We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of Windswept Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windswept Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were looking for something clean and close to the beach for a couple of nights. Very glad I went with the Windswept. It's on the beach and just a short distance from the beginning of the boardwalk. Martels and the heart of the boardwalk could be considered a long walk depending on your age and the shape you're in. However, we were fine with the location and welcomed the exercise. It would be nice though if there WERE places to eat, drink, etc. in the immediate vincinity.

We had an upstairs room in the main building. If these rooms are considered the lesser of the other rooms(in separate buildings), then you can't go wrong. Our room was very nice, clean, and the size was good. We enjoyed walking right out to the beach, and enjoying the fireworks right there. It's nice to be on the beach and have the option of going back and forth to your room if need be. Coffee was provided, free, starting at 7am. I noticed there was a small area around the back with a grill. Not sure if this was the owner's private space, or if it was open for guests to use. If so, it wasn't mentioned, but would've definitely been enough reason to rate 5 stars. After a horrible experience a couple of years ago at another PP motel, the Windswept was a pleasant and refreshing new find. I'm pretty sure this is our new spot when in Point Pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is excellent - the rooms are adequate - simple, tight accommodations. All one really needs to shower and rest between beach visits. Not someplace to spend time or invite friends.

The owners and staff (not including the cleaning staff) are very unwelcoming and act almost as if you are inconveniencing them. With all of the "Restore the Shore" efforts, one would think business owners would be welcoming but this is not the case with the Windswept owners. One example; upon checking in, we were made to wait while an owner and staff member finished an obviously personal conversation. After giving our reservation information, a call came in which was also personal in nature (sounded like old friends catching up, laughing), which left us waiting again. Very poor first impression and very unprofessional. Additionally, I asked for a suggestion as to where to eat and an owner simply pointed to a pile of menus. I looked through some of the menus then asked if she had a personal recommendation to which she replied, "Depends what you like. Is that all?" then left the office. Unnecessary and rude.

Housekeeping, however, was very polite and did their job well in my experience.

I read a few reviews that mention the freshly painted rooms with new carpet - I want to clarify that does not seem to be the case for the entire hotel. Most likely the downstairs rooms were repainted due to Sandy, but the upstairs rooms are nothing special, nothing new.

Overall, with all of the available businesses struggling to reopen throughout the Jersey Shore, I would rather spend my money someplace with more welcoming, less rude hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just got back from a mini-vaycay weekend getaway at Windswept Motel and we were pleasantly surprised by this family owned establishment. First off, Windswept motel is located right on the beach on the quieter side of Point Pleasant but walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk. The amenities were wonderful. The room we stayed in (211) was very clean and had everything you need for down the shore. The room included a king-sized bed, a refrigerator and a balcony which over looked the ocean. The motel had a decent sized pool and a deck to sun-bath. Our stay also included beach passes which is golden since Point Pleasant charges you to go on the beach. The staff was so friendly and helpful if you needed anything. I would definitely recommend the Windswept Motel for your next Jersey Shore visit. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recovered very nicely from Sandy. Rooms were freshly painted with all new carpet.
Family owned very nice polite staff. This is our second stay here and I would highly reccomend
this motel. A little bit of a walk to Jenks or Martels. Very nice pool and easy access to beach.
We will definetely be back.

Room Tip: Bring beach chairs and towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We usually stay across the street but tried the Windswept this year. We are so happy we did. Price is cheaper and I thought the rooms were much nicer.....so clean and neat. It looked like brand new carpeting in the room too. We had an ocean view room and it was perfect. The beach is right there! Theipool is brand new and we loved it. Friendly staff too. We will definitely be going back next year. If you want to step out for a few cocktails you can go across the street to Papa's Lounge at the White Sands. There are always interesting people there to meet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Llaurie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Windswept motel is on the beach, location is great. some work still unfinished in the area but it looks like Pt Pleasant is ready for the summer, go down and enjoy the boardwalk and beach,good number of people on the boards friday less on saturday. and sunday because of the rain. STILL HAD A GREAT TIME

Room Tip: oceanfront room cost more but it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Windswept during the off season and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, and the stay was friendly. It was the perfect spot to photograph a bride getting ready for her wedding day, since the room was spacious and the light was pretty!

Room Tip: Get a ocean front room. Lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ohcaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
49 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windswept Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windswept Motel

Address: 1008 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3344
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range: $111 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the salt air, the relaxing sandy beaches and a beautiful panorama of the Atlantic Coastline. We provide a casual atmosphere while you and your family unwind beachfront. If you want to build a sandcastle on the beach, surf or take a dip in the pool and enjoy restful accomodations, we invite you to enjoy our rooms and hospitality. Nestled directly on the beach, a stone's throw from Jenkinson's amusements on the boardwalk, the Windswept is ideally located for you and your family. We are a stone's throw from shopping and a large variety of local restaurants. You can thrill to the action of nearby Monmouth Race Track and Freehold Raceway or take a short drive to the exciting casinos and star-studded entertainment of Atlantic City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Windswept Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windswept Motel Point Pleasant Beach Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing