We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian Restaurant EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MonAlyssa Italian Restaurant & Pizzera

MonAlyssa Italian Restaurant & Pizzera
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian Restaurant EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Seriously, this is great food and a rare find. Their sauce is .....well, I can't think of words to describe just how good it is. This is authentic Italian food and yes, the best ever.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    4
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“True South Jersey Italian experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband is from Jersey but relocated to the Midwest. We got a chance to visit for a weekend and had to find that mom and pop Italian restaurant while here. I found MonAlyssa on trip advisor and decided to try it out. We got it! The restaurant is not a franchise; large enough that you are not feeling like you are eating off someone else's plate but small enough that you feel at home; byob; large menu selection; genuine Italian tastes; great service despite a full house; and a manager watching over our satisfaction like the godfather. Had the hot antipasto (just okay), mango caprese special (awesome!!), veal mattriciana, linguine with white clam sauce, tiramisu (all excellent).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fivegoldenrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“We'll definitely be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to MonAlyssa for the first time this past weekend due to Trip Advisor reviews. What a good decision! We had a wonderful meal. The service was spot on other than an overly-aggressive bus boy. The atmosphere is very pleasant. They had live music going on. An overall great experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistantly a great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been here several times, only waited once (about 5-10min) to be seated. Food and service are always a pleasure. Price and portions are a value. A definite winner, we are glad we found it. We will definitely be back.
gdm-Brick, NJ

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdmaldonado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best in the area. Best kept secret. The locals are repeated customers. His soups are incredible. The menu has many and varied choices. I am addicted to Pollo Laverno! We have never been disappointed. The waitstaff is always accommodating and friendly. They are very willing to make any entree gluten free. On the weekends (especially Saturday night,) a reservation is a must There is usually a guitar player on Friday and Saturday evenings .Bring your own wine and enjoy a great and reasonably priced meal. (The restaurant is divided with a more casual side for pizza and the like and the dining room which has more of an ambiance.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MonAlyssa Italian Restaurant & Pizzera also viewed

Point Pleasant, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant, Jersey Shore
 

Been to MonAlyssa Italian Restaurant & Pizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing