young kids.
The staff was also very friendly and helpful with eatery suggestions - we ate at John and Elaine's for breakfast. Yummy. We didn't get to Shore Fresh for seafood, but hope to the next time we're in Pt. Pleasant. Hoffman's Ice Cream was delicious too with huge portions. Staff at Windswept was so nice and let us use the restroom for the facilities and to change after we checked out with our 1-year-old and 3-year-old. It shows they really care about their customers! Note to anyone using the beach: There are no public bathhouses (one public restroom on the entire boardwalk) in Pt. Pleasant, so plan accordingly if you check out of your hotel and want to go to the beach for the day. I was unprepared for the sandy aftermath.
We would highly recommend this motel to anyone for a stay in Pt. Pleasant. It exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed a weekend. Room was small, bed was comfortable, free wi-fi, numbered parking spots, complimentary coffee (7:15 a.m.-12 p.m July and August), very close to the beach. Nice view of the beach too. The boardwalk is around the corner, but you have to go to the street to access it (no direct access from the hotel), free ice from ice machine, nice small pool, beach passes.

bathroom was outdated, no parking allowed after check out (10 a.m.), to access beach you have to walk a little bit behind the other hotel even though there is a direct beach entrance by Windswept parking lot (only for club members of an organization), upon check in bathroom was not that clean (found hair in shower).

Overall a good place. Will probably go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windswept Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windswept Motel

Address: 1008 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3344
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range: $111 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the salt air, the relaxing sandy beaches and a beautiful panorama of the Atlantic Coastline. We provide a casual atmosphere while you and your family unwind beachfront. If you want to build a sandcastle on the beach, surf or take a dip in the pool and enjoy restful accomodations, we invite you to enjoy our rooms and hospitality. Nestled directly on the beach, a stone's throw from Jenkinson's amusements on the boardwalk, the Windswept is ideally located for you and your family. We are a stone's throw from shopping and a large variety of local restaurants. You can thrill to the action of nearby Monmouth Race Track and Freehold Raceway or take a short drive to the exciting casinos and star-studded entertainment of Atlantic City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windswept Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windswept Motel Point Pleasant Beach Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing